Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:57:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoinduit.com - Who wants to test out our new game?!  (Read 941 times)
Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 06:57:48 AM
 #1

PM me!

-Jonathan

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480964256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964256
Reply with quote  #2

1480964256
Report to moderator
1480964256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964256
Reply with quote  #2

1480964256
Report to moderator
IIOII
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
August 20, 2011, 12:19:19 PM
 #2

Hi pigki,

I assume you are the host to bitcoinduit.com...

I've recently participated in this game: http://bitcoinduit.com/game/viewRound.php?id=PLY_SE_round3

I've sent in BTC 0.40, 0.50, and 0.70 to the generated addresses:

16N2ejGVFpuzf9kfGgeAkywkikQDoPSPrL
15N4uTMvSNi4aLhaEDFYt282v92MN4mX1z
1EMxKL16jFaczsekvmX8nJSE3Am1TL1dUR


But only the first transaction was confirmed, the other two were not (always paid transaction fee and waited an entire day).

How can that be? Could there be an error in the generation of deposit addresses?

Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
August 20, 2011, 05:34:39 PM
 #3

Hi pigki,

I assume you are the host to bitcoinduit.com...

I've recently participated in this game: http://bitcoinduit.com/game/viewRound.php?id=PLY_SE_round3

I've sent in BTC 0.40, 0.50, and 0.70 to the generated addresses:

16N2ejGVFpuzf9kfGgeAkywkikQDoPSPrL
15N4uTMvSNi4aLhaEDFYt282v92MN4mX1z
1EMxKL16jFaczsekvmX8nJSE3Am1TL1dUR


But only the first transaction was confirmed, the other two were not (always paid transaction fee and waited an entire day).

How can that be? Could there be an error in the generation of deposit addresses?

Hmm.. Well, it's not impossible for hiccups to happen, though I don't show any deposits on the game that are not posted, and when I query the Block Explorer there exists no Bitcoin at the second two addresses that you list.

Take a look --

1st one is there - http://blockexplorer.com/address/16N2ejGVFpuzf9kfGgeAkywkikQDoPSPrL

2nd one is not - http://blockexplorer.com/address/1EMxKL16jFaczsekvmX8nJSE3Am1TL1dUR


3rd one is not - http://blockexplorer.com/address/15N4uTMvSNi4aLhaEDFYt282v92MN4mX1z

So I have to assume you made a mistake, because the block explorer doesn't lie. That's one of the beauties of this - if you keep the addresses you send to, I can verify that you didn't actually send.

Regards,
Jonathan

IIOII
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
August 21, 2011, 08:17:10 PM
 #4

Did you read what I've posted?  Huh

I know about the block explorer's so called "beauties".

I said those transactions where NOT confirmed. Those two transactions are at 0/not confirmed in my client.
But the amount has been taken from my balance and is now - well where???

Because this is really strange behavior the error must be either caused by the Bitcoin client (I use the standard 0.3.24) or (which at first sight seems more probable to me) by your address generation script.


So would you just check if your script works correctly?!?

Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
August 21, 2011, 08:34:51 PM
 #5

Did you read what I've posted?  Huh

I know about the block explorer's so called "beauties".

I said those transactions where NOT confirmed. Those two transactions are at 0/not confirmed in my client.
But the amount has been taken from my balance and is now - well where???

Because this is really strange behavior the error must be either caused by the Bitcoin client (I use the standard 0.3.24) or (which at first sight seems more probable to me) by your address generation script.


So would you just check if your script works correctly?!?


We use a stock bitcoin headless install. The script to generate addresses is a high level call via rpc.

CJYP
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 11:45:49 PM
 #6

Did you read what I've posted?  Huh

I know about the block explorer's so called "beauties".

I said those transactions where NOT confirmed. Those two transactions are at 0/not confirmed in my client.
But the amount has been taken from my balance and is now - well where???

Because this is really strange behavior the error must be either caused by the Bitcoin client (I use the standard 0.3.24) or (which at first sight seems more probable to me) by your address generation script.


So would you just check if your script works correctly?!?

This is definitely your client, it's happened before.
If you have a backup of your wallet from before the transaction, restore it. Otherwise, make several backups of your wallet, extract your private key, then delete the old wallet and create a new one with your private key. The transactions should be gone.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2011, 12:04:47 AM
 #7

Did you read what I've posted?  Huh

I know about the block explorer's so called "beauties".

I said those transactions where NOT confirmed. Those two transactions are at 0/not confirmed in my client.
But the amount has been taken from my balance and is now - well where???

Because this is really strange behavior the error must be either caused by the Bitcoin client (I use the standard 0.3.24) or (which at first sight seems more probable to me) by your address generation script.


So would you just check if your script works correctly?!?

This is definitely your client, it's happened before.
If you have a backup of your wallet from before the transaction, restore it. Otherwise, make several backups of your wallet, extract your private key, then delete the old wallet and create a new one with your private key. The transactions should be gone.

Or restart the client. That always works for me

joeyjoe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 12:16:45 AM
 #8

What is the game anyway?

I just deposited 0.2BTC on some round i have no idea what im waiting for it to do  Grin

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2011, 12:33:09 AM
 #9

What is the game anyway?

I just deposited 0.2BTC on some round i have no idea what im waiting for it to do  Grin

XD

You're waiting for the round to end with you as the last man in, which wins the Jackpot, or wait for more people to do the same thing and then eventually pay you out according to the "expected payout" column from their deposits. Ponzi baby! FYI, someone already came in after your 0.2 bet and now they're the one in line to win the Jackpot. You should do something about that!

Thanks for playing!

Regards,
Jonathan

joeyjoe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 01:26:35 AM
 #10

What is the game anyway?

I just deposited 0.2BTC on some round i have no idea what im waiting for it to do  Grin

XD

You're waiting for the round to end with you as the last man in, which wins the Jackpot, or wait for more people to do the same thing and then eventually pay you out according to the "expected payout" column from their deposits. Ponzi baby! FYI, someone already came in after your 0.2 bet and now they're the one in line to win the Jackpot. You should do something about that!

Thanks for playing!

Regards,
Jonathan


ahh i see now how this works! i guess i shouldnt of put the 0.2 in since everyones just done smaller bets to win the jackpot... ahh guess ill learn from this. ive decided to make my own round and see how that goes... oh and i won some on the fonz game Wink

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
IIOII
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
August 22, 2011, 03:04:41 PM
 #11

This is definitely your client, it's happened before.
If you have a backup of your wallet from before the transaction, restore it. Otherwise, make several backups of your wallet, extract your private key, then delete the old wallet and create a new one with your private key. The transactions should be gone.

Recovered! Thank you for helping!  Cool

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!