Bitcoin Forum
August 02, 2015, 12:16:28 AM *
News: New! Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.11.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Run in root? Server X??  (Read 1403 times)
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile

Ignore
August 16, 2011, 06:44:37 PM
 #1

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1438474588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438474588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438474588
Reply with quote  #2

1438474588
Report to moderator
1438474588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438474588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438474588
Reply with quote  #2

1438474588
Report to moderator
1438474588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438474588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438474588
Reply with quote  #2

1438474588
Report to moderator
1438474588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438474588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438474588
Reply with quote  #2

1438474588
Report to moderator
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile

Ignore
August 18, 2011, 02:20:37 AM
 #2

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?
Try using sudo:
Code:
bit@Bit:~$ sudo aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

teukon
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1078



View Profile

Ignore
August 19, 2011, 05:30:21 PM
 #3

What does this mean??

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?

Hmm...  I'm going to assume you really do have an instance of X running.  What's the value of $DISPLAY returned by the terminal window in which you are trying to run aticonfig

Code:
echo $DISPLAY

You should get something like
Code:
:0.0

I've found no way of managing the cards without an instance of X running.  At the very least I need a simple xorg.conf which points out my two cards and to run xinit in the background.  When I ssh into my miner I need to run
Code:
DISPLAY=:0
before aticonfig is fully functional.  sudo will help to an extent but there are still some things you will not be able to do.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!