Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 11:58:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Counterfeiting and Loss Prevention  (Read 2601 times)
temp1029 (OP)

Activity: 22
Merit: 0

View Profile
February 24, 2011, 09:40:37 PM
Last edit: February 24, 2011, 10:21:54 PM by temp1029

Let me start off by saying that I am completely new to Bitcoin and really want to understand it well before I invest anything in it.  That being said I can see the potential this currency has to change the world and really want to be a part of that.

I have been reading up on the technology side of Bitcoin and have a few questions.

My first question is about how Bitcoin prevents a very specific type of counterfeiting.  If I understand correctly, when a new block is created the person creating it calculates what the current reward is and includes a transaction to himself for that amount.  If this block creator tries to give himself more coins then the rest of the network will reject his block and he will receive nothing.  A limit of approximately 21 million Bitcoins is enforced by agreement across the network on the reward for completing a block, which is based on the total number of blocks.

How am I, the individual, protected if even the entire rest of the network decides on a different reward scheme, specifically one that increases the total number of possible Bitcoins?  Put another way, how much of the network would need to agree in order to increase the total number of possible Bitcoins?  As a reference, there is a note in one of the sections on the Weaknesses wiki article, specifically:

The attacker can't:
  • Create coins out of thin air

I would ask the question why not to the statement made in that article.