Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2021, 06:16:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Not in Stock - Free Shipping] AntMiner U1 USB STICKS - US/Canada .042 unit  (Read 46787 times)
iluvpcs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 250


:)


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 09:43:45 PM
Last edit: December 30, 2013, 10:20:42 PM by iluvpcs
 #101

Don't use the standard CGMINER or BFGMINER yet, they need code updates for these U1's, use this CGMINER for now https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1 and Lajz99 started a thread yesterday for these  Lips sealed

D-link is powered but only 1w.   Sad

I do have a plugable USB hub as well and just got a few running with the trick noted above.  Strange but works for now until it gets addressed.  

Edit: started a thread in Custom Hardware: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=390929.0


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632032191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632032191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632032191
Reply with quote  #2

1632032191
Report to moderator
1632032191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632032191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632032191
Reply with quote  #2

1632032191
Report to moderator
iluvpcs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 250


:)


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 11:55:25 PM
 #102

Ok I ran into a problem. Somehow my -qt client set my default transaction fee to 0, so it hasn't been confirming as it should. We could just wait it out and see if a block includes it, or I could try doublespending it to you, but I've never tried that before.

https://blockchain.info/tx/b359b963856ae7583856c81c321562237eb8fb23be1419499c14fe875077337e
Just wait, it might get processed after 6-10-12 hours, I've had that happen before myself.  I've also tried to doublespend it again with a fee, and it seems when I do that they both go through a few minutes later.
Cheshyr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 12:07:26 AM
 #103

Arrived this afternoon.  After a little fiddling with USB drivers, it's up and running.  Still getting strange error messages, but I assume that's a conflict between the custom cgminer and the other USB miners on this PC.  It's running on stock settings; no overclock or tweaking.  Very happy with iluvpcs' service.  Will order more, in anticipation of dissecting this one.







Arcas
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 524


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 01:26:40 AM
 #104

Ok I ran into a problem. Somehow my -qt client set my default transaction fee to 0, so it hasn't been confirming as it should. We could just wait it out and see if a block includes it, or I could try doublespending it to you, but I've never tried that before.

https://blockchain.info/tx/b359b963856ae7583856c81c321562237eb8fb23be1419499c14fe875077337e
Just wait, it might get processed after 6-10-12 hours, I've had that happen before myself.  I've also tried to doublespend it again with a fee, and it seems when I do that they both go through a few minutes later.
Good idea; It finally went through.
twib2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Helperizer


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 03:05:46 AM
Last edit: December 31, 2013, 03:40:16 AM by twib2
 #105

Thanks, I got mine in today, too!

Edit:  Never mind - I actually ran them in a stock bfgminer and it thought they were ASICMiner Block Erupters.  That gave me some strange numbers like erupters on steroids but not as high as the U1 is supposed to be, but then when I tried again on the machine that was running the cgminer from Bitmain, it WORKED.  So, they're hashing away and seem to be right on spec for stock speeds.  I briefly tried at 250 MHz and that worked for all but one that was running slower (I have 4 now), but I won't run for long until I know how they behave stock - and once I get a fan in place.

Still, I'll be very happy once support for the U1 gets merged into regular bfgminer or cgminer.

Thanks again!

Cryptsy Exchange        bcmon: Monitor all your miners in one place!            BTC tips: 1GY9wmMmw1E7DPLzQXt4UPuEuHQN29PixD
fractalbc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 03:52:06 AM
 #106

The miner I bought arrived today.  It is *CUTE*.  It will make a nice addition to the collection.  It was a pleasure doing business with iluvpcs and positive trust was left.

The windows binary works just fine once the USB driver is installed.  Too bad for me I don't normally run a miner on the few windows machines I own.  I prefer to keep my miners on a raspberry pi.

Now for the bad news, and none of it has anything at all to do with the group buy.  What I received is exactly what is represented in this group buy.

First of all, the linux binary listed above does not run on any of my machines.

So, I pull the source code for the modified version of cgminer from https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer and the fun begins.

The first issue I find is a pretty big one.  The AntMiner U1 USB stick uses the same usb signature as an erupter.  This does not need to be an issue but as it is right now, it is not possible to compile cgminer to support BOTH an AntMiner U1 USB and and a block erupter usb with the same instance of cgminer.  Older versions of cgminer and bfgminer think it is a block erupter usb and does weird things with it.

Then, once configuring for the "bmsc" driver I run into some rather nasty compiler warnings.  one is true where the code copies 5 bytes into a 4 byte storage which immediately crashes the program.  The crash was disguised in a code update between yesterday and today as the device is no longer addressed so the broken code is never executed.  I will spend a bit more time playing with this later but right now it appears to be a windows only solution.

Ok, going back to the windows binary only release, the device is reported as "AMU", same as a block erupter USB.  Not nice.  It should have its own name.  Furthermore the stock "miner.php" script does not enumerate the AntMiner sticks.

So ... it is only a matter of software.  The stick I have is hashing at 1.55 Gh/s on windows xp running stock.  Now to overclock the sucka..
twib2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Helperizer


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 04:12:11 AM
 #107

First of all, the linux binary listed above does not run on any of my machines.

I had the same problem until I followed the normal rules for ASICminer Block Erupter USBs - i.e. add the user to the plugdev group and/or make the devices chmod 666 and also copy the rules from cgminer.rules to /etc/rules.d per the instructions for ASICminers.  I restarted udev and relogged in but no joy.

Then I rebooted while trying the things on normal bfgminer (getting, as you say, weird results from them).  When I brought them back to the linux box with the Antminer cgminer binary, voila' - it worked.  I'm using 115200:20 and stock speed right now and hashing away.  My linux is Ubuntu 13.10 (edubuntu) on that box  (couldn't get the binary to be happy with Mint 14, Debian Squeeze, or Ubuntu 12.04, so it's on the kids' computer).

Hope this helps!  Good luck!

Cryptsy Exchange        bcmon: Monitor all your miners in one place!            BTC tips: 1GY9wmMmw1E7DPLzQXt4UPuEuHQN29PixD
beefburrito
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 04:40:16 AM
 #108

just sent payment and PM for 3 sticks, thanks!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3629



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 05:13:38 AM
 #109

Don't use the standard CGMINER or BFGMINER yet, they need code updates for these U1's, use this CGMINER for now https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1 and Lajz99 started a thread yesterday for these  Lips sealed

D-link is powered but only 1w.   Sad

I do have a plugable USB hub as well and just got a few running with the trick noted above.  Strange but works for now until it gets addressed.  

Edit: started a thread in Custom Hardware: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=390929.0



  thread link please 

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
twib2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Helperizer


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 05:29:54 PM
 #110

Then, once configuring for the "bmsc" driver I run into some rather nasty compiler warnings.  one is true where the code copies 5 bytes into a 4 byte storage which immediately crashes the program.  The crash was disguised in a code update between yesterday and today as the device is no longer addressed so the broken code is never executed.  I will spend a bit more time playing with this later but right now it appears to be a windows only solution.

Interesting.  I just did that on my Debian Squeeze box and didn't get that warning.  It compiled fine after ./autogen.sh, configure [options], and make.

Ok, going back to the windows binary only release, the device is reported as "AMU", same as a block erupter USB.  Not nice.  It should have its own name.  Furthermore the stock "miner.php" script does not enumerate the AntMiner sticks.

Yep, not sure why miner.php doesn't enumerate them.  But it reporst the same as a block erupter USB because it has the same vendor and device id, which are what is normally used to report the devices.  I'm sure there's a workaround that could be coded in, but it'd have to dig deeper into the devices for something to differentiate the two.  I agree, not nice at all on the part of Bitmain - they should at least have a unique device id for the U1's.

Cryptsy Exchange        bcmon: Monitor all your miners in one place!            BTC tips: 1GY9wmMmw1E7DPLzQXt4UPuEuHQN29PixD
Bobs Yerunkle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 10


Untitled


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 06:20:10 PM
 #111

Order received!

All items present and accounted for. They sure are pretty. Manufacturing quality looks a step above ASICMINER USB Block Erupters (no disrespect to ASICMINER because they were some of the pioneers). Let's see how the shine translates to function and reliability.

Will do some set up this evening.

Thanks iluvpcs. Well done. Sell more stuff so I can give you more of my BTC.  Cheesy

kfactor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 102


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 06:34:20 PM
 #112

Order received! Thanks iluvpcs Smiley
hayseed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 07:01:04 PM
 #113

Order Received. Thanks

Pulled down the latest cgminer (3.9.0) on OSX using home-brew and it see's the miner and uses it but at varying clocks between 300mhz to 900mhz.

brew tap nwoolls/cryptocoin   (Thanx nwoolls)
brew install cgminer --HEAD

probably just need to find the timing tweak. At least it mines.

WIll report more later.
iluvpcs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 250


:)


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 07:30:42 PM
 #114

You have to use the AntMan custom build cgminer right now to get them running (with the CLI options in the readme)

I helped a person on OSX with Parallel last night to get them working on his rig, so they do work.
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1002



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 07:40:27 PM
 #115

You have to use the AntMan custom build cgminer right now to get them running (with the CLI options in the readme)

I helped a person on OSX with Parallel last night to get them working on his rig, so they do work.

I got my Virtual Box 64-bit Win7 running by just following the Antminer user guide on my Mac, I can second this--it works as advertised.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3629



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 07:52:24 PM
 #116

I have 1 stick working so far it is doing about .6gh  I am using cg3.9 with a windows 7 build.  I changed the driver with zadig.  it now reads amu not icarus. I am running a lot on this pc

1 bfg miner with 5 nano/ice furies  scores are 2.5 each with a 53 for over clock

1 gui miner with a hd7970 about 660 kh

1 cgminer 3.9 with 1 ant miner usb 1   .gh  i will tweak more but it is hashing.

 to iluvpcs I owe you a positive trust  I will post it later.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3629



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 08:46:55 PM
 #117

I download the custom windows build from github for ant miner says it is cg 3.8.5

it would not run said I was missing zlib.dll   I dragged the zlib.dll from 3.9 and put it into 3.8.5
this works.  I have 1 stick running at over 1.7gh  so the next adventure  is getting 2 plus sticks to run.

so far a no go on that.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sbfree
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 08:58:33 PM
 #118

I download the custom windows build from github for ant miner says it is cg 3.8.5

it would not run said I was missing zlib.dll   I dragged the zlib.dll from 3.9 and put it into 3.8.5
this works.  I have 1 stick running at over 1.7gh  so the next adventure  is getting 2 plus sticks to run.

so far a no go on that.
Hey phil, I was having a problem running 6 of these on one win7 machine, I read somewhere about start up new cgminer with 1, then hot plug the others in 1 at a time, that worked, now have all 6 running....hope that helps.

iluvpcs, will prob. order some from you later today, anymore in stock??


PS, windows xp can still be as stupid as it was with asicminer usbs
sbfree
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 09:26:24 PM
 #119

just sent PM w/ signed mssg. info. thanks, sbfree.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3629



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 11:42:19 PM
Last edit: January 01, 2014, 01:22:02 AM by philipma1957
 #120

I download the custom windows build from github for ant miner says it is cg 3.8.5

it would not run said I was missing zlib.dll   I dragged the zlib.dll from 3.9 and put it into 3.8.5
this works.  I have 1 stick running at over 1.7gh  so the next adventure  is getting 2 plus sticks to run.

so far a no go on that.
Hey phil, I was having a problem running 6 of these on one win7 machine, I read somewhere about start up new cgminer with 1, then hot plug the others in 1 at a time, that worked, now have all 6 running....hope that helps.

iluvpcs, will prob. order some from you later today, anymore in stock??


PS, windows xp can still be as stupid as it was with asicminer usbs

yeah I will try that tomorrow.  these case a second problem my pc was running 5  ice/nano furies using bfg miner 3.9  and running a ltc miner  using  guy/cg miner

running the custom cg miner for the ant miner is crashing my ltc mining.    i think the gear does not want to run 2 versions go cg miner at the same time. since all my pc's are running guiminer- cg miner  I will need to set up a mac mini with vm ware to run these sticks.  I don't have any parallels but I do have a vm ware fusion  with windows 7 pro on a quad core mac mini.


I NOW HAVE 4 RUNNING THANKS!!!! and the caps were me shouting for joy.

update I now have an entire hub of 10  running at 12gh using about 20 watts. these sticks are really good. now as to what they are worth less then a red fury or a nano fury.   but furies are selling at 225 on ebay these are around 100 on ebay.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!