Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2024, 04:58:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining rig running too hot  (Read 3834 times)
SheepOnDrugs (OP)

Activity: 112
Merit: 10

View Profile
December 27, 2013, 12:56:33 PM

Hey,

I'm new to mining and I thought I'd try out building a mining rig. Everything works fine except my GPUs are running way too hot (I'm mining scrypt btw, not sha-256).

I've got 2x R9 280x Battlefield 4 Edition.
I've got them both overclocked with the following settings and they both run at 730.
--lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192,8192 --gpu-engine 1060,1060 --gpu-memclock 1500,1500 --auto-fan --temp-cutoff=90 --temp-over 85

First GPU: 85 ° Celsius
Second GPU: 78° Celsius

There is space between them and I could fit another one in.
I've got them both in a case and I tried various setups. All in all I've got 7 Fans + the 6 from the gpu itself.
no matter how I change the setup (case lying down, standing, fans blowing in different ways), the temp always stay the same
Even with following setup the temp won't decrease:
front sucking in
top sucking in
back blowing out
4x side blowing in

They all run on 100% but nothing changes. If the room has 5 or 25° degrees only changes the temperature about 5° overall. What am I doing wrong? I feel like those temps are way to high. No risers at the moment, will they do any significant change? I'm planning on putting another one in but then there is no space left between the 2 gpus.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.