Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:39:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with slow internet?  (Read 1763 times)
GamingACU
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 11:40:30 PM
 #1

I'm currently deployed to Afghanistan, but will soon have slow, but stable internet. I was wondering if it would still be possible to mine with my limited internet connection.

I'm also completely new to this, but I do have a couple friends that have been mining for awhile, so any tips are appreciated to get me started.
1481305181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305181
Reply with quote  #2

1481305181
Report to moderator
1481305181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305181
Reply with quote  #2

1481305181
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305181
Reply with quote  #2

1481305181
Report to moderator
1481305181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305181
Reply with quote  #2

1481305181
Report to moderator
MrSambal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 11:55:53 PM
 #2

You will not have any major problems with a slow (but stable) connection. Aslong as its an open connection that is. (not censored).

Tell us what hardware you are planning to run.
GamingACU
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 12:06:04 AM
 #3

I was planning on running a x7200 desktop replacement with an i7-960 and 2x 6990m's in CF.

I'm not looking to make a fortune out of this like some people, but I won't be on my computer for about 22 hours a day, so I figured I could put it to work.
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730



View Profile
August 23, 2011, 07:29:39 AM
 #4

I was planning on running a x7200 desktop replacement with an i7-960 and 2x 6990m's in CF.

I'm not looking to make a fortune out of this like some people, but I won't be on my computer for about 22 hours a day, so I figured I could put it to work.

Bitcoin doesn't need much bandwidth but it does need a stable connection. It should work over dial up or satellite connections although you might get some more stales due to latency.

Is the computer really yours? If you are planning to run this stuff on an army computer they might not be too happy about it. They will notice the network traffic if they take half a glance at a network dump.


GamingACU
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 03:57:39 PM
 #5

Haha, yea the computer's really mine. There's nothing even close to as powerful as that in the army.

 I think the best army laptop I've seen is a C2Q with a fx3700.
blacbe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 05:40:27 PM
 #6

don't mine with a laptop. the heat will destroy it. they are not made to be ran 24/7 at full load. it'll be dead in a month or less. laptops don't have the ventilation needed for mining
GamingACU
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 05:43:10 PM
 #7

I'm pretty sure running at 70C isn't going to kill it. If you're not current with gaming laptops some of them have very good ventilation now and run fairly cool. Also my room is kept pretty cold, and with winter coming heat shouldn't be an issue (besides me freezing).
TechCF
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 07:45:00 PM
 #8

Place some standoffs to lift the laptop off the ground. A lego brick in each corner was a common trick done on the old Amigas to keep the accelerator cards cool Smiley
whitebird
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


My grammar is so pro that I'm a programmer.


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 09:03:38 PM
 #9

Also, be sure to take out the battery and run solely on the adapter's power, otherwise the battery will get damaged

You see this hash? 19hrofb2Wtf4168ghpkSDhz7Z3j2qESZhP
Congratulations!
GamingACU
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 09:16:35 PM
 #10

thanks for the tips.
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 09:56:10 PM
 #11

You might have a problem with increased stales because of your connection speed if you are going to run on a pool, but it depend on "slow" you are.  Also, if you run on a pool you will notice an increase in bandwidth consumption.(Just a heads up)

Happy Mining

silverchair
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2011, 01:14:30 AM
 #12

As long as the connection is stable then there's no problem with that.

Hey Guys! WWW.FREEBITCOINS.ORG introduces "Epic December Contest" where you can Win Sweet Casascius Coins !!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!