Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2017, 11:18:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CryptoSlax Linux Mining Distro  (Read 26393 times)
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


A Decentralised Hedge Fund


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 12:16:45 AM
 #1

hi, i just modified slax linux distro specifically for gpu and cpu mining, i prefer slax because you can run it without any storage device (harddisk or flashdisk) since it can copy itself entirely to run from PC memory, which is cool !

build 0.3-beta2 update 0.3 final are ready, go to http://www.cryptoslax.web.id

CryptoSLAX 0.3, download (316 MB) or on official website : http://www.cryptoslax.web.id
screenshot


Features :
  • only need minimal 512 MB USB FlashDisk
  • can run with unplugged flash disk, since SLAX can copy itself to run from computer RAM
  • built-in cgMiner-3.7.2 with support for GPU scrypt (ltc, doge & friends), scrypt:2048 (vertcoin), SHA256 (bitcoin), keccak(sha3:maxcoin)
  • built-in yvg1900 protoshares cpu miner (all 64-bit variation of CPU)
  • built-in jhPrimeMiner xpm cpu miner (all 64-bit variation of CPU)
  • built-in clPts 0.2.2 (protoshare opencl miner)
  • built-in vertcoin cpu miner from max.1gh.com
  • built-in cgminer bitcoin miner (asic) 3.12.3
  • built-in vnc-server, sshd, smbd (automatically run out-of-the-box)
  • built-in AMD Catalyst 13.12 with ADL SDK 6.0 and AMD APP SDK 2.9
  • minimal installation, only KDE desktop with text-editor, web-browser, and file-manager

How To Install :
  • 1. Extract the content of .7z to formatted flash disk with FAT32 Partition
  • 2. Run [FLASHDISK]\slax\boot\bootinst.bat (on linux run bootinst.sh)
  • 3. Boot from it (make sure persistence changes is checked for first boot)
  • *. if needed, root password is toor

Changes :
  • updated AMD Catalyst to 13.12 , APP SDK 2.9, and AMD ADL 6.0
  • custom re-compiled x86_64 kernel to support AMD IOMMU
  • automatically detect AMD GPUs on first boot, and set x.org.conf
  • auto run VNC-server for display 0 on port 5901 on KDE login (warning : no-password!)
  • auto run SMB-server on boot (warning : no-password! , root access!)
  • auto sync local time with ntp server on boot
  • fully working KDE desktop, now dbus is working (you can copy-paste now, lol!)
  • clean-up using .sb, rootcopy folder now only has miner config files
  • now i call it CryptoSlax since slax-cryptominer is too long
  • added KDE mainmenu items to launch miner or edit miner config files
  • on launching miner, it will create screen session before run the miner, so you can access it from ssh remotely

warning : this distro is not secure, there are no firewall, and most service are open for root access without password
note: this is beta version, please report any kind of bugs or feature request

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506424711
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506424711

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506424711
Reply with quote  #2

1506424711
Report to moderator
fran2k
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 08:45:56 AM
 #2

Great, I was waiting for a Linux x64 dedicated mining distro.

Which AMD SDK and Catalyst drivers are installed?

Thanks!
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


A Decentralised Hedge Fund


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 10:30:14 AM
 #3

its :

AMD Catalyst 13.4
AMD APP SDK 2.9
Slax 7.0.8
Linux Kernel 3.8.2
X.org 1.13.2
cgminer 3.7.2 with ADL, scrypt and openCL

Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 08:26:17 PM
 #4

Will have to give this a shot.

Did you include wireless drivers?
Thom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Be kind man, don't be mankind


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 10:42:01 PM
 #5

What, no iso?

It would be nicer to try as an iso as a virtual machine first before having to reboot anything.

also 2. run [FLASHDISK]\slax\boot\bootinst.bat doesn't work in MacOS.

It's short for Thomassina ⚥ • BTC veteran, Bitcointalk neophyte • BTC1THoM4cn8hHTyE637DEPMCLcerZe1mL1X • Cex.IO Cloud Mining - don't risk preorders, mine & trade now!
༺ ☤ Curecoin - Fold Proteins, Earn Coins! ☤   CURE: B8cjEuGKH3qofsxGGEVYdTwUrpfCTxQP7u ༻
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


A Decentralised Hedge Fund


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 12:53:18 PM
 #6

well sorry about that limitation, but there's should be a tool that convert bootable flashdisk into iso, and if you want to try it on VM it just wont work since they can't find AMD GPU there

yvg1900
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66

Dev of yam miner


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 11:20:59 PM
 #7

Hi,

Note that new version of pts miner is available, and pls take care of huge pages config to achieve better perf.

Also look at my comment at reddit for some extra info on miner update.

yvg1900

Follow @yvg1900 on Twitter for yam miner updates
garna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


you do not belong to you


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 10:37:33 AM
 #8

hi uray, nice lean and mean implementation!
3 requests:
* TODO compile cgminer with all asic support, or include bfgminer
* TODO related usb support
* TODO add chrome (40 MB) or dillo (few MB) - for web lookup
* TODO include latest ptsminer
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


A Decentralised Hedge Fund


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 09:41:11 PM
 #9

hi uray, nice lean and mean implementation!
3 requests:
* TODO compile cgminer with all asic support, or include bfgminer
* TODO related usb support
* TODO add chrome (40 MB) or dillo (few MB) - for web lookup
* TODO include latest ptsminer


thats 4 !, ok you got it, updated to 0.2

fran2k
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2014, 12:28:58 PM
 #10

Hi,

Note that new version of pts miner is available, and pls take care of huge pages config to achieve better perf.

Also look at my comment at reddit for some extra info on miner update.

yvg1900

This.

Thanks again, finally a 64bits mining distro.
nairb131
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:54:15 PM
 #11

This is awesome. I wish I would have seen this a few days ago. I was having a hell of a time getting my Linux machine working with my cards.
Sinyk7
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
January 10, 2014, 04:58:02 PM
 #12

Is xrdp remote desktop installed on SLAX or can it be installed?

VTC: Vq8qKPFiGoGJZh6kEuCpEcWDS5Y9cqT4Pb
DOGE: DPgdMAk1wWRw49JBrdX9sxRUbixs4F4d6b
LTC: LayUZZ2VukQGBoSaxwqE4wWXH6htkagYw9
uray
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


A Decentralised Hedge Fund


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 04:56:59 AM
 #13

it can be installed ofcourse, slax is just another linux, i will planning to include vncserver and xrdp server built in on next build

outsider
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 04:06:22 PM
 #14

Uray,
Any thoughts on when the next release will be out?
Namachieli
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 06:12:53 AM
 #15

Trying this out soon. Cool!
caution
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 09:51:57 AM
 #16

I can't get this distro to work with multiple gpu's,...getting "ADL found less devices than opencl".  Tried with just a 6870x2, it would only see one gpu & run at half speed.  Then tried a 7950 with a 7870 Myst LE, both give error -1.  With only 1 gpu it worked great.  Any ideas on how to update the video drivers?  I've tried dummy plugs, hooking up each card to monitors, aticonfig --adapter=all (get "parsing the command-line failed", wants aticonfig --inital run first), aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f.  Even re-ran # cd /opt/radeon-setup/   # ./radeon-setup.sh  reboot.  All without success & google hasn't helped so far besides saying it's a driver issue. thanks
Wopin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:47:03 AM
 #17

Hello. I will use your distro during the week but is compatible with the new AMD graphics cards R9?

If not, I will be able to install the new drivers right?
alcaedo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:33:29 PM
 #18

How to add to it the SHA3?
pgminer01
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 12:46:21 AM
 #19

can you support for slush mining proxy ? thanks
maraJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 11:06:47 AM
 #20

Slax will not boot.My motherboard that use a 64 bit processor and use

IOMMU in order to find those USB devices. Since the default SLAX 3.8.2

kernel doesnt include AMD IOMMU and doesnt have HID built in (it has

modules), some motherboards are not able to use USB keyboards at all

with their usb 2.0 ports.How can I fix this?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!