Bitcoin Forum
June 15, 2024, 08:00:15 PM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: PARTICLE | CPU Cloud Mining | VPS | 600 khash/s+ on 8 CPUs [PRT]  (Read 13399 times)
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 01:59:03 PM
Last edit: January 05, 2014, 12:18:28 AM by instacash
 #1

PARTICLE is a CPU minable alt coin based on Quark. The coin was NOT PREMINED and uses a combination of algorithms that makes it resistant to GPU and ASIC mining. It was announced on 31 December 2013. Read more about it: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=392804.0

1. Sign Up for an SSD cloud server or log in if you already have an account.

2. Fund your account with some credit (10$)

3. Click 'Create Droplet' to get your instance running

4. Select the specifications you wish to mine on as well as the newest Ubuntu x64 as your image. You get more than 600kh/s on 8 threads using the 8 Core plan. You can also consider creating several smaller ones.

5. Your username and password will be emailed to you within 55 seconds

6. Log in to your droplet via SSH

7. Change the root password to something you can actually remember
    
Code:
passwd

8. Create a new user. Follow the prompts after issuing the command. Only username and password are necessary, you may leave the other fields blank if you wish.
Code:
adduser USERNAME
Code:
echo 'USERNAME    ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL' >> /etc/sudoers

9. Change to the new user
Code:
su USERNAME

10.  Relocate into the home directory of the user you have changed into.
Code:
cd

11. Create a swap file
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

12. Download minerd, configure and compile
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install build-essential libcurl4-openssl-dev zip
Code:
sudo wget http://146.185.130.131/cpuminer-quark.zip
sudo unzip cpuminer-quark.zip
cd cpuminer-quark
sudo CFLAGS="-O3 -msse2" ./configure
sudo make
sudo strip minerd

should the link to cpuminer-quark.zip give you a 403 error, try this link instead:
sudo wget https://prt.suprnova.cc/cpuminer-quark.zip

13. sign up at a pool, for instance http://www2.coinmine.pl/prt/ and connect your new miner to your preferred pool, let's use prt.mine-pool.net for the guide (launch from the same dir as you compiled)
Code:
./minerd -a quark -o stratum+tcp://prt.coinmine.pl:6080 -u Weblogin.Worker -p Worker password
OR alternatively use the pool at prt.suprnova.cc
Code:
./minerd -a quark -o stratum+tcp://prt.suprnova.cc:9999 -u Weblogin.Worker -p Worker password
OR if you prefer, use a p2p pool like:
Code:
./minerd -a quark -o http://prt.mine-pool.net:9472 -u <YourPayoutPRTAddress>

14. it should look something like this
Quote
8 miner threads started, using 'quark' algorithm.
Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://prt.mine-pool.net:9472
Stratum detected new block
Stratum detected new block
Stratum detected new block
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 1: 786757 hashes, 81.45 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 7: 762003 hashes, 78.90 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 5: 787919 hashes, 81.58 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 0: 784492 hashes, 81.23 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 3: 771526 hashes, 79.89 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 4: 776537 hashes, 80.40 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 2: 757621 hashes, 78.44 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 6: 748474 hashes, 77.52 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] thread 6: 552059 hashes, 80.05 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 641.94 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:04] thread 7: 1461822 hashes, 81.13 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:05] accepted: 2/2 (100.00%), 644.17 khash/s (yay!!!)
....

If you wish to run this in your background so it doesn't close once you drop the SSH conncetion, go ahead and install "screen"
Code:
sudo apt-get install screen
launch screen
Code:
screen
press space, launch the miner
Code:
./minerd -a quark -o stratum+tcp://prt.coinmine.pl:6080 -u Weblogin.Worker -p Worker password
to restore the session when logging back in, use
Code:
screen -r

All done.
Good luck, have fun and a HAPPY NEW & BLISSFUL YEAR 2014!
Nullu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 02:00:32 PM
 #2

What kind of hashrate can I expect from one droplet?

BTC - 14kYyhhWZwSJFHAjNTtyhRVSu157nE92gF
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 02:07:47 PM
 #3

What kind of hashrate can I expect from one droplet?

on an 8 CORE CPU droplet just now::
Quote
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 1: 786757 hashes, 81.45 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 7: 762003 hashes, 78.90 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 5: 787919 hashes, 81.58 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 0: 784492 hashes, 81.23 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 3: 771526 hashes, 79.89 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 4: 776537 hashes, 80.40 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 2: 757621 hashes, 78.44 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 6: 748474 hashes, 77.52 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] thread 6: 552059 hashes, 80.05 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 641.94 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:04] thread 7: 1461822 hashes, 81.13 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:05] accepted: 2/2 (100.00%), 644.17 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] Stratum detected new block
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 6: 1298641 hashes, 81.50 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 3: 1828205 hashes, 80.07 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 2: 1865169 hashes, 81.69 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 4: 1857320 hashes, 81.35 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 0: 1867131 hashes, 81.78 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 1: 1839695 hashes, 80.58 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 5: 1840307 hashes, 80.60 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 7: 393264 hashes, 81.71 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:26] thread 7: 1392342 hashes, 81.83 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:26] accepted: 3/3 (100.00%), 649.41 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:33] thread 6: 1871333 hashes, 80.40 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:33] accepted: 4/4 (100.00%), 648.31 khash/s (yay!!!)
[…]
Nullu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 02:09:02 PM
 #4

What kind of hashrate can I expect from one droplet?

on an 8 CORE CPU droplet just now::
Quote
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 1: 786757 hashes, 81.45 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 7: 762003 hashes, 78.90 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 5: 787919 hashes, 81.58 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 0: 784492 hashes, 81.23 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 3: 771526 hashes, 79.89 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 4: 776537 hashes, 80.40 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 2: 757621 hashes, 78.44 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:46] thread 6: 748474 hashes, 77.52 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] thread 6: 552059 hashes, 80.05 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:06:53] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 641.94 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:04] thread 7: 1461822 hashes, 81.13 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:05] accepted: 2/2 (100.00%), 644.17 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] Stratum detected new block
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 6: 1298641 hashes, 81.50 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 3: 1828205 hashes, 80.07 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 2: 1865169 hashes, 81.69 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 4: 1857320 hashes, 81.35 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 0: 1867131 hashes, 81.78 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 1: 1839695 hashes, 80.58 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 5: 1840307 hashes, 80.60 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:09] thread 7: 393264 hashes, 81.71 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:26] thread 7: 1392342 hashes, 81.83 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:26] accepted: 3/3 (100.00%), 649.41 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2013-12-31 09:07:33] thread 6: 1871333 hashes, 80.40 khash/s
[2013-12-31 09:07:33] accepted: 4/4 (100.00%), 648.31 khash/s (yay!!!)
[…]

Happy New Year!  Wink

Happy new year, bro!

Thanks. I'll look into it.

BTC - 14kYyhhWZwSJFHAjNTtyhRVSu157nE92gF
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 31, 2013, 05:01:25 PM
 #5

Have fun Wink

Code:
[2013-12-31 10:19:35] accepted: 129/130 (99.23%), 642.98 khash/s (yay!!!)
DjPxH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 06:59:40 PM
 #6

Thanks for the tutorial, much appreciated!

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
PRIMEDICE
The Premier Bitcoin Gambling Experience @PrimeDice
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
PyroTekNeks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 07:06:11 PM
 #7

lol dat referral doe

http://scrypt.cc?ref=baaai
^^^SCRYPT CLOUD MINING SITE!!!^^^
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 09:06:00 AM
Last edit: January 01, 2014, 09:21:13 AM by instacash
 #8

Thanks for the tutorial, much appreciated!

No problem! You can use the same method for any Quark-based coin Wink
bittick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 506


Cryptocasino.com


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 11:56:32 AM
 #9

setting up multiple dual core cpus on the amsterdam servers give you 160KH/s each.
I set up 4 of them getting 640-650KH/s and paying half the price Smiley
You are limited to 5 droplets if you are mining crypto though.
Support told me they do not increase this limit if you are a miner.
They can see it all there. Awesome support though. Really fast responses!

EDIT: also, please, do not create multiple accounts for this, because you will ruin it for all the miners when they will start banning accounts.

PyroTekNeks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 12:23:51 PM
 #10

What's the proper way to see profitability of mining through a paid VPS?
Do you guys just use current market price on a mining calculator along with difficulty to see possible profit or what?

http://scrypt.cc?ref=baaai
^^^SCRYPT CLOUD MINING SITE!!!^^^
bittick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 506


Cryptocasino.com


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 12:58:45 PM
 #11

What's the proper way to see profitability of mining through a paid VPS?
Do you guys just use current market price on a mining calculator along with difficulty to see possible profit or what?

I mine until I can still generate the coins relatively cheap. Paying 10 bucks for the ability to mine 100k of a coin which is not on any exchanges yet I see as a very very good deal.

However, I am still to mine that 100k Smiley The difficulty multiplied by 5 since I started 10 hours ago or so.

Its hard to tell. I dont mind mining for a minus revenue, since cryptos usually pay off later 10 fold if the development team is strong enough.

Particle is nice and I can see that the devs spent some time on the design at least. This will attract (or be more eye pleasing) to the average Joe:)

PyroTekNeks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 01:03:52 PM
 #12

What's the proper way to see profitability of mining through a paid VPS?
Do you guys just use current market price on a mining calculator along with difficulty to see possible profit or what?

I mine until I can still generate the coins relatively cheap. Paying 10 bucks for the ability to mine 100k of a coin which is not on any exchanges yet I see as a very very good deal.

However, I am still to mine that 100k Smiley The difficulty multiplied by 5 since I started 10 hours ago or so.

Its hard to tell. I dont mind mining for a minus revenue, since cryptos usually pay off later 10 fold if the development team is strong enough.

Particle is nice and I can see that the devs spent some time on the design at least. This will attract (or be more eye pleasing) to the average Joe:)
Mmmkay. Makes sense. Thanks for the info. I really should look more into using cloud hashing. I tried the Windows Azure trial, was pretty nice. Got some profit off of it...but that was an "expensive" trial at $200 for a few days.

Appreciate the answer by the way, if this kind of thing isn't meant to be here, would it be possible for me to message you?

http://scrypt.cc?ref=baaai
^^^SCRYPT CLOUD MINING SITE!!!^^^
kikeda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Available Now!


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 01:04:24 PM
 #13

What's the proper way to see profitability of mining through a paid VPS?
Do you guys just use current market price on a mining calculator along with difficulty to see possible profit or what?

I mine until I can still generate the coins relatively cheap. Paying 10 bucks for the ability to mine 100k of a coin which is not on any exchanges yet I see as a very very good deal.

However, I am still to mine that 100k Smiley The difficulty multiplied by 5 since I started 10 hours ago or so.

Its hard to tell. I dont mind mining for a minus revenue, since cryptos usually pay off later 10 fold if the development team is strong enough.

Particle is nice and I can see that the devs spent some time on the design at least. This will attract (or be more eye pleasing) to the average Joe:)

+1 - the coin has some potential atleast he tooked his time and made a nice logo and big wallet. lol. but yeah, he has some plans for the coin so it's a good investment at this point.
bittick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 506


Cryptocasino.com


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 01:41:15 PM
 #14

What's the proper way to see profitability of mining through a paid VPS?
Do you guys just use current market price on a mining calculator along with difficulty to see possible profit or what?

I mine until I can still generate the coins relatively cheap. Paying 10 bucks for the ability to mine 100k of a coin which is not on any exchanges yet I see as a very very good deal.

However, I am still to mine that 100k Smiley The difficulty multiplied by 5 since I started 10 hours ago or so.

Its hard to tell. I dont mind mining for a minus revenue, since cryptos usually pay off later 10 fold if the development team is strong enough.

Particle is nice and I can see that the devs spent some time on the design at least. This will attract (or be more eye pleasing) to the average Joe:)
Mmmkay. Makes sense. Thanks for the info. I really should look more into using cloud hashing. I tried the Windows Azure trial, was pretty nice. Got some profit off of it...but that was an "expensive" trial at $200 for a few days.

Appreciate the answer by the way, if this kind of thing isn't meant to be here, would it be possible for me to message you?

Be my guest.
I like helping people venture into the crypto worlds. Smiley
However, please try to do your own research before asking newbie questions.
I can provide intermediate/advance support. Newbie questions irritate me too much (I used to work in an IT helpdesk, so I hope you can understand my viewpoint Smiley)

anticlimax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 02:14:53 PM
 #15

First time doing this and Im terrible with Ubuntu.
When I go to create a swapfile I get the following..

sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 31 <<<
sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 32 <<<
sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 33 <<<
sudo: parse error in /etc/sudoers near line 31
sudo: no valid sudoers sources found, quitting
sudo: unable to initialize policy plugin

Tried to figure it out myself.
At this point, I have concluded I am an idiot.
Help would be appreciated.


twitter @antiiclimax
bittick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 506


Cryptocasino.com


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 02:25:06 PM
 #16

First time doing this and Im terrible with Ubuntu.
When I go to create a swapfile I get the following..

sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 31 <<<
sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 32 <<<
sudo: >>> /etc/sudoers: syntax error near line 33 <<<
sudo: parse error in /etc/sudoers near line 31
sudo: no valid sudoers sources found, quitting
sudo: unable to initialize policy plugin

Tried to figure it out myself.
At this point, I have concluded I am an idiot.
Help would be appreciated.



Did you create your own user?
after creating a user add it to sudoers group by typing this:

echo '<USERNAME>    ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL' >> /etc/sudoers

Replace only <USERNAME> bit with your new created username. then follow the manual again.
It's impossible to get it wrong.
just copy paste

instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 04:05:40 PM
 #17

Pool updated Smiley

Available PRT Pools:

jcpbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 04:15:58 PM
 #18

Hi, very informative!!!

Just one question, can this be done to mine other alt coins, for example, TIX?

Thanks?
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 04:20:04 PM
 #19

Hi, very informative!!!

Just one question, can this be done to mine other alt coins, for example, TIX?

Thanks?

CPU cloud mining should be used to mine coins that are based on CPU-mining, e.g. Quark-based Coins.

It will not be profitable for other algorithms such as for instance scrypt.
jcpbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 04:22:57 PM
 #20

Hi, very informative!!!

Just one question, can this be done to mine other alt coins, for example, TIX?

Thanks?

CPU cloud mining should be used to mine coins that are based on CPU-mining, e.g. Quark-based Coins.

It will not be profitable for other algorithms such as for instance scrypt.

Ok, I know it sounded stupid, TIX is getting harder to mine with GPU and my i5 2500K is only mining 2khs, but hey, ignorance is free...
Going to switch to PRT.

Thanks for the info.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!