Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:23:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Software to optimize gpu performance?  (Read 4317 times)
JollyGreen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 08:05:19 PM
 #1

Is there software that people are using on linux to optimize hash rate performance on their gpu?

Want to donate?
1H6WepEWuJkicvfki8PSrEaT8SUnUHAJKs
1481185412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185412
Reply with quote  #2

1481185412
Report to moderator
1481185412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185412
Reply with quote  #2

1481185412
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 12:31:50 AM
 #2

I think it's called Gentoo.
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 12:38:06 AM
 #3

There is no software to "optimize" hash rate, no matter of the operating system. You can use CCC to change clock of the carrds if you have an ATI one.

Gentoo is a linux distribution, not a video card software.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 01:38:57 AM
 #4

Ok cool, I knew some were over-clocking, but wasn't sure if there were other parameters that could be tweaked

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 01:45:06 AM
 #5

Ok cool, I knew some were over-clocking, but wasn't sure if there were other parameters that could be tweaked

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem

What software are you using to pass these parameters?

poclbm... in a batfile open poclbm.exe -v -w 128 -f 0 (and then the user and pass thing and device thing)

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 02:09:36 AM
 #6

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem
I was randomly able to decrease the clock speeds below 775/1050 on my 6870 at one time, but now I can't. Any idea how to allow the slider to slide lower?
Vasiliev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 04:28:08 AM
 #7

I think it's called Gentoo.
http://funroll-loops.info/

1DiaPwjDV6rLB2KrBA7gzitzSWCJmXnESy
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 04:56:58 PM
 #8

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem
I was randomly able to decrease the clock speeds below 775/1050 on my 6870 at one time, but now I can't. Any idea how to allow the slider to slide lower?

n windows there is msi afterburner

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 07:09:35 PM
 #9

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem
I was randomly able to decrease the clock speeds below 775/1050 on my 6870 at one time, but now I can't. Any idea how to allow the slider to slide lower?

n windows there is msi afterburner
Yes, however the memory clock seems tied to the GPU clock. Even though I can put the MSI Afterburner slider for the memory clock to 525, it doesn't actually change the memory clock's speed. The best I can do seems to be 100 less than the GPU's clock speed.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 01, 2011, 08:04:29 AM
 #10

depends on the card... -v -w 128 -f 0 is the perfect thing for 6870s

I even managed to get 280Mhash/s (vs default 230Mhash/s) by Ocing to 1040 core 300 mem
I was randomly able to decrease the clock speeds below 775/1050 on my 6870 at one time, but now I can't. Any idea how to allow the slider to slide lower?

n windows there is msi afterburner
Yes, however the memory clock seems tied to the GPU clock. Even though I can put the MSI Afterburner slider for the memory clock to 525, it doesn't actually change the memory clock's speed. The best I can do seems to be 100 less than the GPU's clock speed.

1st unable unofficial Overclocking (google it) on MSI afterburner. After, set the clocks at what you want and click apply, if the slider doesn not go as low/high as you want, put it at maximum or minimum for now. close MSI afterburner. Reopen, notice that you can lower or put higher clocks then before as the new clocks you just set become the MIDDLE of the slider.



167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 08:21:16 AM
 #11

You could try PowerStrip for overclocking. (Windows)
But usually the official driver software is good enough.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
true
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 10:08:25 AM
 #12

On the Windows box, I use Sapphire TRIXX...controls the fan well, doesn't require special unlocking techniques, but has a PITA registration requirement to download. Slight overclock gets me ~295Mh/sec on a single HD6950 1GB, 850/1280, -v -w 128.

did you know that the internet is not a 1ATWN2bMDRRfo7Z2P8Fefvq791X6FT88WQ ?
calling me a troll gives me a massive raging boner
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 10:25:44 AM
 #13

On the Windows box, I use Sapphire TRIXX...controls the fan well, doesn't require special unlocking techniques, but has a PITA registration requirement to download. Slight overclock gets me ~295Mh/sec on a single HD6950 1GB, 850/1280, -v -w 128.
That's weird. On my 6950 I only get 150 Mh with -v -w 128, but 310 Mh with -w 64 -f 1 and no -v. You can save some power by lowering the memory speed. I'm running memory at 155 Mhz with no loss in Mh. Perhaps you have one of the new 6950s with 1GB RAM, or you haven't unlocked the shaders?
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 01, 2011, 11:05:25 AM
 #14

On the Windows box, I use Sapphire TRIXX...controls the fan well, doesn't require special unlocking techniques, but has a PITA registration requirement to download. Slight overclock gets me ~295Mh/sec on a single HD6950 1GB, 850/1280, -v -w 128.

the MSI unlocking technique is just editing a text file lol o.O

I suffer from loss of Mh when I go lower than 300 in mem clocks

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 05:25:34 PM
 #15

on my HD4830 I have better result with down clocked mem.  Shocked  Why?
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 05:47:21 PM
 #16

on my HD4830 I have better result with down clocked mem.  Shocked  Why?
I was watching for hashing about 10 minuts, then it become stable  Sad
true
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 06:01:53 PM
 #17

On the Windows box, I use Sapphire TRIXX...controls the fan well, doesn't require special unlocking techniques, but has a PITA registration requirement to download. Slight overclock gets me ~295Mh/sec on a single HD6950 1GB, 850/1280, -v -w 128.
That's weird. On my 6950 I only get 150 Mh with -v -w 128, but 310 Mh with -w 64 -f 1 and no -v. You can save some power by lowering the memory speed. I'm running memory at 155 Mhz with no loss in Mh. Perhaps you have one of the new 6950s with 1GB RAM, or you haven't unlocked the shaders?
This is on a 1GB model (used in 32bit machine, needed memory space for main memory vs GPU memory and don't use above 1920x1200).

With -w 64, I get ~250Mh/sec.

With -v -w 64, I get ~295Mh/sec, although the deviation seems to be less and peaks higher than -v -w 128, so I think I'll stick with that now.

Also how are you running memory so low? Do you mean 1155? Or is it really that low? (Edit: Seems to be 1155. At 1100 I start losing ~5Mh/sec. At 1150 I get the same as 1280, so it's sticking there.)

did you know that the internet is not a 1ATWN2bMDRRfo7Z2P8Fefvq791X6FT88WQ ?
calling me a troll gives me a massive raging boner
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 06:21:03 PM
 #18

Also how are you running memory so low? Do you mean 1155? Or is it really that low? (Edit: Seems to be 1155. At 1100 I start losing ~5Mh/sec. At 1150 I get the same as 1280, so it's sticking there.)
No, I really meant 155, but I was a little off. It's at 160. I start Afterburner, put it to the lowest memory clock, exit Afterburner, rinse, repeat. I noticed I got a little higher Mhash with higher memory frequency if I specify -v, but it's still a lot slower than with no -v. I use Stream 2.2 and 64 bit W7.
sc8nt4u
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 11:26:32 PM
 #19

On the Windows box, I use Sapphire TRIXX...controls the fan well, doesn't require special unlocking techniques, but has a PITA registration requirement to download. Slight overclock gets me ~295Mh/sec on a single HD6950 1GB, 850/1280, -v -w 128.
That's weird. On my 6950 I only get 150 Mh with -v -w 128, but 310 Mh with -w 64 -f 1 and no -v. You can save some power by lowering the memory speed. I'm running memory at 155 Mhz with no loss in Mh. Perhaps you have one of the new 6950s with 1GB RAM, or you haven't unlocked the shaders?
This is on a 1GB model (used in 32bit machine, needed memory space for main memory vs GPU memory and don't use above 1920x1200).

With -w 64, I get ~250Mh/sec.

With -v -w 64, I get ~295Mh/sec, although the deviation seems to be less and peaks higher than -v -w 128, so I think I'll stick with that now.

Also how are you running memory so low? Do you mean 1155? Or is it really that low? (Edit: Seems to be 1155. At 1100 I start losing ~5Mh/sec. At 1150 I get the same as 1280, so it's sticking there.)

There is very little performance increase in overclocking memory to be worth it imo.

[Selling] Delta 120mm Fans 130CFM 3 Pin w/ 3 pin to 4 pin molex + fan screws
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22366.0
Dr. Arnold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 12:38:06 AM
 #20

I am only able to get around 230 MH/s with my 6950 2GB (running 100% stock) with most every combination of -v and -w 64, 128, 256...

I may try unlocking the extra shaders and/or OCing tonight and see how it goes.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!