Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2021, 11:37:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can i run 2x 7970 + 1x 280x with 850W PSU?  (Read 1046 times)
sterob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:20:42 AM
 #1

I am currently running 2x 7970 and CPU xeon e3-1245v2  on Seasonic SS-850HT



Can my PSU take 1 more 280x? provided that sometime i use the first card to play game (not tri-fire)

1627083474
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627083474

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627083474
Reply with quote  #2

1627083474
Report to moderator
1627083474
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627083474

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627083474
Reply with quote  #2

1627083474
Report to moderator
1627083474
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627083474

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627083474
Reply with quote  #2

1627083474
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:44:46 AM
 #2

My guess would be that you're short, but not a whole of a lot. 1k ps might be plenty, I think I use 250W on my 7970. times 3 would be 750. You're left with 100 for the computer I believe (?) and that would be short but it don't mean it will not work pretty good. Just try on I:13 and get around 2.000 Kh/s  Huh Tongue Grin
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:47:08 AM
 #3

7970's/280x needs a solid 20A+ of 12V.

I'd say no, you won't be able to run more than two. Not unless you really limit the voltage/hashrate.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
U1TRA_L0RD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100

CAUTION: Angry Man with Attitude.


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 06:27:06 AM
 #4

No, For higher end GPUs they consume ALOT of power, and you should probably upgrade your PSU before those things short circuit on you. There are many cheap ones on NewEgg and Amazon.
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 508



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 06:36:17 AM
 #5

7970's/280x needs a solid 20A+ of 12V.

I'd say no, you won't be able to run more than two. Not unless you really limit the voltage/hashrate.

IIRC 30A of 12V is recommended for those cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!