Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:56:49 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to test if my PSU is shot?  (Read 702 times)
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 02:00:53 AM
 #1

So I had my 500W PSU power one card on my mining rig (5830) and running my PC.  As I am browsing the internetz it all of a sudden died, I figured to let it cool maybe it overheated but it was not really even that warm. Ideas? Is it burnt? Ha get it!

1480741009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741009
Reply with quote  #2

1480741009
Report to moderator
1480741009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741009
Reply with quote  #2

1480741009
Report to moderator
1480741009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741009
Reply with quote  #2

1480741009
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480741009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741009
Reply with quote  #2

1480741009
Report to moderator
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 04:18:50 AM
 #2

I had the exact same issue earlier last week (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=38543.0) and, long story short, there's no easy way to test your PSU without going out and buying a testing tool.  It's probably easiest to just go out and buy a cheap 500W unit to replace your old one.  It was mentioned that the Corsair CX series is pretty good for the money Smiley

Mousepotato
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 04:38:31 AM
 #3

I had the exact same issue earlier last week (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=38543.0) and, long story short, there's no easy way to test your PSU without going out and buying a testing tool.  It's probably easiest to just go out and buy a cheap 500W unit to replace your old one.  It was mentioned that the Corsair CX series is pretty good for the money Smiley

Did a google search and even got a multimeter and yea it is dead -_-
Good news is I get to buy a new one!

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 01:15:00 AM
 #4

Just don't get a CX serie PSU ,,, for example the 600w cx is rated 480w, so it's not even a good 500w
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 02:12:39 AM
 #5

Just don't get a CX serie PSU ,,, for example the 600w cx is rated 480w, so it's not even a good 500w
What are you talking about? Maybe the older design was like that but the current V2 model is certainly rated correctly and tested by JonnyGuru to perform well under load even when above it's 30C rating.

Edit: ok, I see what you mean now. The 12V lines are rated for 480W only. But this is actually better than most other low-power units out there. Typically only high end PSUs provide the full rated load on 12V lines alone.

A lot of average quality 350-500 W units won't even handle 50% load 24/7 for long.

Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 09:20:58 PM
 #6

testing tool: paperclip

http://xionusa.com/TestPS.asp

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!