Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:31:37 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Restoring backed up wallet.dat  (Read 1054 times)
bitbites
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 07:33:40 PM
 #1

I'm using Windows 7 64 bit and I'm trying to resore a wallet using a backed up wallet.dat but it doesn't seem to be working, can anyone help?

Here's what I did

I installed a fresh copy of the Bitcoin app from www.bitcoin.org, ran it once, then closed it down
I deleted everything in the AppData/Roaming/Bitcoin folder
I copied wallet.dat to AppData/Roaming/Bitcoin folder
I started up Bitcoin again

It shows all my past transactions, but they all show "0/unconfirmed" and it shows my wallet balance as 0.00

What am I doing wrong? How can I recover my bitcoins from the backup?
1481409097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409097
Reply with quote  #2

1481409097
Report to moderator
1481409097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409097
Reply with quote  #2

1481409097
Report to moderator
1481409097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409097
Reply with quote  #2

1481409097
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409097
Reply with quote  #2

1481409097
Report to moderator
Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2011, 07:40:49 PM
 #2

In the status bar of the Bitcoin application, you can see the number of blocks you have. It should be at least 142949, otherwise you need to wait until the block chain is downloaded.

If this doesn't help, run Bitcoin with the -rescan command line switch.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
bitbites
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 07:45:40 PM
 #3

Okay, thanks. I'm using the rescan command. It's on 66000 blocks at the moment, so I guess I have to wait a bit. Does this process use up a lot of bandwidth do you know? I'm on a limited ADSL package.
Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2011, 08:25:42 PM
 #4

In this case there's no need for rescan.

I think it's not too bandwidth intensive because you're limited by the number of connections. If you can forward port 8332 it should allow more connections.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 04:00:51 PM
 #5

You're not rescanning - you're just redownloading the block chain. It will take a while, but don't worry.

Next time, leave blk0001.dat and blkindex.dat in place - since 0.3.21 that should work fine.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!