Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2024, 03:25:29 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCMiner - Open Source Bitcoin Miner for ZTEX FPGA Boards, 215 MH/s on LX150  (Read 161481 times)
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:27:09 AM
 #621

Somehow minepeon gets them working quite well.

The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1711725929
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711725929

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711725929
Reply with quote  #2

1711725929
Report to moderator
1711725929
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711725929

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711725929
Reply with quote  #2

1711725929
Report to moderator
ztex (OP)
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367
Merit: 250

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2013, 06:56:51 AM
 #622

I think the board is faulty though, I couldn't get it to even made the LEDs come on when I plugged it in, and none of the fans kicked on.

Fans are connected directly to supply voltage. Obviously you didn't supply it with power.

9V to 12V PSU that deliver at least 50W are recommended



Lyddite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:22:46 AM
 #623

I have one board which is being disabled showing the following error:
Code:
Read hash data: error sending control message: No such device: Disabling device
Sometimes after 10, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours.... anyway, enough to affect mining.

Firmware on the boards has been upgraded to the latest available version.
I believe I have ruled out a faulty USB hub and USB cables by swapping cables and plugging the board in directly to USB without an external hub.
Power supplies have been swapped with the same result. Eventually, I'll get around to making a cable for a large regulated power supply I have to completely rule out the power supply.

Until then I made a little Expect script to detect and reset the disabled miner. Expect is a program that can "talk" to other interactive programs via a script. My script is by no mean perfect but gets the job done and it resets the miner and has been running unattended for the past day so I figured I would share it.

I have tested this on Debian linux, you need to install "expect" in order to run it.
Code:
apt-get install expect
should be enough on Debian or Ubuntu.

Then start monitoring the following command:

Code:
expect ztex_restart_disconnected.exp

More details about the scripts below.

- Lyddite
---
BTC: 14J26yT4e8xBbcP3XZEk4osLozf6eosmM1
LTC: LiCmLnRr8hCXhiATmBd6ekw4L3Q36AsijH
XPM: ANTYC4pAimVW726hufAFBgJb4VDeSQbYVT


Two scripts are needed first a simple script containing the you use to start BTCMiner. The scripts should in the same directory as BTCMiner.....jar

The first script, start_ztex is what you use to start your cluster. eg... with mine I connect to a local stratum pool. You will need you change at least the host, port , username , password and perhaps firmware.

start_ztex.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
#
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-121126.jar BTCMiner -v -host http://192.168.1.XX:XXXX -u XXXX -p x -f ztex_ufm1_15d.ihx -v -m c

The second script, is the expect script which monitors the output

ztex_restart_disconnected.exp
Code:
#!/usr/bin/expect -f
#
set timeout -1
spawn $env(SHELL)
match_max 100000
expect "*\$ "
send -- "./start_ztex.sh"
expect  "./start_ztex.sh"
send -- "\r"
expect  "(Re)Scanning bus ... \r"

# wait for error, then send r return
# first check resets right after the error
# second line for other more rarely errors that may disable the device (resets on the next device status line)
while  1  {
    expect {
        "Read hash data: error sending control message: No such device: Disabling device\r"
            { sleep 10 ; send -- "r\r" ; exp_continue }
        "Device disabled since\r"
            {  send -- "r\r" ; exp_continue }
    }
}

- Lyddite -
Lyddite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 08:23:58 AM
 #624

I have one board which is being disabled showing the following error:
Code:
Read hash data: error sending control message: No such device: Disabling device
Sometimes after 10, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours.... anyway, enough to affect mining.

Firmware on the boards has been upgraded to the latest available version.
I believe I have ruled out a faulty USB hub and USB cables by swapping cables and plugging the board in directly to USB without an external hub.
Power supplies have been swapped with the same result. Eventually, I'll get around to making a cable for a large regulated power supply I have to completely rule out the power supply.

In the end, the problem was with the power supplies... both little cheap wall warts. After switching to a 12V 5A regulated power supply, no problems. Maybe not as efficient in term of power, but the boards have mined reliably for days without having to restart anything.

- Lyddite -
Kuroth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
August 16, 2013, 03:35:38 PM
 #625

I have one board which is being disabled showing the following error:
Code:
Read hash data: error sending control message: No such device: Disabling device
Sometimes after 10, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours.... anyway, enough to affect mining.

Firmware on the boards has been upgraded to the latest available version.
I believe I have ruled out a faulty USB hub and USB cables by swapping cables and plugging the board in directly to USB without an external hub.
Power supplies have been swapped with the same result. Eventually, I'll get around to making a cable for a large regulated power supply I have to completely rule out the power supply.

In the end, the problem was with the power supplies... both little cheap wall warts. After switching to a 12V 5A regulated power supply, no problems. Maybe not as efficient in term of power, but the boards have mined reliably for days without having to restart anything.


Ahh   Good to hear..   Thanks!

cableiso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 280


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 03:14:13 AM
 #626

I wanted to build the source using ISE - it's bombing out due to the defines in sha256_pipes2.v.  Has anyone else run in to this problem?

For example,
data15_p1 <= `S1( S[i-1].data[`IDX(15)] );                                 // 3

Pukes with
ERROR:HDLCompiler:806 - "C:/bitminer-src/fpga/sha256_pipes2.v" Line 89: Syntax error near "[".

As well as several others.  From what I can tell, XST is quite happy with this syntax just a few lines prior.
cableiso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 280


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 02:03:51 PM
 #627

I wanted to build the source using ISE - it's bombing out due to the defines in sha256_pipes2.v.  Has anyone else run in to this problem?

For example,
data15_p1 <= `S1( S[i-1].data[`IDX(15)] );                                 // 3

Pukes with
ERROR:HDLCompiler:806 - "C:/bitminer-src/fpga/sha256_pipes2.v" Line 89: Syntax error near "[".

As well as several others.  From what I can tell, XST is quite happy with this syntax just a few lines prior.

Never mind, this error only happens in ISE 12.1.  It works in later versions just fine.

cableiso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 280


View Profile
September 23, 2013, 09:33:21 PM
 #628

  
Yep, I realize this is a year old post, but anyway: This par fail happened to me, too.  Still interested in building for shits and grins, so if anyone knows the magic settings please let me know.  Tried the 5, 19 switches from the other thread.  Took 9h and gave up with about 8k unrouted.  Not bad, but still far off.





Dear FPGA miners,

I am trying to build the "open source" ZTEX project ZtexBTCMiner-120703

http://www.ztex.de/btcminer/ZtexBTCMiner-120703.tar.bz2

under ISE 14.1 and I am having difficulty making the LX150 Bitfile for the 4 FPGA version of ztex_ufm1_15y1.  I am using ISE Project Navigator 14.1 configured as follows:
 
SET AS TOP MODULE:                                   ztex_ufm1_15y1 (ztex_ufm1_15y1.v)
INCLUDED UCF FILE:                                     ztex_ufm1_15y1.ucf
TARGET DEVICE:                                          xc6slx150-3csg484

The problems are:

(1) I would like to get some recommended part numbers for low profile heatsinks, I notice that Digi-key does not carry Radian.    
(2) Route:441 - The router has detected a very high timing score (7681590) for this design. It is extremely unlikely the router will be able to meet your timing requirements. To prevent excessive run time the router will change strategy. The router will now work to completely route this design but not to improve timing. This behavior will allow you to use the Static Timing Report and FPGA Editor to isolate the paths with timing problems. The cause of this behavior is either overly difficult constraints, or issues with the implementation or synthesis of logic in the critical timing path. If you would prefer the router continue trying to meet timing and you are willing to accept a long run time set the option "-xe c" to override the present behavior.

(Router eventually gives up)

There is no ISE project file in the source tree, and Dr. Z has given his assurance that the .ucf file is complete.

Can anyone please give me some direction on how to build this bitfile correctly, apart from what I am doing as described above?  I have searched these forums and come up with nada. 6500 subproject on GitHub builds just fine, using the same setup.

https://github.com/progranism/Open-Source-FPGA-Bitcoin-Miner/tree/master/projects/X6000_ztex_comm4

The reason I want to build my own bitfile should be obvious to the thirsty...and fellow abductees.  Damn probes. Just wait until we get one of them onto a steel table.


rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 725
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 07, 2013, 11:57:51 PM
 #629

I don't get this, 3 months since bitfury released the source for their 300MH bitstream, how come ztex don't release it?!

https://github.com/Taugeran/Bitfury

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 08, 2013, 12:03:03 AM
 #630

I don't get this, 3 months since bitfury released the source for their 300MH bitstream, how come ztex don't release it?!

https://github.com/Taugeran/Bitfury

Have you read the bitfury or eldentyrell thread about this?

The boards run at optimum speeds considering power consumption, heat and error rate.

Unlike crainsmore and other boards the power supply on the boards can not meet the requirement for higher clocks. You would have to Mod your boards!

FanDjangoBTC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 09:47:57 PM
 #631

Unless you have more than 100 of the y's, the change ist not worth it anymore.
And even so, since the last difficulty increase, most users of this splendid device will do the same as GPU enthusiastis some months ago.
cableiso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 280


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 04:45:06 AM
 #632

I am interested in buying FPGA boards.  If you have a few or more boards, please PM me with your price per GH.
aTg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 12:39:43 PM
 #633

ZTEX not gonna adapt BTCMiner to use with your new board Artix7?

rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 725
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 01:37:55 PM
 #634

Hehe, zTex strikes back!? What would these deliver 400MH/s?

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
ztex (OP)
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367
Merit: 250

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 11:47:03 AM
 #635

Hehe, zTex strikes back!? What would these deliver 400MH/s?

You may not believe it, but there is hardware which is not only developed for BTC mining. Screw drivers, for example.

Estimated hash rate of these FPGA's is indeed 350 to 400 MH/s

ztex (OP)
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367
Merit: 250

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 11:51:41 AM
 #636

Not worth it. Used 1.15y's (and a few remaining ones that are sold-off in the shop) deliver more MH/s per price than USB-FPGA Modules 2.16b would deliver, see the message above.

ZTEX not gonna adapt BTCMiner to use with your new board Artix7?



rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 725
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 23, 2013, 06:02:04 PM
 #637

Hey, what about http://www.blakecoin.org/, has anyone tried it with their zTex? I only have 1.15x, does the bitstream work on those?

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 23, 2013, 10:28:54 PM
 #638

Hehe, zTex strikes back!? What would these deliver 400MH/s?

You may not believe it, but there is hardware which is not only developed for BTC mining. Screw drivers, for example.

Estimated hash rate of these FPGA's is indeed 350 to 400 MH/s


you don't happen to have a clue what they would do in litecoin?


i Used kramble's litecoin bitstream on my ztex 1.15y's and one quad board puts out arround 60 kh/s.

asyring
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 12:18:30 PM
 #639

I think the second board with ddr3 ram and artix7 100k could be usefull for litecoins. But this board is in prototype status.

I have an artix7 developer board but its not faster than the sp6
kramble
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 384
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 05:27:06 PM
 #640

Hey, what about http://www.blakecoin.org/, has anyone tried it with their zTex? I only have 1.15x, does the bitstream work on those?

It does now (courtesy of hal7) (thread post), (git).

NB the original 1.15y bitstream does not work on 1.15x/1.15d hence the need for a new version.

Github https://github.com/kramble BLC BkRaMaRkw3NeyzsZ2zUgXsNLogVVkQ1iPV
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!