Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:42:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3xPCIe Mobo with 2x5830s. What do I sneak into the last slot?  (Read 948 times)
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 12:33:54 AM
 #1

My gigabyte mobo has a third PCIe slot open with two 5830s occupying the first two. It's only enough room for a single slot card, which I believe the best available is a 6850.

My PSU is a PC P&C 750w single rail unit, already powering two 5830s, three hard drives, i7 CPU & 6gb triple channel DDR3 RAM. Would a third card be pushing it in terms of overworking the PSU?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
1480884130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884130
Reply with quote  #2

1480884130
Report to moderator
1480884130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884130
Reply with quote  #2

1480884130
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480884130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884130
Reply with quote  #2

1480884130
Report to moderator
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 05:28:45 PM
 #2

You can put in  4 5830's according to others, I havent tried.

I have currently 2 x5830s and a 5770. on a cheapie 750wPS

and a 3 x 5830 setup on a good 750wPS


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 09:31:03 PM
 #3

Take off the case side panel, get a 1x-->16x PCIe extender from Cablesaurus.com and hang a third 5830 up near the top with twist ties. Working fine for me and all the cards will run a little cooler.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 01:34:03 AM
 #4

3 5830s with an i7 would be pushing a 750W to it's very limits.

right now:

each 5830 is about 180W * 2 = 360W
i7 (depending on the version) should be about 130W
maybe 35W each 2GB stick * 3 = 105W
mobo = about 50W
each hard drive about 30-40W * 3 = 100W

that's 740W

I don't think you'll be able to runa  3rd gpu on that psu.

st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:54:35 AM
 #5

Good point regarding the power limit. Last thing Id want is for three graphics cards crap out from power issues.

Also, I want to make sure that, even though I know they can't be crossfired, I can run a different type of card in said 3rd PCIe slot and mine with it. For example, my two 5830s and, say, a 6770. Though they can't crossfire, will I have any issues running each as a miner?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 03:02:33 AM
 #6

no, i do that all the time.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!