Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 03:36:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3xPCIe Mobo with 2x5830s. What do I sneak into the last slot?  (Read 982 times)
st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 12:33:54 AM
 #1

My gigabyte mobo has a third PCIe slot open with two 5830s occupying the first two. It's only enough room for a single slot card, which I believe the best available is a 6850.

My PSU is a PC P&C 750w single rail unit, already powering two 5830s, three hard drives, i7 CPU & 6gb triple channel DDR3 RAM. Would a third card be pushing it in terms of overworking the PSU?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
1490499367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490499367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490499367
Reply with quote  #2

1490499367
Report to moderator
1490499367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490499367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490499367
Reply with quote  #2

1490499367
Report to moderator
1490499367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490499367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490499367
Reply with quote  #2

1490499367
Report to moderator
Transactions can optionally carry transaction fees. Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get the fee. The Bitcoin client will sometimes force you to pay a fee when it thinks that no miner will accept your transaction otherwise.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490499367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490499367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490499367
Reply with quote  #2

1490499367
Report to moderator
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 05:28:45 PM
 #2

You can put in  4 5830's according to others, I havent tried.

I have currently 2 x5830s and a 5770. on a cheapie 750wPS

and a 3 x 5830 setup on a good 750wPS


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 09:31:03 PM
 #3

Take off the case side panel, get a 1x-->16x PCIe extender from Cablesaurus.com and hang a third 5830 up near the top with twist ties. Working fine for me and all the cards will run a little cooler.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 01:34:03 AM
 #4

3 5830s with an i7 would be pushing a 750W to it's very limits.

right now:

each 5830 is about 180W * 2 = 360W
i7 (depending on the version) should be about 130W
maybe 35W each 2GB stick * 3 = 105W
mobo = about 50W
each hard drive about 30-40W * 3 = 100W

that's 740W

I don't think you'll be able to runa  3rd gpu on that psu.

st4rdust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:54:35 AM
 #5

Good point regarding the power limit. Last thing Id want is for three graphics cards crap out from power issues.

Also, I want to make sure that, even though I know they can't be crossfired, I can run a different type of card in said 3rd PCIe slot and mine with it. For example, my two 5830s and, say, a 6770. Though they can't crossfire, will I have any issues running each as a miner?

If you should choose to pity me -14GLjCUE7ohxRLvwZD2sfjKjf22Lt3UHip
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 03:02:33 AM
 #6

no, i do that all the time.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!