Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:36:01 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hardcoded overclocking limits?  (Read 617 times)
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 03:28:59 PM
 #1

I have a Llano APU, the A8-3850. It's "stock" is supposed to be 400mhz, and it as an official overclocking function (even advertised as 600mhz) I am ablt do do this in the bios (the Asus one actually runs it from stock at 600) and I can change the clock from 400-600 in MSI Afterburner.

However I am fairly certain this little thing could do at least 800mhz or more, 32nm process and such. But how do I obtain that. I tried various configuration tweaks with msi afterburner but nothing worked. Is this hardcoded in the firmware or just a driver issue?

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
1481222161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222161
Reply with quote  #2

1481222161
Report to moderator
1481222161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222161
Reply with quote  #2

1481222161
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481222161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222161
Reply with quote  #2

1481222161
Report to moderator
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 07:27:18 PM
 #2

I'm going to direct you to a toms hardware article specifically on that chip since i'm unfamilar with it and would only be repeating what they said.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-a8-3850-llano,2975-7.html

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 07:40:35 PM
 #3

I've read that already b4 and this doesn't discuss overclocking the gpu part of it.
Overclocking the cpu doesn't do a thing the clocks are independent.

I've also looked quite thoroughly on google and nobody seems to be concerned about this topic.
How are the overclocking limits for dedicated cards handled anyway? Not that any is able to reach it...

I'm quite raging on the inside because of this, since I suspect a 100% overclocking capability beyond the 600mhz lock.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 07:44:25 PM
 #4

Ah i see, this is my mistake then the gpu mutipliers are currently fixed and unfortunatly we're long past the days of opening up cartridges to change multipliers(p2 anyone?)

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 08:16:40 PM
 #5

no, no how you are coming up with multipliers? Yes the gpu part of the llamo probably is the new version of the celeron-300  Grin, but there shouldn't be any multiplier on the gpu (I can change it on the cpu all I want btw).

I more and more supect AMD already knew of the capabilities of the integrated gpu and took special measures to prevent further overclocking and giving out a waver for stock overclocking to the mainboard manufacturers. (Possible to still be able to sell their remaining stocks of low end cards or whatever)
I can't possible imagine a hardware lock on the clock and to my knowledge this wouldn't even be possible.

So either it is somewhere in the bios or it is just a driver issue.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!