Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 07:49:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to control Namecoind.exe  (Read 6779 times)
IronKulak (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 06:28:32 AM
 #1

I nothing understand - how to view balance of earned namecoins and send and recieve namecoins with namecoind.exe under windows 7? Huh
1714160958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714160958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714160958
Reply with quote  #2

1714160958
Report to moderator
1714160958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714160958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714160958
Reply with quote  #2

1714160958
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714160958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714160958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714160958
Reply with quote  #2

1714160958
Report to moderator
samr7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 430

Firstbits: 1samr7


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:47:10 AM
 #2

While namecoind is running, open another window and run 'namecoind help' for a list of commands.

It's really hacky at the moment.
mollari
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:59:02 AM
 #3

To control namecoind, you need to use the command line, there is no GUI yet, AFAIK.
The commands for namecoind are the same as those for the command line Bitcoin client, bitcoind. The full list of commands can be found here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_Calls_list, also see http://dot-bit.org/InstallAndConfigureNamecoin

I don't use Windows, so I don't know the exact syntax, but it should work like this:
Open the Command Prompt window, navigate to the folder where you saved namecoind and execute these commands:
Code:
namecoind.exe getbalance
to see your current balance,
Code:
namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true
to see your addresses for receiving namecoins
Code:
namecoind.exe sendtoaddress <namecoinaddress> <amount>
to send coins and
Code:
namecoind.exe help
for a list of commands.

Hope this helps!
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 02:14:10 PM
 #4

So, I did all of that.  (just starting namecoin).  When it asks for the username is that the same as the username for slush's pool?
What is the deal with buying domains?  Do I need to buy a domain in order to mine name coins as well?
All I see after keeping it on for 2 hours is 0.000 balance.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1008


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
 #5

No need to buy anything.

If you want to mine namecoins you need a miner like guiminer, not the namecoin client (like for mining bitcoins, you don't need the bitcoin client!)

The namecoin client is of course required if you want to have an address to send the namecoins you mine.

As for bitcoin, you need to make sure you downloaded ALL the blocks before checking the balance.


As for domains well, that's WHY namecoins exist, it can be used to get a domain that cannot be taken down, since it exist in the blockchain. So no government, censor, or laws can obscure it. Of course you don't have to use that, just consider namecoins like bitcoin and you are fine.

tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 06:30:39 PM
 #6

Thanks that makes sense.  I have already been mining btc, and just wondered what needed to be done here.  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin so hopefully it will result in some balance when the accounting get implemented.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
r-man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 07:31:18 PM
 #7

No need to buy anything.

If you want to mine namecoins you need a miner like guiminer, not the namecoin client (like for mining bitcoins, you don't need the bitcoin client!)

The namecoin client is of course required if you want to have an address to send the namecoins you mine.

As for bitcoin, you need to make sure you downloaded ALL the blocks before checking the balance.


As for domains well, that's WHY namecoins exist, it can be used to get a domain that cannot be taken down, since it exist in the blockchain. So no government, censor, or laws can obscure it. Of course you don't have to use that, just consider namecoins like bitcoin and you are fine.

Here's my:
{
    "version" : 32150,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 19200,
    "connections" : 9,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 94037.96111403,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1318360314,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

--it looks fine with blocks, but hashespersec is zero. Why? Is it because Slush pool is set to namecoin and bitcoin mining together? Really don't understand it enough.
r-man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 07:43:33 PM
 #8

  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin

How do You realize there are ALL of them updated?
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 08:05:38 PM
 #9

A couple of things...

You need an updated client. You should see
    "version": 32463
You can get the current client at dot-bit.org - this will let you see blocks higher than 19200.

If you are mining at Slush's pool, you don't actually need the namecoin client, except to receive your namecoin reward when it is distributed. Just use your usual miner in the usual way.

At some point you will need to do
Code:
namecoind.exe getnewaddress
to get an address for your namecoin rewards, but that's about it.

r-man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 08:36:56 PM
 #10

A couple of things...

You need an updated client. You should see
    "version": 32463
You can get the current client at dot-bit.org - this will let you see blocks higher than 19200.

If you are mining at Slush's pool, you don't actually need the namecoin client, except to receive your namecoin reward when it is distributed. Just use your usual miner in the usual way.

At some point you will need to do
Code:
namecoind.exe getnewaddress
to get an address for your namecoin rewards, but that's about it.
So I don't need namecoin client to be running. Only if I want to generate a wallet number or do some transactions, right?
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 08:45:44 PM
 #11

Exactly Smiley

r-man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 08:47:20 PM
 #12

Exactly Smiley
Bingo! Thx so much!
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 10:40:50 PM
 #13

  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin

How do You realize there are ALL of them updated?

By checking slush's stats page.  This link is directly to the namecoins https://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/nmc/
When you use getinfo it says "blocks": and some number, when that number reaches the "current namecoin block" (link above) then you have matched them all.  Then it should start mining for them. although my balance hasn't got above 0.0000000000

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
GoldenBoar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2011, 04:55:36 PM
 #14

I've recently made a namecoin gui for Windows users. I'm hoping to post it when I get out of the newbie section. You can currently get it from reddit though.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!