Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 11:15:25 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 175 asics, how much AC? is it worth?  (Read 259 times)
Guinsanity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:18:18 PM
 #1

Hi guys

I have a little farm in a warm place, im with 75 halongs, 55 S9 and 48 L3+, for now i dont have problems with temperatures, but soon the summer comes and the daily temps will stay between 30-35C celsius.
The machines are in a corridor and have 1,5mt on the middle with a intake (bringing air fro m outside, 12000 cfm), i have 4 12000 cfm exausting fans (two from each side), i make a little draw below

https://imgur.com/3jq6mJx

Im thinking about putting a 60000 btus air conditioner right above the intake fan because the asics from the top is getting a little warm and gonna get worse soon, i use this conversor from btus to watts https://www.rapidtables.com/convert/power/BTU_to_Watt.html  and with my 0,04 usd energy cost per KWh gives me a value of 211 usd for 10 hours in a day on 30 days using, is it wright?  On the manufacturer website said that the consumption on cold is only 5500w.

If im doing the right math, its not too expensive to use AC in my environment, or i calculate something wrong? I know im not gonna fridge all the place with de air, its just to help my machines to live longer..

Sorry for bad english.
1540206925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540206925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540206925
Reply with quote  #2

1540206925
Report to moderator
1540206925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540206925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540206925
Reply with quote  #2

1540206925
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540206925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540206925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540206925
Reply with quote  #2

1540206925
Report to moderator
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:28:48 PM
 #2

The mistake in your calculations is that your air conditioner is not even close to big enough to handle that many units

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Guinsanity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:39:19 PM
 #3

Its just to freeze the first chain of machines, maybe the first 48 T1s a little close from the intake
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:40:56 PM
 #4

Also, you machines move over 3x the air you have for intake and exhaust. You should look into having a much larger exhaust setup with a proper hot/cold isle separation, which I cannot tell from your drawing if you have.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Guinsanity
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:47:19 PM
 #5

Also, you machines move over 3x the air you have for intake and exhaust. You should look into having a much larger exhaust setup with a proper hot/cold isle separation, which I cannot tell from your drawing if you have.

Intake just 12000
But from exausting is 24000 from each side both exaustors, with the total cfm of my asics is 22250 from each side

I dont have a separation, im thinking of putting some insulated foam back at the asics with the squares from each asic and doing a 1 mt corridor of hot air, to prevent the hot air to flow into the middle, but im having some trouble to find this material on my country. Maybe wood? or too risky?
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 10:48:42 PM
 #6

I dont know what kind of regulations you have there, but I have seen many mines us simple double sided foam insulation to build cost effective barriers. Just cut squares and stick the exhaust side of the miner through.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 38

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
May 25, 2018, 01:55:01 AM
 #7

I dont know what kind of regulations you have there, but I have seen many mines us simple double sided foam insulation to build cost effective barriers. Just cut squares and stick the exhaust side of the miner through.

5/8th inch fire rated drywall is actually cheaper than something like 1 inch foam and a lot safer.   Plus you can easily build a 2x4 frame on 2 foot centers cheaply.

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
Thetaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 108


View Profile
May 29, 2018, 04:09:44 AM
 #8

5/8th inch fire rated drywall is actually cheaper than something like 1 inch foam and a lot safer.   Plus you can easily build a 2x4 frame on 2 foot centers cheaply.

I agree, I myself use fire rated drywalls and insulators. Only thing I don't agree with is the retard unit Cheesy
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 110


Mining since 2011


View Profile
June 02, 2018, 08:53:57 AM
 #9

If you can't do a/c you need a bunch of massive fans Try to move approx 40k CFM through the building at a time and you should be good.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
Sandal_Hat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 118


View Profile
June 07, 2018, 09:19:28 AM
 #10

why do u get 75 halongs when u can get more than 2 S9s for 1 halong? And u do this when your electricity bill is low? Efficiency is even less important to u when your electricity rate is so low. There is a risk of condensation on your miners if they get too hot, especially if your room is small. The aircon may not be able to work 24/7 without issues, so, u may need some backups. It would also use up alot of electricity space that u could better use for miners. I would just add more fans if I were u.

Selling 100 dollar coupons (8units expire 11th June, 14 units expire 1st july) and 125 dollar coupon (2 unit exp 30th June). Selling at 20% of value
banman24
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 07, 2018, 07:23:33 PM
 #11

You need to have an intake opening or openings for the same cfm that you are exhausting. If your one intake is only 12000cfm you need 3 more to match your exhaust.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!