Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:43:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 37% difficulty increase (55590 to 76193)  (Read 4931 times)
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
March 18, 2011, 02:28:39 PM
 #21

I'm not sure how GPUs perform in comparison - but would need to be about 8 times better than one 2GHz CPU @ 30 watts to be feasible.

Dude should actually figure out how much better GPU's perform in comparison... It is way better than that.

Two AMD Opteron 6128s will get you 32.4 Mhash/s: that's the best result for CPUs listed on the wiki's mining hardware comparison list. One AMD Phenom II X6 1055T will get you 15.84 Mhash/s.  In contrast, 1 AMD 5870 GPU will easily get you 324 Mhash/s - 10x what the 2 6128s would deliver, and 20x what 1 1055T delivers. A 5870 is probably considered entry-level now for GPU mining - a 5970 will be almost twice as fast. And that's before you consider that it's relatively easy to use more than one GPU.

This space intentionally left blank.
1480772638
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772638

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772638
Reply with quote  #2

1480772638
Report to moderator
1480772638
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772638

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772638
Reply with quote  #2

1480772638
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772638
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772638

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772638
Reply with quote  #2

1480772638
Report to moderator
1480772638
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772638

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772638
Reply with quote  #2

1480772638
Report to moderator
CCCMikey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
March 18, 2011, 02:34:16 PM
 #22

Hmm, $800 to buy each. Not cheap Smiley (5970s)
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
March 18, 2011, 02:39:19 PM
 #23

Hmm, $800 to buy each. Not cheap Smiley (5970s)
You may find the price comes down once 6990s start hitting the gamers' rigs and they start selling off their old 5970s!

What are the $ prices of 5870s like? I got a 5870 in the UK not that long ago, and there were some real bargains to be had if you were prepared to wait for them (I paid £130 second-hard from a dealer, but I've seen prices range from £110 to £210 on ebay).

This space intentionally left blank.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 19, 2011, 04:00:00 AM
 #24

Hmm, $800 to buy each. Not cheap Smiley (5970s)

Used they go for 400~500USD ea. a pair of 5970s can be found for 800$, and with OC, achieving 1.2 GH/s isn't hard... now 1600$ worth of GPU gives you ~2.5GH/s, the rest of the system is like 150$ MAX, so 1750$ for a 2.5GH/s MONSTER

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Jered Kenna (TradeHill)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
March 19, 2011, 03:26:01 PM
 #25

What kind of PSU are you figuring in with that though? A good PSU is going to set you back and for those 4 cards you're going to need 1500watt or more probably.

moneyandtech.com
@moneyandtech @jeredkenna
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 05:52:08 PM
 #26

What kind of PSU are you figuring in with that though? A good PSU is going to set you back and for those 4 cards you're going to need 1500watt or more probably.

I think there is no psu more then 1500w
Jered Kenna (TradeHill)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
March 19, 2011, 07:56:12 PM
 #27

What kind of PSU are you figuring in with that though? A good PSU is going to set you back and for those 4 cards you're going to need 1500watt or more probably.

I think there is no psu more then 1500w

Ultra makes decent 1600watts and I think there might be a couple 2k. The problem is in the US with 110v you might start tripping breakers about there.

moneyandtech.com
@moneyandtech @jeredkenna
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 08:51:43 PM
 #28

What kind of PSU are you figuring in with that though? A good PSU is going to set you back and for those 4 cards you're going to need 1500watt or more probably.

My two 5970's draw 770Watts when overclocked to 900Mhz, or around 650 Watts when at factory clocks. So 1500Watts if left at factory clocks is going to be plenty, but two 1000Watt PSU's would give him the advantage of overclocking: Each 50Mhz yields 50Mhash/s boost on each card (25Mhash/s per core). So overclocking both my cards by 150Mhz to 900Mhz gained me 300Mhash/s more. However, your going to need some serious cooling to get these clocks (Clocking the memory to 500Mhz helps).

There are simple and cheap adapters you can get that allow you to easily use more than one PSU on your system: See here http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_1919.html
Jered Kenna (TradeHill)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile WWW
March 20, 2011, 03:07:25 PM
 #29

What kind of PSU are you figuring in with that though? A good PSU is going to set you back and for those 4 cards you're going to need 1500watt or more probably.

My two 5970's draw 770Watts when overclocked to 900Mhz, or around 650 Watts when at factory clocks. So 1500Watts if left at factory clocks is going to be plenty, but two 1000Watt PSU's would give him the advantage of overclocking: Each 50Mhz yields 50Mhash/s boost on each card (25Mhash/s per core). So overclocking both my cards by 150Mhz to 900Mhz gained me 300Mhash/s more. However, your going to need some serious cooling to get these clocks (Clocking the memory to 500Mhz helps).

There are simple and cheap adapters you can get that allow you to easily use more than one PSU on your system: See here http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_1919.html

I'm not sure about the best way to go about it though. The power isn't shared evenly by doing that right? Whichever PSU goes to the mobo is going to use 300watts for the pci-e (75 each right?) and the board / cpu. Then you've gotta split the cards up between the two PSU's. I'm guessing you could go with 1 card / mobo / cpu / other on PSU1 and 3 cards on PSU2. I'm just debating this or 1 big PSU, not sure which is the best way to go, 1PSU gives you better air flow etc.

moneyandtech.com
@moneyandtech @jeredkenna
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!