Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 06:40:17 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Accedently changed the preference for opening wallet to Word. How to fix it?  (Read 998 times)
SibaanQ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 22, 2017, 06:49:43 AM
 #1

My apolgizes if I poste in the wrong forum. I am not very experienced with operating wallet.
I have windows seven in p.c and multi bit 05. Latest version. I wanted to transfer my bitcoins to a new wallet at Bittrex. Coins are loaded in the wallet. I send a 0.01BC to test of all worked well. It did.

Then I looked we're the wallet was stored on the computer and clicked - open. Because it did not open because there wasn't the appropriate program, I opened it out of curiosity with Word. I did not change the program at all but the preference for opening the wallet has been changed to Word. (It is still Wallet.(.wallet)

The result is that I cannot transfer the content of the wallet anymore. I can see the correct content of the bitcoins. Multibit synchronizes fine. But it read s in the left topcorner. 0 BC to spend. When I want to transfer the BC,  I get the notification there that are not enough funds available.

It is not possible to change the preference Words from the wallet with the right mouse click. Because there is no suitable program to switch to. The preference from then “info” folder has not changed so I can see that it opens with -softonic assistant.

What can I do? I hope someone can help with advise so I am not loosing my Bitcoins.
Thank you for your attention and help.
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508654417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508654417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508654417
Reply with quote  #2

1508654417
Report to moderator
equator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
September 22, 2017, 07:32:02 AM
 #2

You opened the file with the option of word so now that file is converted to doc file. go to the same file and right click the mouse you will get the option of OPEN WITH in that when you move the mouse one more option will open in that choose program option is their click that and then just take the click option tick off from doc and then open it.

Even if the problem is not solved then take backup of your wallet. after that delete the multibit folder and then reopen multi bit wallet it will ask all option in that give restore option and open the wallet and i think this will solve your problem.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
September 22, 2017, 12:18:21 PM
 #3

You opened the file with the option of word so now that file is converted to doc file.
No, it won't have converted it to a .doc file unless the OP clicked SAVE while in Word.

If you can still open the wallet in MB and it is showing the balance, then it really doesn't matter that you have associated .wallet files with Word. The reason you are getting the error about being unable to send any Bitcoins is most likely just an error with MultiBit. What is the balance? and is it made up of a lot of small payments?

It's possible that because of the way MultiBit calculates it's fees, that if your balance is relatively small but made up of a lot of tiny (dust) sized payments... that the fee to send them all would be greater than your BTC balance...

For instance, say you had 10x payments of 0.0001... so you had 0.001 BTC in your wallet. If you tried to send all of them, the transaction size would be something like 1.4K (10 * 148 + 34 + 10 = 1524 bytes)... if MB is trying to use a fee of 100 sats/byte, then the fee required would be ~152400 sats... or 0.00154200 BTC... which is more than the balance in your wallet.

Are you using MultiBit HD or MultiBit Classic?

aleksej996
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98

★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
September 22, 2017, 02:29:39 PM
 #4

Ah haven't used Windows in years. This question brings the memories back...

You need to open regedit and change a certain registry. You can do this by clicking (cmd+R), I believe. Then type regedit and click run.
You need to delete a key with the name of the file extension that you wish to remove default program to.
You should find it here: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts
So in your case that is the wallet extension.

Then restart your PC and install Linux like a normal person.
You can omit the last step if you like to torture yourself, but you still need to restart for the changes to be applied.

SibaanQ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 08:36:05 AM
 #5

Thank you all
That is very helpful

Equator - no is not  changed to doc fille . It was not saved.

HCP- You might well be right that is the multibut program itself, I don't know.
I have multibit 05.15, not Classic
There was just one transaction made at all with this program and from this wallet . I has been sitting  there since 2013 . The O.01 BC transaction was to test. There is 0.9989 BC in wallet

I can see the balance in the loaded wallet in multibit. Above is the notice that I have 0 to spend.
If it is a multibit problem what can I do?
Are there any suggestions that might be helpful?

Alekse996. thank you I will try regedit. I know about Linux, I should have changed long time ago.

Thank you

HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 09:23:58 AM
 #6

HCP- You might well be right that is the multibut program itself, I don't know.
I have multibit 05.15, not Classic
There was just one transaction made at all with this program and from this wallet . I has been sitting  there since 2013 . The O.01 BC transaction was to test. There is 0.9989 BC in wallet

I can see the balance in the loaded wallet in multibit. Above is the notice that I have 0 to spend.
If it is a multibit problem what can I do?
Are there any suggestions that might be helpful?
I'm a bit confused... Multibit 0.5.15 is MultiBit Classic... does it look like this:


or this:



If it looks like the 2nd one, you can import your seed into Electrum (click Options and select BIP39 Seed and use Derivation Path: m/0' when prompted)

SibaanQ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 24, 2017, 07:07:43 PM
 #7

Yes  thank you. It is Mutibit classic. You are Very helpful
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
September 25, 2017, 01:19:42 AM
 #8

MultiBit Classic is VERY old... And hasn't been supported for quite a while. It's possible that it isn't syncing properly anymore (I'm not 100% sure if it uses custom servers or not)...

On the plus side, exporting your keys from MBC is very easy... And you can then sweep/import the keys into your new wallet...

Under "tools", select the "export private keys" option... When you do, DONT set a password on the output file, otherwise you won't be able to open it and read the private keys as it will be encrypted:


As you want to send to Bittrex, I don't think you can import, so you'll have to setup a sweep transaction. You could use Electrum to do this...

Either setup a new Electrum wallet and select "Use public or private keys" when selecting the type of keystore and then import the private keys from MBC and then create a send transaction to send all your coins to Bittrex...

OR create a new wallet in Electrum... Doesn't matter what type and then use "wallet -> private keys -> sweep" and set the address to be your Bittrex deposit address...

Both options so effectively the same thing, but the first option will give you greater control over the fees etc.

SibaanQ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 25, 2017, 07:48:40 AM
 #9

Thank you very much. Again this is very helpful.
They stopped support in July 2017
I will study this and hope I can fix it with your suggestions.
I will let you know
Thanks again
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!