Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 03:27:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trouble Exporting from Multibit Classic to Electrum  (Read 878 times)
Birobi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 12:26:03 AM
 #1

Hi
I have read forums and advice from exporting private keys to Electrum.

I have Multibit Classic wallet that was stored on USB.  I generated a private key that I tried to import into Electrum but shows 0 BTC after it was done??

I must be doing something wrong.  Would appreciate any advice.

Cheers
B
1513481256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481256
Reply with quote  #2

1513481256
Report to moderator
1513481256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481256
Reply with quote  #2

1513481256
Report to moderator
1513481256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481256
Reply with quote  #2

1513481256
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513481256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481256
Reply with quote  #2

1513481256
Report to moderator
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 02:43:13 AM
 #2

The first thing to check is that the address(es) generated after you imported your private key(s) into Electrum are the same as the address(es) that you had in MultiBit Classic. If the address(es) are different, then you have imported the private keys for a different wallet.

Also, have you actually checked the address(es) from MBC on a block explorer like blockchain.info to see if they still contain BTC? It could be that the coins have already been spent and those addresses no longer contain coins, so that is why you get 0 balance. Does Electrum show transaction history?


Additionally, when you exported the keys from MBC, you need to make sure that you do not password protect the exported file and then you should have got a text file that listed all your keys in a format like this:

Quote
# KEEP YOUR PRIVATE KEYS SAFE !
# Anyone who can read this file can spend your bitcoin.
#
# Format:
#   <Base58 encoded private key>[<whitespace>[<key createdAt>]]
#
#   The Base58 encoded private keys are the same format as
#   produced by the Satoshi client/ sipa dumpprivkey utility.
#
#   Key createdAt is in UTC format as specified by ISO 8601
#   e.g: 2011-12-31T16:42:00Z . The century, 'T' and 'Z' are mandatory
#
KyRmVbFNN95UUKBzVVkzC3xqoR4k6rrTBCsBpTTcxZBZCQzzhjfT 2009-10-27T22:04:57Z
# End of private keys
You only want to copy and paste the actual key (highlighted in red above) into Electrum... do not copy the datetime stamp at the end of each key, or any of the lines that start with a '#'


Malharhak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
September 23, 2017, 06:44:55 AM
 #3

Hi
I have read forums and advice from exporting private keys to Electrum.

I have Multibit Classic wallet that was stored on USB.  I generated a private key that I tried to import into Electrum but shows 0 BTC after it was done??

I must be doing something wrong.  Would appreciate any advice.

Cheers
B

Did you let it load properly?
PaulBr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 11, 2017, 02:38:54 PM
 #4

Hi all ~ I'm hoping for some advice.  I've just tried to import a 52 character key into Electrum which I exported from Multibit Classic.  It looked like the one highlighted red in the above post and began with an L.

Electrum doesn't seem to recognise the key, the grey 'Next' button remains greyed out. 

Multibit has synchronised and is showing my Coin and I have typed as well as pasted the key into Electrum in case the software introduced some hidden characters.  I'm not sure where to go from here and would welcome any advise.

Another member who had problems reset the blockchain in Multibit several times and "finally got his bitcoin back", would this make any difference to the problem I'm experiencing ? Is there anything else I can try ?

thanks in advance,

PaulBr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 11, 2017, 08:13:13 PM
 #5

I've solved the problem with importing from Multibit Classic into Electrum.  The video that Multibit directs you too is incorrect for Electrum v3.x.  When Electrum is first run, you have to select 'Import Bitcoin Addresses' contrary to the guidance in the Youtube video. I spent all day Sunday trying to get it working as the video !!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!