Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:24:27 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin p2p Network Status Charts.  (Read 10173 times)
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
September 24, 2011, 08:12:01 PM
 #21

Starting to see a nice increase in version 0.4.0 usage.
Up to 405 at time of this post...



Note this chart only shows nodes that are allowing connections (i.e. not behind a firewall that is stopping incoming connections).

1481012667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012667
Reply with quote  #2

1481012667
Report to moderator
1481012667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012667
Reply with quote  #2

1481012667
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012667
Reply with quote  #2

1481012667
Report to moderator
1481012667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012667
Reply with quote  #2

1481012667
Report to moderator
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
September 25, 2011, 06:51:40 PM
 #22

I'd be very interested in some statistics on how long it takes transactions and blocks to propagate across the bitcoin network. Could you collect some data on these times? I.E. Measure when you receive a particular tx or block from different nodes, and track something like the 95% percentile of the delay.

Having good data on this (especially for blocks) is relevant to any discussion of changing the blocktime to less than the current 10 minutes.
It's not exactly what you're looking for, but the guy who runs this might be able to more easily add that information:
http://transactionradar.com/

Alex Thornton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 02:15:08 AM
 #23

I noticed that some of the countries tend to disappear and reappear on the list.

For example, I saw Vietnam (~90 nodes) and Nigeria (~30 nodes) disappear and then reappear a few hours later. Since they each have more than a few nodes, I doubt that everyone in the country is turning of their clients.

Is there a particular reason for this?
 
fornit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 989


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 04:16:46 PM
 #24

total number of nodes is steadily declining.  Cry

nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 09:54:52 PM
 #25

I noticed that some of the countries tend to disappear and reappear on the list.

For example, I saw Vietnam (~90 nodes) and Nigeria (~30 nodes) disappear and then reappear a few hours later. Since they each have more than a few nodes, I doubt that everyone in the country is turning of their clients.

Is there a particular reason for this?
 

There was a bug - when I sorted the countries by number of connection I removed duplicates! This issue is now fixed.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 09:57:33 PM
 #26


Had a corruption in the BerkDB that tracks the connections. I have changed code to be transactional so should not happen again.

I had a backup, but this had the corruptions in too (the number was steadily increasing!).

Unfortunately the database had to be deleted.

It will take 24hours before the stats are correct again. I will clean up the charts in a few days time.

Alex Thornton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 07:45:47 PM
 #27

Thanks for the update.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
October 16, 2011, 10:09:29 PM
 #28


Thought it was odd there were no version 5 clients.
It was odd! There was a typo in the command that generates the version charts. Now fixed. There are 28 running.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 09:55:29 PM
 #29

Sorry - just found another bug as you can see!

It had been running perfectly for 28 days since the last issue.

It purges IPs from the berkdb that have not connected for over 28 days. As you can see at about 21:10 last night the thread that updates the database tried to purge some old ip's for the 1st time and threw an exception that caused it to exit. I have now added another "catch" and is up and running again. As before will take 24 hours for the stats to be in line again.

nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 10:32:25 PM
 #30

Actually issue was that after the previous issue I made the database transactional, and never tested the delete process after this change. I now know that with Berk DB if the database is set to transactional you have to ensure you pass a transaction to the cursor when deleting!

I am starting to go off berkdb.
finway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
November 05, 2011, 02:19:32 AM
 #31

About listening nodes:

If one node's connections are full (can it be ) always, is it undetectable?


nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 05, 2011, 07:34:15 AM
 #32

It will be counted as a host, and listed in the country chart (as I will get an addr message from it).

But since I can not connect is will not be in the listening hosts or version charts.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 11:04:57 AM
 #33

Sorry half crashed again.

Thought it was stable now so turned off logging to save on costs! Have turned logging back on now.
Stats will be good again in 24hours.
EhVedadoOAnonimato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 01:15:49 PM
 #34

Should I consider that European Union means an aggregate of EU countries which are not already present on the list?
It's a bit confusing to see European Union with so many less nodes than many countries that are part of the Union...

PS: Great job by the way, thank you for such graphs. Smiley
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 02:49:21 PM
 #35

Should I consider that European Union means an aggregate of EU countries which are not already present on the list?
It's a bit confusing to see European Union with so many less nodes than many countries that are part of the Union...

PS: Great job by the way, thank you for such graphs. Smiley

I am not sure. The site uses this database:
http://software77.net/geo-ip/
to map the IP to a location. And that is what comes up for those IP addresses.
EhVedadoOAnonimato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 03:37:16 PM
 #36

And it seems the operators of that database aren't sure either. From their FAQ:

Quote
What does the Country code EU (European Union) mean?
The IP to country information in the database is provided 'as is' from the various registry sources. In some cases a country is only given as 'EU' which means it can be anywhere within the European union.

Maybe if you just move all EU IPs to Others, or change the description to "Unknown European Union" or something it would avoid confusions.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 10:34:11 PM
 #37


Just gone off EC2 micro edition! I think something went wrong with the blockchain on the server and it was trying to do some big re-org or something. Net result was that it hit the limit of the micro-edition cpu and was throttled to 2% of its normal power! Net result of this was it all locked up and no matter how many times I restarted it would not fix itself. In end deleted block chain, redownloaded and all was fine.

Need to find a different host. Anyone got any ideas?

Requirements:
1) about £10 a month
2) Min 512Meg Ram (more would be nice)

Do not mind if it reboots or gets restarted on occasion as am not running a 24-7 service!

Suggestions were:
http://www.giga-international.com/?show=vserver
Some bad review though, and looks too cheap to be true! Also do not like the set-up fees feel it is a bit of a con?

http://www.cheapvps.co.uk/plans-openvz.php
£84 for a year looks a great deal.
Simon Barber
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 05, 2011, 11:30:57 PM
 #38

Looks like the stat gathering has stopped again - anything to do to help keep it running? I can offer to host something and maintain it if necessary.
finway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
December 08, 2011, 01:45:42 AM
 #39

Scale is a problem.

muyuu
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 07:04:34 PM
 #40

It's completely reasonable that the number of nodes steadily decreases as only up-to-date rigs are anywhere near profitable.

Bitcoiners can usually do some numbers, and even when they can't it becomes obvious at some point that it's not worth it to keep your old rig mining.

GPG ID: 7294199D - OTC ID: muyuu (470F97EB7294199D)
forum tea fund BTC 1Epv7KHbNjYzqYVhTCgXWYhGSkv7BuKGEU DOGE DF1eTJ2vsxjHpmmbKu9jpqsrg5uyQLWksM CAP F1MzvmmHwP2UhFq82NQT7qDU9NQ8oQbtkQ
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!