Bitcoin Forum
June 15, 2021, 03:04:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [PROFITABLE CPU MINING] Mine from home / work! Tutorial  (Read 102022 times)
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 06:41:34 AM
Last edit: January 30, 2014, 04:00:29 PM by itsik78
 #1

So you've been told CPU mining isn't profitable? WRONG!
Depends on what coin you're mining and what miner you're using!

The most profitable coin/miner pair today is MemoryCoin/M7k yamMiner
On my i7-4770k I make around 24MMCs per day which are around $5-6 at full power.
Mid power ( 4 cores instead of 8 ) which allows you to work on the PC without even feeling a miner is on, will give you half of that.

This tutorial will explain how to setup the miner and what is the preferred computer setup for it.

There are 2 different options here:
1) Easiest - Windows users, with AES-NI supported CPUs (most newer CPUs) who want to mine at full power:
1a) Download MemoryCoin's wallet with the integrated miner (http://memorycoin.org/memorycoin-wallet-0-8-582/)
1b) Choose "Mining -> Launch Pool Miner"
1c) Sit back and let the PC work for you! You'll start getting MMCs directly to your wallet within a few hours

2) Mid-Advanced - Windows / Linux / Mac users who want more control:
2a) Download yam miner from here: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=2609.0
2b) Choose the right file carefully! If you don't know which file to choose, check your CPU model and google for "YOUR_CPU_MODEL microarchitecture" (for example: "i7 4770k microarchitecture"). CPU-WORLD.com is a good source for that info
2c) unzip the file and play with the settings after reading the readme.txt. Too much text for you? Short version:
  • Edit yam-mmc.cfg
  • Put your wallet address instead of the default one in all lines you see a wallet address
  • Change params if you want: av=0 means finetuning for best result (might take a few minutes but is usually worth it), m=total memory to use (1024 minimum and 1024 multiplications only), t=number of threads
  • Copy yam-mmc.cfg to the folder containing the yam "executable" and run yam -c yam-mmc.cfg
  • Watch the progress or watch for any errors and change the params if needed
That's it!
Easy, right?
You bought a computer (or even better - the boss bought it for you) - Don't let it sit idle. Turn it into a crypto-coin money making machine.

Enjoy.
Feedback and questions are welcome.
1623726294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623726294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623726294
Reply with quote  #2

1623726294
Report to moderator
1623726294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623726294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623726294
Reply with quote  #2

1623726294
Report to moderator
1623726294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623726294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623726294
Reply with quote  #2

1623726294
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1623726294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623726294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623726294
Reply with quote  #2

1623726294
Report to moderator
Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 255



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 07:38:05 AM
 #2

Mid power ( 4 cores instead of 8 ) which allows you to work on the PC without even feeling a miner is on, will give you half of that.
You will not lose income and the PC stays responsive if you use 7 cores and start yam in idle priority.

start /low /affinity 7f "yam -c yam-mmc.cfg"




  MOCKTAIL  -  THE  FIRST  SEMI-FUNGIBLE  TOKEN  ON  BSE 
        WEBSITE        WHITEPAPER        SMART CONTRACT        TWITTER        FACEBOOK        TELEGRAM        ANN


itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 07:39:58 AM
 #3

Mid power ( 4 cores instead of 8 ) which allows you to work on the PC without even feeling a miner is on, will give you half of that.
You will not lose income and the PC stays responsive if you use 7 cores and start yam in idle priority.

start /low /affinity 7f "yam -c yam-mmc.cfg"


Great tip!
Thanks!
imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 07:42:29 AM
 #4

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc

itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:20:33 AM
 #5

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc
Yep.
5 out of 6 is great if you mostly do "low computation" tasks.
And the new miner also lets you use the minimal 1024 ram with great performance so no problem there either.
imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:22:15 AM
 #6

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc
Yep.
5 out of 6 is great if you mostly do "low computation" tasks.
And the new miner also lets you use the minimal 1024 ram with great performance so no problem there either.


I can't get yam miner to work

itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:30:40 AM
 #7

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc
Yep.
5 out of 6 is great if you mostly do "low computation" tasks.
And the new miner also lets you use the minimal 1024 ram with great performance so no problem there either.


I can't get yam miner to work
Shoot your questions.
Tell me what's wrong and paste your yam-mmc.cfg
imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:43:15 AM
 #8

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc
Yep.
5 out of 6 is great if you mostly do "low computation" tasks.
And the new miner also lets you use the minimal 1024 ram with great performance so no problem there either.


I can't get yam miner to work
Shoot your questions.
Tell me what's wrong and paste your yam-mmc.cfg


I got the miner to work but how much ram should i use i have 8 gb

itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:46:44 AM
 #9

i always mine using 5 out of 6 cores let me use my computer at the same time and stream videos etc
Yep.
5 out of 6 is great if you mostly do "low computation" tasks.
And the new miner also lets you use the minimal 1024 ram with great performance so no problem there either.


I can't get yam miner to work
Shoot your questions.
Tell me what's wrong and paste your yam-mmc.cfg


I got the miner to work but how much ram should i use i have 8 gb
Depending on your needs and number of cores.
The ideal config is 1gb per thread, but it works well even with 1gb total.
The more you can spare, the merrier.
imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 08:47:44 AM
 #10

that what i though but for some reason it only using 1 gb in total

threads = 5
mining-params = mmc:av=1&aesni=on&m=1024
mine = getwork://imdabest239.123:1234567890@mmc.gpools.com:8080/mmc
compact-stats = 1
print-timestamps = 0

itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:14:03 AM
 #11

that what i though but for some reason it only using 1 gb in total

threads = 5
mining-params = mmc:av=1&aesni=on&m=1024
mine = getwork://imdabest239.123:1234567890@mmc.gpools.com:8080/mmc
compact-stats = 1
print-timestamps = 0

m=1024 means use 1024 in total Smiley
If you want more, put more here.
(m is not per thread, it's the total amount of memory to use)
imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:23:33 AM
 #12

that what i though but for some reason it only using 1 gb in total

threads = 5
mining-params = mmc:av=1&aesni=on&m=1024
mine = getwork://imdabest239.123:1234567890@mmc.gpools.com:8080/mmc
compact-stats = 1
print-timestamps = 0

m=1024 means use 1024 in total Smiley
If you want more, put more here.
(m is not per thread, it's the total amount of memory to use)

when i try to add more it crashes strange you can see i have enough ram


how to do a screen shot

imdabest239
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:36:13 AM
 #13

got it to work my dumbass forgot windows only lets you use 6 out of 8 gb ram

Ratters
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


CarTaxi: The 1st car towing platform on blockchain


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:40:16 AM
 #14

Hi,

Thanks for the tips, will this be faster than Minerd?

Rgds

Marc

  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 









        ███████████
      █████████████████
    ███████████████████████
  ███████████████████████████        ██████
  ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████        ████████████
      ▀█▀              ▀█▀        ██ ████████████████
    ████████████████████████████████
██████████████████
   ██                                ███████████████████
  ██  ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
     ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
       ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
       █████████████████████████████████████████████████
             ██████                          ██████
              ▀██▀                            ▀██▀



███
█████
█████
███████
███████
█████████
███████████
███████████
██████████████
██████████████

.
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:44:15 AM
 #15

got it to work my dumbass forgot windows only lets you use 6 out of 8 gb ram
Great! Smiley
Happy mining
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:45:30 AM
 #16

Hi,

Thanks for the tips, will this be faster than Minerd?

Rgds

Marc
Much faster, mainly if you have AES-NI... Try it out and compare.
Ratters
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


CarTaxi: The 1st car towing platform on blockchain


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 10:32:36 AM
 #17

Dont think i have AES, i run Athlons but ill give it a try.

Thanks

  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 









        ███████████
      █████████████████
    ███████████████████████
  ███████████████████████████        ██████
  ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████        ████████████
      ▀█▀              ▀█▀        ██ ████████████████
    ████████████████████████████████
██████████████████
   ██                                ███████████████████
  ██  ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
     ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
       ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
       █████████████████████████████████████████████████
             ██████                          ██████
              ▀██▀                            ▀██▀



███
█████
█████
███████
███████
█████████
███████████
███████████
██████████████
██████████████

.
Ratters
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


CarTaxi: The 1st car towing platform on blockchain


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 11:24:23 AM
 #18

Is this only for 64bit OS? is there a 32bit version?

Rgds

Ratters

  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 
██  ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██ 









        ███████████
      █████████████████
    ███████████████████████
  ███████████████████████████        ██████
  ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████        ████████████
      ▀█▀              ▀█▀        ██ ████████████████
    ████████████████████████████████
██████████████████
   ██                                ███████████████████
  ██  ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
     ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ███████████████████████████████████████████████████
       ██████████████████████████████████████████████████
       █████████████████████████████████████████████████
             ██████                          ██████
              ▀██▀                            ▀██▀



███
█████
█████
███████
███████
█████████
███████████
███████████
██████████████
██████████████

.
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 12:18:56 PM
 #19

Is this only for 64bit OS? is there a 32bit version?

Rgds

Ratters
There is a 32bit version as well.
Not the one integrated with the wallet.
You'll have to take route #2 and do it manually.
itsik78
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 100



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 03:17:53 PM
 #20

By the way, my personal recommendation is to place mmcpool on the top of the list (in case you're doing it manually) so your yam-mmc.cfg will look something like that:

Code:
threads = 4
mining-params = mmc:av=0&aesni=on&m=1024
mine = getwork://MQdsjzu6KMgqzMAZ7xhmiRbyzTukGcrDPN@work.mmcpool.com:80:8880:8881:8882:8883/mmc
mine = getwork://MQdsjzu6KMgqzMAZ7xhmiRbyzTukGcrDPN@mmcpool.1gh.com:8080:8081:8082:8083/mmc
#proxy = socks4a://127.0.0.1:9150
compact-stats = 0
print-timestamps = 1
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!