Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:11:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 users - Avg Mhash/s  (Read 7660 times)
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 05:07:25 PM
 #21

And they guys hardware looks like he's got it all mickey moused in the kitchen of his home

What's wrong with that and why it should affect quality of his preinstalled hdds? There is no reason to build rigs into well looking boxes; design does not what improve your hashrate.

Exactly, I've took as much crap of my cosmos S as I can to improve airflow into the case. I even have a desk fan in front of an open window blowing directly into the case, which shaved 20c of my 5970's.

I have plans for around august of this year to build an 8x 5970 system with triple PSU's. I will make a custom chassis to hold it all in my 46u rack. It's going to be quick cheap and dirty.
1481235112
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235112

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235112
Reply with quote  #2

1481235112
Report to moderator
1481235112
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235112

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235112
Reply with quote  #2

1481235112
Report to moderator
1481235112
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235112

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235112
Reply with quote  #2

1481235112
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
urizane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 09:46:03 PM
 #22

I have plans for around august of this year to build an 8x 5970 system with triple PSU's. I will make a custom chassis to hold it all in my 46u rack. It's going to be quick cheap and dirty.

Damn.  I guess cheap really is relative.
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 09:50:45 PM
 #23

I have plans for around august of this year to build an 8x 5970 system with triple PSU's. I will make a custom chassis to hold it all in my 46u rack. It's going to be quick cheap and dirty.

Damn.  I guess cheap really is relative.

I meant the case....the 5970's and subsystem are going to require many hours on the street corner  Kiss
Ownski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
March 17, 2011, 01:06:49 AM
 #24

I get over 9000 Mhash/s

Money is the oldest magic trick in the book.
ronaldmaustin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 07:45:13 AM
 #25

And they guys hardware looks like he's got it all mickey moused in the kitchen of his home

What's wrong with that and why it should affect quality of his preinstalled hdds? There is no reason to build rigs into well looking boxes; design does not what improve your hashrate.

It obviously doesn't affect the quality of his equipment, unless he makes a sandwich and spills mustard in it.  I agree there are many here that build systems in rack mounts without boxes, and those guys are often "state of the art".  It just appeared this guy was mickey mousing the thing and just getting started himself.  My impression was that he just figured out Bitcoin mining himself and is ready to start selling pre-loaded Linux drives.  It seems more simple to me to buy a hard drive, download ubuntu and go that route rather than buying something that may not work with his mobo, etc.  Then what?  The buyer is back here in a week debugging the whole thing.  Most people on here would be happy to get the guy started without his having to go that route.  I could be wrong.  I'll watch the video again now.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2011, 10:21:15 AM
 #26

It seems more simple to me to buy a hard drive, download ubuntu and go that route rather than buying something that may not work with his mobo, etc.

There is demand for Ghash contracts from people who don't want to run their own rigs. I don't see why there should not be a demand for preinstalled HDDs for people who don't want to play with Linux. Personally I enjoyed building my rig and learning the stuff around, but I started to not judge this kind of business, because 'we' are not 'they' Smiley.

ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 05:27:46 AM
 #27

I have one of my 5970's getting only 300Mhash per core.  Windows 7, once I figure out how to get it going in Ubuntu I'm going to try that.  Running Catalyst 10.10, tried the newest one too with no change.  Any thoughts?

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 05:47:34 AM
 #28

I have one of my 5970's getting only 300Mhash per core.  Windows 7, once I figure out how to get it going in Ubuntu I'm going to try that.  Running Catalyst 10.10, tried the newest one too with no change.  Any thoughts?

Is your 5970 clocked at 725 MHz? Are you using a miner that support the BFI_INT instruction? If not, then upgrade right away.

Just for reference I get 355 Mhash/sec per core on my 5970 which is clocked at 850 Mhz with 300 Mhz memory.

dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:11:59 AM
 #29

My 2x5970s are CF enabled @ 850/1000 gets about 1.24-1.28Ghash/s. Fans at 100%.
Downclock your memory to 500 and shave off a few degrees celsius without decreasing your hash rate.



3 x 5970 at stock clocks on ubuntu 9.10 w/ 10.9 drivers + 2.1 stream sdk. all run at roughly 78 degrees C. all poclbm miners.

1 x 5970 at 830 / 500 avg. temp: ~79C with AC running, ~83C without AC. phoenix 1.4 miner.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:45:38 AM
 #30

I have one of my 5970's getting only 300Mhash per core.  Windows 7, once I figure out how to get it going in Ubuntu I'm going to try that.  Running Catalyst 10.10, tried the newest one too with no change.  Any thoughts?

Is your 5970 clocked at 725 MHz? Are you using a miner that support the BFI_INT instruction? If not, then upgrade right away.

Just for reference I get 355 Mhash/sec per core on my 5970 which is clocked at 850 Mhz with 300 Mhz memory.

I am using poclbm - newest version so I should have BFI_INT.  I have not been able to figure out how to change to SDK 2.1 to see if that works better??  I have moved the memory clock down to 500mhz and cores up to 900, now getting just over 315Mhash.  Hopefully switching to Linux will do the trick.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 08:02:54 AM
 #31

I have one of my 5970's getting only 300Mhash per core.  Windows 7, once I figure out how to get it going in Ubuntu I'm going to try that.  Running Catalyst 10.10, tried the newest one too with no change.  Any thoughts?

Is your 5970 clocked at 725 MHz? Are you using a miner that support the BFI_INT instruction? If not, then upgrade right away.

Just for reference I get 355 Mhash/sec per core on my 5970 which is clocked at 850 Mhz with 300 Mhz memory.

I am using poclbm - newest version so I should have BFI_INT.  I have not been able to figure out how to change to SDK 2.1 to see if that works better??  I have moved the memory clock down to 500mhz and cores up to 900, now getting just over 315Mhash.  Hopefully switching to Linux will do the trick.

That seems totally odd. Even with 11.3 and SDK 2.4 (what I'm using now) I get 350 Mhash per core. There is something wrong with your setup for sure. You should be getting BETTER performance than me by maybe 10 to 20 Mhash..maybe more @ 900.

What drivers are you using now, and what arguments are you passing to poclbm? Try -v -w 128 -f 1 if dedicated miner and if multipurpose machine -v -w 128 -f 60


ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 10:06:57 AM
 #32

Thanks guys.  The extra arguments helped, I had read them before but it did not sink in to me that this would help me.

I am not getting 375Mhash per core now.  Still some tweaking to do but getting better one step at a time.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 10:14:36 AM
 #33

Thanks guys.  The extra arguments helped, I had read them before but it did not sink in to me that this would help me.

I am not getting 375Mhash per core now.  Still some tweaking to do but getting better one step at a time.

375 per core is excellent! Smiley Congrats. I bet you can get it even higher with a bit more overlocking. But remember to take in the power consumption into consideration.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 02:54:00 PM
 #34

Using Phoenix 1.4 and getting 365 per core on my pair of 5970's while clocked at 820/300.  Temps staying in the low 60's with fans set at 52%.

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
charliesheen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 05:02:14 PM
 #35

hardware ware is what you need to worry about with overclocking, i leave my stuff stock, it will last longer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j86pORrusUo

ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 06, 2011, 05:39:29 PM
 #36

I only need it to last long enough to pay for it's self in bitcoins.  Besides in all my many years of overclocking I don't believe I have ever killed any of my hardware.  The idea is I get them without having to buy them and have some computer parts left over.  Looks like I'm going to have to sit at 375 for now.  I tried overclocking higher but it started to cause crashes.  Waiting for RMA on my second card.  It will be interesting to compare what I get on that one in my Linux box...

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 06, 2011, 07:32:49 PM
 #37

I only need it to last long enough to pay for it's self in bitcoins.  Besides in all my many years of overclocking I don't believe I have ever killed any of my hardware.  The idea is I get them without having to buy them and have some computer parts left over.  Looks like I'm going to have to sit at 375 for now.  I tried overclocking higher but it started to cause crashes.  Waiting for RMA on my second card.  It will be interesting to compare what I get on that one in my Linux box...

lol, you sure you want them to last JUST long enough to pay for themselves..do you not instead want them to last until they pay for themselves and MUCH longer beyond that point Wink?

ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 06, 2011, 11:15:13 PM
 #38

Well yes I would like them to produce coins long after they are paid off.  However I do not expect the difficulty to allow cost effective production on current hardware for a very long time, these cards do use a good deal of power at full load.  At some point not all that far off it will be most cost effective to sell these to a gamer and buy new hardware to mine, assuming mining is still profitable.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 03:56:53 PM
 #39

Well yes I would like them to produce coins long after they are paid off.  However I do not expect the difficulty to allow cost effective production on current hardware for a very long time, these cards do use a good deal of power at full load.  At some point not all that far off it will be most cost effective to sell these to a gamer and buy new hardware to mine, assuming mining is still profitable.

Yeah I see your point. As long as ATI or other graphics card manufacturers can come up with more powerful cards that consumer the same or less watts for the same performance level then dedicated miners will have no choice but to upgrade to these cards. The thing is that there is no guarantee that future cards will be exceptionally powerful at mining. We could end up with a change in architecture that will spell the end of profitable mining on ATI hardware - ie ATI could make cards that suck at mining like Nvidia does. I dunno, but I think that by that point dedicated mining chips would be out and about being sold and snapped up by the hardcore dedicated miner. I for one plan to move on to ASICs and any other more efficient mining hardware platforms as they get released.

Kanti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 11:54:55 PM
 #40

375 Mhash per core, please tell me exactly how you did that Cheesy   I'm currently getting 349.9 per core on my 5970 @ 840 Mhz (500 Mhz RAM) using phoenix miner via GUIMiner v2011-06-14.  flags as follows:

VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=20 worksize=128

I don't see a real difference between an aggression level of 20 or 12

according to device manager my driver is 8.861.0.0
BIOS Version   012.013.000.002   
AMD Catalyst 11.6
SDK v2.1.0.0 (according to add remove programs)

I am still quite new to bitcoin, if I have used any flags incorrectly, or am using outdated/poorly optimized software combinations, please let me know. 
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!