Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:18:39 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIMiner Causing BSoD  (Read 1767 times)
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 11:03:36 AM
 #1

My friend wants me to join his TripleMiner pool, and he has me using GUIMiner....

I start mining using the default settings, and i only get about 10-14Mhash/sec...
He says it's low, so I click "Stop Mining"

maybe 3 seconds or so (for the most part, immediately) after i click stop mining, my computer crashes.
I have the memory dump if it helps anyone.
I am using Windows 7 Home Premium, and for the most part, it's a vanilla install (i've only had this computer for just about 1 month)

Upon logging in, I get this window.
Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
  BCCode: 116
  BCP1: FFFFFA800CAE9390
  BCP2: FFFFF8801388CFA4
  BCP3: FFFFFFFFC000009A
  BCP4: 0000000000000004
  OS Version: 6_1_7601
  Service Pack: 1_0
  Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
  C:\Windows\Minidump\092011-33914-01.dmp
  C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-71604-0.sysdata.xml

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

i would load up the dump file but windows seems to not want to let me look at it.... >.<

if anyone could help that would be great!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480853919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480853919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480853919
Reply with quote  #2

1480853919
Report to moderator
1480853919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480853919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480853919
Reply with quote  #2

1480853919
Report to moderator
NeonFlash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 11:38:49 AM
 #2

What are your hardware specs? Give more details about your Processor Speed, RAM, GPU, HDD. It would make it easier for others to help you out then.

Considering the hashing speed you mentioned, it does seem a lot low and looks like the system is a bit old. GUI Miner is going to put your system under a lot of stress, so you would want to make sure that appropriate cooling mechanism is in place as well.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 11:41:13 AM
 #3

You told us 0 info about your hardware, what do you expect, that we read your mind? Give us more details or your post is just spam.
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 08:01:50 PM
 #4

Sorry about not including the hardware.  Was late last night so I was kind of tired/annoyed it wasnt working.

and the system is not old.... i built it a month ago with brand new parts.
EDIT:

Here is the build I have.

(The parenthesis are how it's written on my newegg invoice.  A friend made this custom build for me)
both HDDs are SATA
  • HDD1: Hitachi 2TB HDD (HD 2T|HITACHI HDS5C3020ALA632 %)
  • HDD2:i think it's a Seagate 1TB (HD 1T|ST SATA6.0 32M ST31000524AS %)
  • GPU: nVidia GeForce GT 480 (VGA GALAXY|43GGS8HX3SPZ GT430 R)
  • CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1035T 2.6GHz (CPU AMD|PH II X6 1035T 2.6G AM3 %)
  • CPU fan: (CPU COOLER THERMALTAKE| A4022 RT)
  • Motherboard: (MB ASUS M4A88T-M AM3 R)
  • RAM: 8GB DDR3 (MEM 4Gx2|GSKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL)


thanks for any help!
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 08:52:56 PM
 #5

The system is very good but nvidia is bad for bitcoin mining.

You will have low mhash/s, but not so low. And no bsod too... so something is wrong. i think it's something related to drivers

Do you used new opencl miner or new cuda miner in guiminer? File->new miner->choose
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 11:55:41 PM
 #6

I'll take a look when I get home, out of the house right now.  Thanks for the help!

EDIT: I am pretty sure it was OpenCL
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 05:51:54 AM
 #7

CUDA are designed for nVidia GPUs, give it a try!

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 06:22:51 AM
 #8

good news is that it started and stopped fine.... however working out why its not connecting lol.  we shall see. stay tuned for updates! Smiley

Thanks for your help!

EDIT:
Bad news... extremely low hashing rate... topping out at 3Mhash/sec. 17MHash/sec after letting it run for a bit.

Is my gpu just not that good or is something else preventing it?

annelions
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 06:56:55 AM
 #9

I've just started, but I've got friends who've been mining before. They tell me that ATI is way, way better than nVidia for mining. FWIW, my quad-core computer with 8GB RAM and a cheapish ATI video card is getting 60-80Mhash/sec, while running Bitcoinplus as well, and the computer wasn't built with bitcoin in mind.
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 07:15:02 AM
 #10

yea my computer wasnt built for bitcoining as well...  the graphics card was bought as a bang for your buck type of deal.  came as a recommendation from the friend who built it as a good mid-range card.  Is 17MHash/sec expected? or is it low?  thats the main thing I am curious about.
annelions
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 07:21:09 AM
 #11

For an nVidia card, from what my friends have told me, that sounds about right. If you swap it with an ATI card in the future, you'll probably get (at least) 3-5x that.
rbear75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 10:26:30 AM
 #12

I'll let it run for the night and see whats up when I get up in the morning.

Thanks for your help. its not crashing anymore. (wish it would use more of my CPU)
I had been using BOINC from Berkeley to volunteer my computing power but this seems more of an investment then that was.

EDIT:

Okay... wtf... now I tried opening up my bitcoin client to get my wallet address.... annnnnd it keeps saying "Error loading blkindex.dat" ON A BRAND NEW INSTALL OF BITCOIN.... im at a loss of words on why its not working, when im freshly installing it....
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!