Bitcoin Forum
July 27, 2017, 07:03:23 PM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU Mining - Who will emerge Dominant?  (Read 5713 times)
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 08:42:24 PM
 #61

I'd be hard pressed to aim my miner at it otherwise Cheesy

Actually it's having issues, the reporting interval for the miner (this is on windows) appears to be one hash long.  It works correctly for a while, then starts scrolling like mad.  It can't keep up with itself (no scrolling 6x1000 lines per second) and produces squat.
It's only when pointed to Simplecoin that it does it too, strange stuff.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
1501182203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501182203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501182203
Reply with quote  #2

1501182203
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1501182203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501182203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501182203
Reply with quote  #2

1501182203
Report to moderator
1501182203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501182203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501182203
Reply with quote  #2

1501182203
Report to moderator
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 08:52:53 PM
 #62

I'd be hard pressed to aim my miner at it otherwise Cheesy

Actually it's having issues, the reporting interval for the miner (this is on windows) appears to be one hash long.  It works correctly for a while, then starts scrolling like mad.  It can't keep up with itself (no scrolling 6x1000 lines per second) and produces squat.
It's only when pointed to Simplecoin that it does it too, strange stuff.

Hmmmmmm... windows or linux ? Are you sure that you are running the most recent ("r3") minerd ?

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 09:04:25 PM
 #63

No matter what you say SC will always NOT be the first and will simply be an iteration of Tenebrix.

GPU hostility or better known as parallel computing hostility was tried and failed awhile back by cryptographers trying to come up with a hashing solution that couldn't be cracked by the likes of GPU's and FPGA's. Same principle applies here.

Works for me and rather than get greedy, I'll simply drop a single 5770 on it and rack up hella lot of coin. A single 5770 will compute like 30 Core i7-2600's  Grin

You know you're from the bay area when... Smiley

Mousepotato
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 09:12:24 PM
 #64

I'd be hard pressed to aim my miner at it otherwise Cheesy

Actually it's having issues, the reporting interval for the miner (this is on windows) appears to be one hash long.  It works correctly for a while, then starts scrolling like mad.  It can't keep up with itself (no scrolling 6x1000 lines per second) and produces squat.
It's only when pointed to Simplecoin that it does it too, strange stuff.

Hmmmmmm... windows or linux ? Are you sure that you are running the most recent ("r3") minerd ?

Win7, original minerd I think.  Figured out what it is, it doesn't like longpoll.
I'll try R3 if I can find it, new and improved!

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 09:41:17 PM
 #65

You can download win-pak with r3 in it from www.tenebrix.org

Minerd before r3 has a longpoll glitch

P.S.:
I know TBX offsite is a rather ugly mofo (will work on it), but that hardly justifies not checking it out Wink

I'd be hard pressed to aim my miner at it otherwise Cheesy

Actually it's having issues, the reporting interval for the miner (this is on windows) appears to be one hash long.  It works correctly for a while, then starts scrolling like mad.  It can't keep up with itself (no scrolling 6x1000 lines per second) and produces squat.
It's only when pointed to Simplecoin that it does it too, strange stuff.

Hmmmmmm... windows or linux ? Are you sure that you are running the most recent ("r3") minerd ?
Win7, original minerd I think.  Figured out what it is, it doesn't like longpoll.
I'll try R3 if I can find it, new and improved!


Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 04, 2011, 09:55:40 PM
 #66

Grabbed the pack in the current first post of the TBX thread, things are working nicely now.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2011, 11:52:47 PM
 #67

Just downloaded the R3 hopefully this time it will be smooth for all my computers.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:27:29 PM
 #68

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:55:32 PM
 #69

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 06:54:44 PM
 #70

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.
you think this will last long?

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 07:18:47 PM
 #71

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.
you think this will last long?

If not tenebrix some other CPU mining operation will take over.  As long as it costs barely nothing new to mine it, people will be in for it.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 02:43:07 PM
 #72

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.
I'd have to get a new motherboard
and for single-threaded applications it would be the same speed as my E8400 which has a 3ghz clock (so it might be actually faster in some cases)
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 07, 2011, 07:41:37 PM
 #73

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.
I'd have to get a new motherboard
and for single-threaded applications it would be the same speed as my E8400 which has a 3ghz clock (so it might be actually faster in some cases)

Yep, AMD sucks at single thread performance compared to Intel. If you are buying Phenom II now you are an idiot. Wait for Bulldozer fools !
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 11:18:59 PM
 #74

Dunno, it's still plenty profitable around here, and that's at $0.30/kWh...
Unless you have a P4 or pay like $1/kWh ... how on earth do you end up with a loss?

it would also be only barely profitable for me. similar electricity rate, additional power measured with wattmeter. the rig has only an athlon x2 240e.  Undecided


btw... have your released your tenebrix gpu miner to the public or are you planning to do so?

buy a 1055T used from overclock.net for $120, mine, profit.  it's only about an extra 100w per day.  1055Ts are the new 5850s.
I'd have to get a new motherboard
and for single-threaded applications it would be the same speed as my E8400 which has a 3ghz clock (so it might be actually faster in some cases)

Yep, AMD sucks at single thread performance compared to Intel. If you are buying Phenom II now you are an idiot. Wait for Bulldozer fools !
by the time it comes out the phenom might have already paid itself off Cheesy
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 11:46:46 PM
 #75

by the time it comes out the phenom might have already paid itself off Cheesy
Considering the rumored release date and vastly improved cache size and architectural improvements.....highly unlikely,Bulldozer FTW.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2011, 02:19:40 AM
 #76

I still find that using the current two CPU coins, after a certain period of time, my computer with the most cores tend to behave weirdly processing very few hashes extremely quickly, have to stop and restart, whereas those with few cores are more stable.  Wonder anyone having the same issues?
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:39:52 AM
 #77

I still find that using the current two CPU coins, after a certain period of time, my computer with the most cores tend to behave weirdly processing very few hashes extremely quickly, have to stop and restart, whereas those with few cores are more stable.  Wonder anyone having the same issues?
You know, it'd be simpler if you posted bug reports in easier to find places. Wink
This happens with low --scantime and is inherited from upstream cpuminer.
This commit should fix it: https://github.com/ArtForz/cpuminer/commit/99084f8be4de50789345c42ae1e56378496c2981

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:46:20 AM
 #78

 I haven't noticed any such thing,My processor is also overclocked by 1 Ghz and haven't noticed any issues after ~9 hours of cpu mining Tenebrix.I've been getting quite a lot proofs of work being done without issue.

Now if only I can get Solidcoin and Tenebrix via merged CPU-only mining this would be really quite profitable w/namecoin and BTC on GPUs,hehe.


edit:Looks like ArtForz got to your issue quicker.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:48:09 AM
 #79

Quote
Now if only I can get Solidcoin and Tenebrix via merged CPU-only mining this would be really quite profitable w/namecoin and BTC on GPUs,hehe.

That is what needs to happen ASAP ATM !!!
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2011, 02:54:49 AM
 #80

You guys code faster than my CPUs Smiley, thanks a million, but is there an official place where we can put in such reports? Cheers

I still find that using the current two CPU coins, after a certain period of time, my computer with the most cores tend to behave weirdly processing very few hashes extremely quickly, have to stop and restart, whereas those with few cores are more stable.  Wonder anyone having the same issues?
You know, it'd be simpler if you posted bug reports in easier to find places. Wink
This happens with low --scantime and is inherited from upstream cpuminer.
This commit should fix it: https://github.com/ArtForz/cpuminer/commit/99084f8be4de50789345c42ae1e56378496c2981
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!