Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:28:56 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon HD 58XX Series users get in here!  (Read 24547 times)
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2011, 07:09:45 AM
 #41

Ya...it vents heat in the case. Not sure if I have room in the case for one of those PCI coolers, but that's a good idea. Too late to crawl around to worry about it. Actually got the temp down to 77...all in a night's work. Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
1480904936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904936
Reply with quote  #2

1480904936
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480904936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904936
Reply with quote  #2

1480904936
Report to moderator
1480904936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904936
Reply with quote  #2

1480904936
Report to moderator
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 13, 2011, 09:28:30 AM
 #42

Ya...it vents heat in the case. Not sure if I have room in the case for one of those PCI coolers, but that's a good idea. Too late to crawl around to worry about it. Actually got the temp down to 77...all in a night's work. Tongue

77 at full load is pretty good Smiley If you can keep it at that you should be set to go.

phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 13, 2011, 09:48:10 AM
 #43

Moved the machine into another room, overclocked the core to 970 currently getting 360 MH/s and temps have been holding at 69c over night. First night of mining I got real lucky and woke up to 50 BTC. Second night, nothing at all. I'm thinking of hoping into a mining pool. Solo mining feels a bit meh.

slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2011, 04:17:11 PM
 #44

Moved the machine into another room, overclocked the core to 970 currently getting 360 MH/s and temps have been holding at 69c over night. First night of mining I got real lucky and woke up to 50 BTC. Second night, nothing at all. I'm thinking of hoping into a mining pool. Solo mining feels a bit meh.

I would. It will probably take you 9 or 10 days at this difficulty (on average) to find anything at that speed. A pool is the way to go.

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 12:56:57 AM
 #45

Moved the machine into another room, overclocked the core to 970 currently getting 360 MH/s and temps have been holding at 69c over night. First night of mining I got real lucky and woke up to 50 BTC. Second night, nothing at all. I'm thinking of hoping into a mining pool. Solo mining feels a bit meh.

I would. It will probably take you 9 or 10 days at this difficulty (on average) to find anything at that speed. A pool is the way to go.

I agree. At the current difficulty even with twice that hashing power it will take 19 days (95% probability) to find a block.

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 01:57:38 AM
 #46

Moved the machine into another room, overclocked the core to 970 currently getting 360 MH/s and temps have been holding at 69c over night. First night of mining I got real lucky and woke up to 50 BTC. Second night, nothing at all. I'm thinking of hoping into a mining pool. Solo mining feels a bit meh.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4292.msg85451#msg85451
Please check the above link & post your data there.
Thanks.
zzzd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 03:35:34 AM
 #47

When I run my 5870 even at stock settings overnight a few random red/green lines start flickering on the screen. They go away after a few mins of turning the miner off. Is this normal or is the card bad?
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 03:42:19 AM
 #48

2 things, one desktop lag. If running with -f1 flag.
second your TEMP is too high, run fan at 100% if u don't mind sound & don't want to burn card., but with out over clock, its rare.
zzzd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 03:46:53 AM
 #49

These lines show up even when the card is running at 60c overnight and memory is underclocked to 300.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 05:03:56 AM
 #50

2 things, one desktop lag. If running with -f1 flag.
second your TEMP is too high, run fan at 100% if u don't mind sound & don't want to burn card., but with out over clock, its rare.


69C is too high!? No way. I disagree. I'm sure others would too.

Elanzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 06:34:23 AM
 #51

These lines show up even when the card is running at 60c overnight and memory is underclocked to 300.

If you reduce the memory too much, it can cause graphics errors. My HD5870 cannot go under 425mhz memory without getting graphical glitches like you've mentioned. Sometimes after you set the 300mhz clock, then return the card to stock the glitches won't go away until you reboot as well.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 06:58:37 AM
 #52

These lines show up even when the card is running at 60c overnight and memory is underclocked to 300.

If you reduce the memory too much, it can cause graphics errors. My HD5870 cannot go under 425mhz memory without getting graphical glitches like you've mentioned. Sometimes after you set the 300mhz clock, then return the card to stock the glitches won't go away until you reboot as well.


Hmm, that's odd cause I run my card at 300 and I've noticed no graphical glitches whatsoever. Granted I did not try gaming at this mem clock nor will I. But you'd think if this was affecting the 5870 it should also affect the 5970 which is nothing more than two 5870s in CrossFire config.


zzzd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 07:17:37 AM
 #53

the lines show up at normal settings and when underclocked or overclocked. they seem to just show up when the card is at high usage nonstop for a few hours.
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 07:51:48 AM
 #54

I put an accelero on my card and never hit higher than 57C at full load.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 07:55:34 AM
 #55

I put an accelero on my card and never hit higher than 57C at full load.

Well yeah but that's one monster cooling solution. My 5970 has one of them..came stock. At full load the card sits at 68 C, and that's with the fan at only 36%!!! If I crank up the fan to 60 it lowers the temps to the 60 - 61 range for both cores...


dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 09:11:14 AM
 #56

2 things, one desktop lag. If running with -f1 flag.
second your TEMP is too high, run fan at 100% if u don't mind sound & don't want to burn card., but with out over clock, its rare.


I answered BEFORE he said about TEMP. If you want to HELP, GIVE SOLUTION, instead of replying EVERYONES post & finding fault in it.

69C is too high!? No way. I disagree. I'm sure others would too.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 09:23:53 AM
 #57

2 things, one desktop lag. If running with -f1 flag.
second your TEMP is too high, run fan at 100% if u don't mind sound & don't want to burn card., but with out over clock, its rare.


I answered BEFORE he said about TEMP. If you want to HELP, GIVE SOLUTION, instead of replying EVERYONES post & finding fault in it.

69C is too high!? No way. I disagree. I'm sure others would too.

If you paid attention carefully to what I posted you would realize that I AM and WAS giving solutions/suggestions.

Second what I think happened is I though your response was targetted at one of the people who posted having 77C or 69C temps thus my response.

Please quote the person to whom you're responding instead of blind posting. It really can prevent confusion.

rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 10:46:26 AM
 #58

Hmm, that's odd cause I run my card at 300 and I've noticed no graphical glitches whatsoever. Granted I did not try gaming at this mem clock nor will I. But you'd think if this was affecting the 5870 it should also affect the 5970 which is nothing more than two 5870s in CrossFire config.

Just because it happens to some cards doesn't mean it will happen to all (some cards overclock better, some underclock better). I get lines with 2 of my 5870s when I take the memory down to 300. It doesn't bother me at all though because it increases the hash rate and they are only used for mining with dummy plugs.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 10:52:33 AM
 #59

2 things, one desktop lag. If running with -f1 flag.
second your TEMP is too high, run fan at 100% if u don't mind sound & don't want to burn card., but with out over clock, its rare.


I answered BEFORE he said about TEMP. If you want to HELP, GIVE SOLUTION, instead of replying EVERYONES post & finding fault in it.

69C is too high!? No way. I disagree. I'm sure others would too.

If you paid attention carefully to what I posted you would realize that I AM and WAS giving solutions/suggestions.

Second what I think happened is I though your response was targetted at one of the people who posted having 77C or 69C temps thus my response.

Please quote the person to whom you're responding instead of blind posting. It really can prevent confusion.


You paying attention very carefully, Thats why you can able to reply like this way, since I replied to a post 2 hours before, then the very next post by zzzd after 2 hours of my reply, Instead of replying zzzd post, i confused & targeted some one else post.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 09:29:58 PM
 #60

Just thought I'd add if any of you guys are in the UK and looking for a cheap card ebuyer are now doing the xfx HD5830 xxx edition for £83. I've just ordered a couple Cheesy

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/263858
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!