Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2020, 09:27:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASIC block erupter cube dead on arrival it seems  (Read 675 times)
K.A.T
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 01, 2014, 10:13:22 AM
 #1

Hi,

I recently purchased an ASIC Erupter cube eBay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/271359712653?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

After connecting it to a power supply and jump starting, the ASIC status at the top of the page is showing all X

meaning dead. No O status at all. I contacted him for a replacement and waiting for reply...

It also arrived with loose pieces, I had to screw all heat sinks to the boards again and re-assemble the cube??!?!! Screws were falling inside the box !! 

Has any one faced this from this seller ?

Other solutions to double check ?
1603574838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603574838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603574838
Reply with quote  #2

1603574838
Report to moderator
1603574838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603574838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603574838
Reply with quote  #2

1603574838
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1603574838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603574838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603574838
Reply with quote  #2

1603574838
Report to moderator
1603574838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603574838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603574838
Reply with quote  #2

1603574838
Report to moderator
1603574838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603574838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603574838
Reply with quote  #2

1603574838
Report to moderator
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 01, 2014, 03:27:37 PM
Last edit: February 01, 2014, 03:48:34 PM by Gator-hex
 #2

Hi,

I recently purchased an ASIC Erupter cube eBay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/271359712653?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

After connecting it to a power supply and jump starting, the ASIC status at the top of the page is showing all X

meaning dead. No O status at all. I contacted him for a replacement and waiting for reply...

It also arrived with loose pieces, I had to screw all heat sinks to the boards again and re-assemble the cube??!?!! Screws were falling inside the box !!  

Has any one faced this from this seller ?

Other solutions to double check ?

Why on earth did you buy it in the first place? Did you not research how much power it uses!

Loose screws are common with this product and most sellers will tell you not to ignore a rattle and find the screws before switching it on.

Check the fuse isn't broken. If it is you can get them at a Car DIY store.
Some people manage to jump start them by removing the fuse, turning the PSU on, then replacing the fuse. There will be electrical sparks so be careful!
This is a problem caused by intelligent power supplies mistaking the high power draw from the miner as a fault.

At least if you paid with PayPal you can raise a dispute.

time2mine is a better seller..
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ASICminer-Block-Erupter-Cube-30-38-Gh-s-Bitcoin-Miner-/301085924234?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item461a1e9b8a

Better price

"US $429.99 In Stock ! Ships From USA"

Honest about the power

Quote
"ASICMiner cubes run 30-32gh/s(220-250 Watts) on low clock and ~38gh/s(320-350 Watts) on high clock. High clock is not guaranteed as it requires 320-350 watts over 2 6 pin pcie connectors, which not all PSUs can handle."

Warns about the screws

Quote
"------- IMPORTANT Cube Prep Upon Receipt ----------

It is imperative that you perform the following tasks upon receipt of your cube as some shifting has likely occurred during shipment.

1) Open the unit up and tighten the 4 heatsink screws on each blade. If there's a loose screw inside of the case, odds are it's missing from a heatsink. Don't ignore loose screws or throw them away!"


K.A.T
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 02, 2014, 07:49:03 AM
 #3


 I re-resembled the thing as it it was very loose and it runs an I cal log in to the control panel.

I will try another power supply and check. The seller has replied back asking to remote log in. I'll see if they can help.

Regards,,,
K.A.T
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 17, 2014, 10:14:02 AM
 #4



Good news ! Cheesy

I sent this back and got a full refund.  Cool

I found it is a lot cheaper in other places such Amazon.com. Possibly will not buy it. Not a reliable build as it seems....


Regards,,,
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
February 17, 2014, 03:35:34 PM
 #5

They're pretty rubbish units, and they're VERY fussy about the power supply they're used with. 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!