Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:24:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: WHy do people only buy ATIcards when NVIDA is somuch better?  (Read 10115 times)
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2011, 04:10:38 PM
 #81

Exactly n4l3hp
I have been running boinc and boinc like projects for more then a decade and still some ati run without any issue
Funny enough i have also one DFI nfi 4 expert sli which still is alive with a opteron 175 on it which is only used to run on milkway before i had enough of boinc for now. I think i sponsored them a pretty house by now so time to move on.

I must say the intel boards and compaqs are pretty sturdy as well, a few still running with an p2 and p3 on it in some dark corners of a factory hall and doing their work despite tons of dust piled up in it.
I have cleaned them a couple of times but lol those beasts keep running without a hitch Cheesy
That makes me wonder if the old ati cards will do the same Cheesy, the oldest is a ati radeon ve with 16 Mb which is still being used by a game junk for running older games which do no longer run on these super fast new cards

 
   
1481156679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156679
Reply with quote  #2

1481156679
Report to moderator
1481156679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156679
Reply with quote  #2

1481156679
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481156679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156679
Reply with quote  #2

1481156679
Report to moderator
1481156679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156679
Reply with quote  #2

1481156679
Report to moderator
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 06:01:00 PM
 #82

Okay seriously, It's not an "incredible hoop" to do this to fix "powerplay":
Run
Regedit
Ctrl+F->ULPS
Set all Enable_ulps(1)'s to 0's

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 06:04:37 PM
 #83

Okay seriously, It's not an "incredible hoop" to do this to fix "powerplay":
Run
Regedit
Ctrl+F->ULPS
Set all Enable_ulps(1)'s to 0's

However that merely disables low voltage mode.  Which is fine for 24/7 mining rigs but the entire point of ULPS was to reduce heat, noise, and power consumed when card is at idle.  If the solution is to turn it off that doesn't reflect well on AMD.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2011, 06:10:58 PM
 #84

Please OP, change the title to

"NVIDIA Vs. ATI fanboy arena."
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 06:24:44 PM
 #85

Okay seriously, It's not an "incredible hoop" to do this to fix "powerplay":
Run
Regedit
Ctrl+F->ULPS
Set all Enable_ulps(1)'s to 0's

However that merely disables low voltage mode.  Which is fine for 24/7 mining rigs but the entire point of ULPS was to reduce heat, noise, and power consumed when card is at idle.  If the solution is to turn it off that doesn't reflect well on AMD.

No? My cards Never change clocks after i've changed this(of course unless i tell them to) And i never play with my voltages anyways

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 02:03:26 AM
 #86

Okay seriously, It's not an "incredible hoop" to do this to fix "powerplay":
Run
Regedit
Ctrl+F->ULPS
Set all Enable_ulps(1)'s to 0's

I think ULPS and powerplay are two different things.

This post is from a while ago that I posted.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?s=b44704028293c434a2409d528e7af1db&p=2416625&postcount=58

Hard route to disable PP.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?s=b44704028293c434a2409d528e7af1db&t=117633
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 05:09:25 AM
 #87


Media buzzword for a function where the card switches gpu speeds on the fly for idle mode, video-only mode, etc. So it idles at like 150mhz, plays videos at 400mhz, runs games at 800mhz, crap like that.

Problem is that it automatically switches according to load, and some apps may only trigger the switch to high speed modes once they already stuttered for a while...

Thats not the worst part. Attach a second monitor and see what happens!

I often have two monitors, well, a monitor and a HDTV connected at the same time. Last month I had my dad checking car ads for 1-2 hours while I was playing Gradius V on PCSX2 on the other screen. Absolutely no problems experienced whatsoever, on a radeon 6950.

nVidia disables their variant of powerplay when you attach a second monitor. People bitch about high idle temps with two monitors. I guess rightly so, but it sure beats the unbearable screen tearing you have on AMD and the incredible hoops you have to jump through to try and disable powerplay. In the end I gave up and just used MSI afterburner to fix the clocks and have dual monitor be useful. Kinda ironic how AMD markets their cards for 6 way eyefinty but cant seem to make 2 monitors work.

AMD cards run at higher clocks in dual monitor mode as well.

Also, on my end the tearing is caused by the screens having different refresh rates and the card only syncing one of them. I get a lot of tearing too on one monitor when I have both screens on. I don't give a crap honestly cause I rarely use two monitors the same time, there's barely any point in it. I pretty much only do it when there are others using my computer at the same time.

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 06:35:43 AM
 #88

. Absolutely no problems experienced whatsoever, on a radeon 6950.

....

Also, on my end the tearing is caused by the screens having different refresh rates and the card only syncing one of them. I get a lot of tearing too on one monitor when I have both screens on.

Right. "No problems whatsoever" expect for horrific tearing. Which btw, isnt caused by the refresh rates. Fix your clocks and the tearing will go away.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 02:23:20 PM
 #89

. Absolutely no problems experienced whatsoever, on a radeon 6950.

....

Also, on my end the tearing is caused by the screens having different refresh rates and the card only syncing one of them. I get a lot of tearing too on one monitor when I have both screens on.

Right. "No problems whatsoever" expect for horrific tearing. Which btw, isnt caused by the refresh rates. Fix your clocks and the tearing will go away.

OWNED +0

Someone wanna show me what these "tears" are, I Know were not talking about Vsync tears here...
Are we talking about Skewed/Streching textures? Photos/Video please.


http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 02:29:48 PM
 #90

Someone wanna show me what these "tears" are, I Know were not talking about Vsync tears here...
Are we talking about Skewed/Streching textures? Photos/Video please.

My uber pwner mspaint skillz at work, :p. LOLz.
When the crap happens, where the orange box is, that forms with lines then goes away. The entire screen jumps madly. Of course on the actual screen, it ain't orange. It's about the same spot I get hit with it on my 2nd monitor.
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 05:44:22 PM
 #91

Well, I never got tears like that. Only semi-broken vsync.

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 06:59:02 PM
 #92

Someone wanna show me what these "tears" are, I Know were not talking about Vsync tears here...
Are we talking about Skewed/Streching textures? Photos/Video please.

Here is an example:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYExKJB3K84

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:24:36 PM
 #93

Someone wanna show me what these "tears" are, I Know were not talking about Vsync tears here...
Are we talking about Skewed/Streching textures? Photos/Video please.

Here is an example:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYExKJB3K84

Yup, exactly that...
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:49:03 PM
 #94

Someone wanna show me what these "tears" are, I Know were not talking about Vsync tears here...
Are we talking about Skewed/Streching textures? Photos/Video please.

Here is an example:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYExKJB3K84

Yup, exactly that...
EWWWW i've never seen that before in my life, and i went and plugged two monitors into my dual 6870's too see if it would happen...
Annnnnnnnnnd.
No. it did not. Qua?
So i went to eyefinity to see if it would exsist there, annnnnnnd. No. It'was not..
Perhaps it's due to me using two videocards in crossfire?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:52:42 PM
 #95

Could be because of crossfire. Do your cards clock all the way down to 150/300 MHz or thereabouts? The problem occurs because the cards clock up and down from their lowest speed to something barely faster, which it does when scrolling and stuff. The solution is fixing the clocks at a higher rate so powerplay doesnt adjust frequencies and voltages every time you scroll in a webpage, but CF may have done that for you.

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:59:24 PM
 #96

The solution is fixing the clocks at a higher rate so powerplay doesnt adjust frequencies and voltages every time you scroll in a webpage

That's the problem for me. 1040core & 300mem on card one, and 1015core & 600mem card two. Trixx cannot disable PP, MSIAfterburner can whether clocks are set high or not. Using trixx cuz msi afterburner cannot control voltages for my brand cards. I've recently swapped to trixx as it is cooler out, so upping voltage for better stability @ 1040core.

Edit:
Trying to keep memory at lowest for less power consumption.
RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 11:04:29 PM
 #97

Ya right

anyone care to explain the crash of this GOOD/beter nvida when closing gpu crunching

they might be better for  gamers but for miming they SUCK


Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 03:16:55 AM
 #98

Ya right

anyone care to explain the crash of this GOOD/beter nvida when closing gpu crunching

they might be better for  gamers but for miming they SUCK



Go do your homework.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
Heres a hint, Sp stands for Stream Processing Units

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Ashkelon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 05:39:51 PM
 #99


Out of all the time I've heard of counter strike, I've actually never played it. Is it really good?

Heretic! Burn him!

CS is great, although at this stage if you try playing you'll be going up against guys who have reflexes slightly faster than their own CPUs and you'll mostly be dead.


EDIT Going to play CSS now

dominus mysteria
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 05:53:00 PM
 #100


Out of all the time I've heard of counter strike, I've actually never played it. Is it really good?

Heretic! Burn him!

CS is great, although at this stage if you try playing you'll be going up against guys who have reflexes slightly faster than their own CPUs and you'll mostly be dead.


EDIT Going to play CSS now
+1
If you didnt play when it was the #1onlineFPS, Then your going to get killed, Alot, And you will be calling everyone a hacker.
Seriously.
Unless ofcourse you dont pay for the game and all you fight is noobs who dont know what a "scrim" is when you "come scrim me you pansy"

I score 46's on average,http://mindbluff.com/reaction.htm and i've got One Thousand One Hundred Fifty Seven Hours, Of gameplay on cs:s
If you cant score 35+ as your average, Dont even Bother playing cs:s

Also, I score 230's avrg on http://www.humanbenchmark.com/tests/reactiontime/index.php
We kick anyone with a latency above 180ms

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!