Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 03:47:49 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU Mining / Watts  (Read 67 times)
Deimos030
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 12


View Profile
July 26, 2018, 05:47:16 PM
 #1

Hello guys i have a question about GPU mining.

When i use coinwars to calculate the profit what does watts means? They want my max watts or what my graka runs or what ?

▰   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform   ▰
■▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬■
Github   -   Discord   -   Twitter   -   Telegram   -   Get Free Airdrop Now!
1539704869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539704869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539704869
Reply with quote  #2

1539704869
Report to moderator
1539704869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539704869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539704869
Reply with quote  #2

1539704869
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539704869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539704869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539704869
Reply with quote  #2

1539704869
Report to moderator
1539704869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539704869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539704869
Reply with quote  #2

1539704869
Report to moderator
1539704869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539704869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539704869
Reply with quote  #2

1539704869
Report to moderator
darkangel11
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1050


One of the world's leading Bitcoin-powered casinos


View Profile
July 26, 2018, 08:21:43 PM
 #2

I guess you're asking about "Power (Watts)" that you have to fill in order for the  calculator to work.
This is your wattage drawn from the wall. In other words the overall power consumption of the whole system. You can measure it by connecting the machine to a power meter.
Getting the specs won't help much in case of a GPU because you have to know how much the whole computer uses.

chulos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2018, 08:47:33 PM
 #3

Hello guys i have a question about GPU mining.

When i use coinwars to calculate the profit what does watts means? They want my max watts or what my graka runs or what ?
On coinwarz they want from you electricity consumption in watts, what it is the consumption of your entire computer assembly. What is - motherboard+cpu+ssd or hard disk + all other components that also have their own consumption. So, the whole rig or PC assembly in Watts. Of course the maximum power consumption /CPU,VGA, and so/.
coingeeks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2018, 09:47:17 PM
 #4

To add on to what @darkangel11 said;

You can run GPU-Z to get a rough estimate of power usage on your card(s). It's definitely not going to be exact, but should be relatively close.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2018, 11:04:33 PM
 #5

There are some calculator that you can use to estimate the daily earnings of the coin without touching and changing the power watt, use this calculator https://whattomine.com/ and click any card make sure to click a card that you had on your mining rig then put the amount of cards you have it calculate automatically the power wattage and hashrate and then edit the power cost per kw/h. and then you can see all listed profitable coins.

Velkro
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1001


<3 Vanity Addresses :)


View Profile
July 27, 2018, 12:37:35 AM
 #6

Hello guys i have a question about GPU mining.

When i use coinwars to calculate the profit what does watts means? They want my max watts or what my graka runs or what ?
I would bet they want your miners watt usage on average manner. Not peaks, not half work, but full time work, average usage of power.
You can always check other calculators there are many.

book1483
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 06:58:54 PM
 #7

The best thing to do is get a $20 watt meter from Amazon.
Deimos030
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 12


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 09:48:09 PM
 #8

i was a little confused because because my gpu was very hot mining vtc and normal mining xmr... but thats explain everything. Just bought a wattmeter from amazon.

Thanks a lot for your help will remember when i have some merits.

▰   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform   ▰
■▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬■
Github   -   Discord   -   Twitter   -   Telegram   -   Get Free Airdrop Now!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!