Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 02:50:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please help test: version 0.5 release candidate 1  (Read 5858 times)
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1124



View Profile
November 02, 2011, 05:20:30 PM
 #21

When I hover over the green checkmark in the bottom right corner, it tells me:
Code:
"Last received block was generated 54 second(s) ago".
If I go back to it 10 seconds later, it says the same, when I would expect it to say "67 seconds ago" or "1 minute ago".

I guess what the time is telling me is how much time elapsed between the block being generated and the block being received by my client, but that's not what the tooltip says.
Code:
"Last received block was generated 54 second(s) before it was received"
or
Code:
"Last received block was 54 second(s) old when it was received"
or even just
Code:
"Last received block was 54 second(s) old"
would be more accurate.  "Ago" means "before now".

Just-Dice                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   Play or Invest                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   1% House Edge
1534819854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534819854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534819854
Reply with quote  #2

1534819854
Report to moderator
1534819854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534819854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534819854
Reply with quote  #2

1534819854
Report to moderator
1534819854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534819854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534819854
Reply with quote  #2

1534819854
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534819854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534819854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534819854
Reply with quote  #2

1534819854
Report to moderator
1534819854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534819854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534819854
Reply with quote  #2

1534819854
Report to moderator
cm68jd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 04:34:45 AM
 #22

It looks great! The only problem is the horrible startup screen. There should be an option to disable that.
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 637
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 04, 2011, 11:04:38 AM
 #23

It looks great! The only problem is the horrible startup screen. There should be an option to disable that.

It could be better but it's a hundred times better than having nothing for more than one minute.
Caesium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 11:45:20 AM
 #24

Code:
"Last received block was generated 54 second(s) ago".

This may be a minor point, but "second(s)" looks SO ugly. It's a real pet peeve of mine about sites and programs that can't be bothered to clean this up.

Is it really so hard to do "%d second%s", x, (x != 1 ? "s" : "")

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1124



View Profile
November 04, 2011, 06:19:52 PM
 #25

Is it really so hard to do "%d second%s", x, (x != 1 ? "s" : "")

That's not hard, but it's not correct either.  The client currently supports 7 different languages.

http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qq/qq19-plurals.html talks about a better way to support plural forms in QT apps.

Just-Dice                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   Play or Invest                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   1% House Edge
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1124



View Profile
November 04, 2011, 06:26:22 PM
 #26

Is it really so hard to do "%d second%s", x, (x != 1 ? "s" : "")

That's not hard, but it's not correct either.  The client currently supports 7 different languages.

http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qq/qq19-plurals.html talks about a better way to support plural forms in QT apps.

It turns out that's exactly what the client is using.  The problem is that there's no English translation file.  That should be easy to provide.  I'll make a pull request.

Just-Dice                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   Play or Invest                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   1% House Edge
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1124



View Profile
November 04, 2011, 07:00:42 PM
 #27

It turns out that's exactly what the client is using.  The problem is that there's no English translation file.  That should be easy to provide.  I'll make a pull request.

Here's an English translation that makes the strings appear correctly:

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/606

Just-Dice                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   Play or Invest                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   1% House Edge
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 390
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 04, 2011, 10:37:08 PM
 #28

Client must be near a version 1.0 if bugs like this are being fixed.  Smiley
cm68jd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2011, 11:56:21 PM
 #29

It looks great! The only problem is the horrible startup screen. There should be an option to disable that.

It could be better but it's a hundred times better than having nothing for more than one minute.

Not really, because I start bitcoin on startup so now it needlessly takes over my screen for a minute when it could be started and minimizing itself to the system tray.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1124



View Profile
November 08, 2011, 10:54:10 AM
 #30

I found a way to make the release candidate crash:

1. use bitcoind to send to an address that's not in the address book
2. in the client, right click the greyed-out address in the 'address' column of the transactions tab
3. 'edit label'
4. the address field is blank - would be nice if it was populated automatically.  type or copy/paste the address in, and type a new label name
5. click 'ok' and get a segmentation fault

Just-Dice                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   Play or Invest                 ██             
          ██████████         
      ██████████████████     
  ██████████████████████████ 
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████   
        ██████████████       
            ██████           
   1% House Edge
mndrix
Michael Hendricks
VIP
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 447
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 03:16:06 PM
 #31

I finally managed to build from source on OS X 10.6.8.  I had to change the architecture from i386 to x86_64 otherwise I got linking errors against the libraries MacPorts built.

Anyway, the new client is very nice.  I especially liked the progress bar when downloading the blockchain.  That'll be great for first time users.  The client stopped downloading blocks a few times (while still thousands short of the latest block), but restarting the client got it going again.  I've seen the same behavior in the old client too.

My only complaint about the new interface is for receiving coins.  In the old interface, my receiving address was at the top of the client.  To get a new address, I just clicked Copy.  In the new interface, I have to switch to the Receive Coins tab, click New Address, click OK, click Copy to Clipboard.  That's 4 clicks versus 1 before.  I don't think it's any reason to delay the release, but it would be nice to have a more streamlined UI for a common operation like receiving coins at a brand new address.

Thank you to all involved with the new UI.  That even I could build it from source suggests we'll have more contributors going forward.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!