Bitcoin Forum
March 23, 2019, 09:56:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: way to use all 8GB VRAM which is half disabled on P104-100 card  (Read 742 times)
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2019, 05:20:02 PM
Last edit: March 14, 2019, 01:36:47 PM by asukahan
 #1

upd. solution found: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208828/208828 thanks darkneorus!

use nvflash to flash your card which is not asus or gigabyte, you'll get all 8GB working on board.


anyone knows how to open all 8GB VRAM on P104-100 to mine Grin31?

it should be done with bios modding.

https://i.imgur.com/FOiWLxd.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/iWl7ibt.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/M7Gu0MJ.jpg
1553378217
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553378217

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553378217
Reply with quote  #2

1553378217
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1553378217
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553378217

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553378217
Reply with quote  #2

1553378217
Report to moderator
socks435
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1013

- God Bless US -


View Profile
February 24, 2019, 05:52:18 PM
 #2

No it won't work I tried my gtx 1070 8gb don't work on c31 to mine grincoin.

I tested to mine on gtx 1080ti it works fine mining with c31.

Why not use the bminer the latest version I heard that it works 8gb cards with this miner here is the official thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2519271.2540

- Useless FPGA no one will share bitstream which makes more profit than public bitstream. -
jadefalke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1396
Merit: 1013


View Profile
February 27, 2019, 09:43:07 AM
 #3

anyone knows how to open all 8GB VRAM on P104-100 to mine Grin31?

it should be done with bios modding.





first of all P104-100 typically have only 4 GB of Ram.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀

Bitrated user: jadefalke.
darkneorus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 27, 2019, 08:58:35 PM
 #4

first of all P104-100 typically have only 4 GB of Ram.
4 GBs are available, but actually there are 8 GBs soldered on board.
P00P135
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 110


View Profile
February 28, 2019, 10:07:18 AM
 #5

first of all P104-100 typically have only 4 GB of Ram.
4 GBs are available, but actually there are 8 GBs soldered on board.

So you think they were all suppose to be 8GB boards but some of them were defective so they just disabled 4GB and there must be a magical way to enable the rest of the RAM?  Roll Eyes
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 28, 2019, 01:44:53 PM
 #6

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.
Felis777
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2019, 10:52:44 AM
 #7

actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

can't you get that new bios from your friend and flash it yourself with nvflash?
P00P135
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 110


View Profile
March 01, 2019, 11:13:47 AM
 #8

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2019, 07:11:57 AM
 #9

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.

lmfao, My friend bought the service from local dealer and the card need to be posted to the dealer and post back. in public domain, even TechPowerUp doesn't have any 8GB vbios of P104, and Btalk is the best bbs to ask ppl for help about mining. you even dont know how hard this problem is before insulting ppl, so stfu.

P.S. I've already got the VBios for P104, any brand without ASUS and GIGABYTE can open all 8GB mem I'll share it on TechPowerUp and give a link later.
darkneorus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 13, 2019, 12:21:15 PM
Last edit: March 13, 2019, 10:00:17 PM by darkneorus
 #10

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.

lmfao, My friend bought the service from local dealer and the card need to be posted to the dealer and post back. in public domain, even TechPowerUp doesn't have any 8GB vbios of P104, and Btalk is the best bbs to ask ppl for help about mining. you even dont know how hard this problem is before insulting ppl, so stfu.

P.S. I've already got the VBios for P104, any brand without ASUS and GIGABYTE can open all 8GB mem I'll share it on TechPowerUp and give a link later.
wow. share the details, please. thank you Smiley

upd. there is a 8 GB vbios on techpowerup - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208828/208828.
flashed that file to my Palit P104-100s - and it's working, 8 GBs of RAM became available.
but for some reason with this vbios the card starts to throttle itself with soft power cap at 30-40 W, despite showing correct 180W power limit in nvidia-smi output. so overall performance is lower.
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2019, 12:08:47 PM
 #11

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.

lmfao, My friend bought the service from local dealer and the card need to be posted to the dealer and post back. in public domain, even TechPowerUp doesn't have any 8GB vbios of P104, and Btalk is the best bbs to ask ppl for help about mining. you even dont know how hard this problem is before insulting ppl, so stfu.

P.S. I've already got the VBios for P104, any brand without ASUS and GIGABYTE can open all 8GB mem I'll share it on TechPowerUp and give a link later.
wow. share the details, please. thank you Smiley

upd. there is a 8 GB vbios on techpowerup - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208828/208828.
flashed that file to my Palit P104-100s - and it's working, 8 GBs of RAM became available.
but for some reason with this vbios the card starts to throttle itself with soft power cap at 30-40 W, despite showing correct 180W power limit in nvidia-smi output. so overall performance is lower.

cheers m8, i'm currently using HiveOS, which shows no diff with normal 4GB ver. I'll use a hardware power meter to find out how much more power it is using. thx a lot.
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2019, 12:37:22 PM
Last edit: March 14, 2019, 12:49:20 PM by asukahan
 #12

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.

lmfao, My friend bought the service from local dealer and the card need to be posted to the dealer and post back. in public domain, even TechPowerUp doesn't have any 8GB vbios of P104, and Btalk is the best bbs to ask ppl for help about mining. you even dont know how hard this problem is before insulting ppl, so stfu.

P.S. I've already got the VBios for P104, any brand without ASUS and GIGABYTE can open all 8GB mem I'll share it on TechPowerUp and give a link later.
wow. share the details, please. thank you Smiley

upd. there is a 8 GB vbios on techpowerup - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208828/208828.
flashed that file to my Palit P104-100s - and it's working, 8 GBs of RAM became available.
but for some reason with this vbios the card starts to throttle itself with soft power cap at 30-40 W, despite showing correct 180W power limit in nvidia-smi output. so overall performance is lower.

m8, I downloaded the rom you provided but with nvflash on linux, it says nothing changes to my current galaxy P104, did you use windows nvflash? just a nvflash 208828.rom worked? Just want to check this bios to check which works better.

upd. done with parameter -6 after nvflash.
fanatic26_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 113


View Profile
March 14, 2019, 03:26:21 PM
 #13

You guys realize grin31 is meant for ASICs and not GPUs right? Grin29 is specifically for GPUs....
Atrixis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2019, 08:59:18 PM
 #14

have same solution for p102-100?
octominer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 8


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2019, 06:12:36 AM
 #15

Yes, would be interesting to know if it's possible to unlock 10GB of memory on the P102 GPU?
biospb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2019, 11:12:28 PM
 #16

just google the board layout and u'll find the answer.
actually I have 148 P104s and my friend has done his upgrade from 4 to 8GB with posting his cards to flash. since I'm a CS student I want to find the way to flash my own.

So being a "computer science student" you want to ask other people on the internet how to do it instead of your friend that has already done it?  Pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.

lmfao, My friend bought the service from local dealer and the card need to be posted to the dealer and post back. in public domain, even TechPowerUp doesn't have any 8GB vbios of P104, and Btalk is the best bbs to ask ppl for help about mining. you even dont know how hard this problem is before insulting ppl, so stfu.

P.S. I've already got the VBios for P104, any brand without ASUS and GIGABYTE can open all 8GB mem I'll share it on TechPowerUp and give a link later.

why not just dump from your friends gpu using nvflash?

and btw, what brand gpus he has?
Atrixis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2019, 11:09:10 AM
 #17

any idea about p102-100 ??
KiparisD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 324
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 22, 2019, 12:57:34 PM
 #18

P102 uses 10 memory banks *512MB, so no solution for 102  Wink

   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform  
▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬
Github    -    Discord    -    Twitter    -    Telegram    -    Airdrop to ETH holders
Atrixis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2019, 02:41:51 PM
 #19

P102 uses 10 memory banks *512MB, so no solution for 102  Wink

rly? https://www.micron.com/products/graphics-memory/gddr5x/part-catalog?Value=8Gb&Id={826DD0CE-31A2-43CD-AA36-E65D0DB21D31}

only one type banks exists - 8gbits -1gbyte
asukahan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
Today at 02:13:49 PM
 #20


m8 do u have the pcb layout image of P102? we should confirm it has spare vram on it first.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!