Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:39:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with Business Machines  (Read 1956 times)
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 05:18:02 AM
 #1

I have 5 office machines at various locations that are rarely used but powered up ALL the time.  Each has 1 pci slot available.

Can I throw a 5850 in each of them and let them mine in the background?

And are ATI RADEON 5850 1GB PCI-EXPRESS DUAL DVI VIDEO CARD a good choice for this?
1480772370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772370
Reply with quote  #2

1480772370
Report to moderator
1480772370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772370
Reply with quote  #2

1480772370
Report to moderator
1480772370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772370
Reply with quote  #2

1480772370
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772370
Reply with quote  #2

1480772370
Report to moderator
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 08:41:42 AM
 #2

Maybe you *can* (tell us the motherboard model so we can check the PCI-E slot types), but *should* you? You didn't say if you pay for the electricity used or if you have permission from the bill payer. If you don't get permission, it's stealing. You will get caught, get fired or worse and it's not worth it.
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 05:08:34 PM
 #3

Thanks for the help.  I did not build these machines and I can't even tell who made the board or its specs.  The slot is labeled, "PCIE16X". 

These are new, inexpensive machines from staples. 

It is my company, my machines, my electric bill so we are legit there.  I know at current levels this may not be profitable but I believe bitcoins will rise in value soon.  Also, it give me a tax benefit on the business side and lets me move value out of the company so I would like to do it if I can. 

All machines are running window 7 and I've installed Diablo Miner on the machines already.  They mine fine off the CPU of course it is ridiculously low hash rates. 
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 06:22:07 PM
 #4

5850 is a good choice

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 11:13:05 PM
 #5

make sure to use a miner like cg miner which can lower the memory speed alot to keep the cards cooler
because you will notice the extreme heat coming from them
and i would watch them closely for some time before they overheat
because business machine models are not the best cooled cases

ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 09:52:06 AM
 #6

The slot is labeled, "PCIE16X". 

You should be fine with it.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 890

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 03:07:21 PM
 #7

make sure to use a miner like cg miner which can lower the memory speed alot to keep the cards cooler
because you will notice the extreme heat coming from them
and i would watch them closely for some time before they overheat
because business machine models are not the best cooled cases

+1. cgminer could automatically lower the core clocks too if heat becomes an issue.

I would also check the PSUs in the rigs, OEM stuff from staples may or may not be up to the task of powering 5850s 24/7. the 5850 needs 2 x 6 pin PEG connectors. if the PSU lacks them they may come with the cards, or at least one should.

be prepared for some noise though heh.
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 06:29:57 PM
 #8

Thanks everyone, I'm going to give it a shot for fun!
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 07:31:13 PM
 #9

office computers rarely ship with a psu equiped to handle a 5830 or 5850 you may be in for a new power supply

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 07:56:53 PM
 #10

How strong of a power supply is needed?
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 08:06:10 PM
 #11

How strong of a power supply is needed?

That depends on the age of the machine (a pentium 4 is also very demanding) but for a single 58xx card usually a 400-500 watt psu has a sufficently sized 12v rail, one like this is on the lower end of the spectrum it would handle a single 58xx or a pair of 57xx without too much trouble http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182202

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 15, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
 #12

Thanks
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
October 18, 2011, 01:16:40 PM
 #13

How strong of a power supply is needed?

That depends on the age of the machine (a pentium 4 is also very demanding) but for a single 58xx card usually a 400-500 watt psu has a sufficently sized 12v rail, one like this is on the lower end of the spectrum it would handle a single 58xx or a pair of 57xx without too much trouble http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182202

Be careful with PSU: I've recently bought a 650W one for one 5850 and it gave most of the power to the 5V, 3.3V lines and only a small fraction to 12V. So it was useless for my mining purposes.

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2011, 10:47:59 AM
 #14

How strong of a power supply is needed?

That depends on the age of the machine (a pentium 4 is also very demanding) but for a single 58xx card usually a 400-500 watt psu has a sufficently sized 12v rail, one like this is on the lower end of the spectrum it would handle a single 58xx or a pair of 57xx without too much trouble http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182202

Be careful with PSU: I've recently bought a 650W one for one 5850 and it gave most of the power to the 5V, 3.3V lines and only a small fraction to 12V. So it was useless for my mining purposes.
Now this is what i found out myself with a brand new enermax 530w 85+, would you believe it can not handle 2 low power cards in a low power consuming machine.. By low power i mean a 75 w gt440 and a 116 w gts450
It simply can not handle the load (the system without the cards uses 106w on his internal gpu)
Every time i add the gt440 the system began to crash and constant went into bleu screens, with power failure messages on the cpu.
I put in my old trusty ocz 700w and no more crashes or problems at all, so somehow it seems that the powersupply are not really giving the power they should, ofcourse i would like to use the high efficient psu because the old power supply  probably consumes much more power to give a similar output. So for me enermax is not a good choice anymore
Especially since the shop returned the supply to me stating there was nothing wrong with it and send me a bill for 65 euro testing costs.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 12:33:21 AM
 #15

How strong of a power supply is needed?

That depends on the age of the machine (a pentium 4 is also very demanding) but for a single 58xx card usually a 400-500 watt psu has a sufficently sized 12v rail, one like this is on the lower end of the spectrum it would handle a single 58xx or a pair of 57xx without too much trouble http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182202

Be careful with PSU: I've recently bought a 650W one for one 5850 and it gave most of the power to the 5V, 3.3V lines and only a small fraction to 12V. So it was useless for my mining purposes.
Now this is what i found out myself with a brand new enermax 530w 85+, would you believe it can not handle 2 low power cards in a low power consuming machine.. By low power i mean a 75 w gt440 and a 116 w gts450
It simply can not handle the load (the system without the cards uses 106w on his internal gpu)
Every time i add the gt440 the system began to crash and constant went into bleu screens, with power failure messages on the cpu.
I put in my old trusty ocz 700w and no more crashes or problems at all, so somehow it seems that the powersupply are not really giving the power they should, ofcourse i would like to use the high efficient psu because the old power supply  probably consumes much more power to give a similar output. So for me enermax is not a good choice anymore
Especially since the shop returned the supply to me stating there was nothing wrong with it and send me a bill for 65 euro testing costs.

You always absolutely always need to check the rail configuration before buying a power supply, for mining look for single rail power supplies and make sure the majority of the capacity is on the 12v not 5v rails. older designs will still have the majority of their amperage on the 5v rail

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
kislam
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 23, 2011, 04:17:41 AM
 #16

In my experience with Windows 7 machines, i got the best hashrates from phoenix miner (tried everything from poclbm, cgminer, diablo etc.).

Recently switched to ubuntu linux and boy did that make a difference in stability! i went with the ubuntu 10.4 LTS which is extremely stable and gives me almost 0 rejects on slush's pool. in windows 7 it used to be 2 to 3 %

Getting linux mining up and running is a lot of work, mind you, but totally worth it.

1PMHA7hyqqbcCbjMfwvKT4xEZ81EYasJze
pinarphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 11:14:44 PM
 #17

PSU on my machines is 110w and there is absolutely NO WAY the cards will fit onto the MB! 

Oh, well.   

Build from scratch!
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 25, 2011, 01:00:10 AM
 #18

PSU on my machines is 110w and there is absolutely NO WAY the cards will fit onto the MB! 

Oh, well.   

Build from scratch!

110w? sounds like an atom or celeron based machine

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!