Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2019, 02:03:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE] GridSeed 5-Chip USB, Blade & Black Miner Support/Tuning  (Read 307633 times)
rrob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 12:21:34 AM
 #1201

Anyone able to get cgminer to work with blades on windows to detect all of them every time?  Plug in  one by one trick doesnt always work
1563458636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563458636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563458636
Reply with quote  #2

1563458636
Report to moderator
1563458636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563458636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563458636
Reply with quote  #2

1563458636
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563458636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563458636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563458636
Reply with quote  #2

1563458636
Report to moderator
1563458636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563458636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563458636
Reply with quote  #2

1563458636
Report to moderator
1563458636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563458636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563458636
Reply with quote  #2

1563458636
Report to moderator
csmflynt3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 01:20:10 AM
 #1202

Working just fine with 2 instances and I am seeing significant hashrate increase due to the auto tune feature (very nice) although it seems that 838 is probably the best best with the blades. Is there a list of available commands? I really just want to see what pool I am currently connected to if that is possible with cpuminer. I like the cgminer/bfgminer interface , but this new cpuminer is superior in performance.

BTC:1PRRFbgyBCDwg11HQvUnc2jV6QyYQdymrc
gtraah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 03:50:12 AM
 #1203

Can someone compile me a windows version of https://github.com/jmordica/cgminer-gc3355 to test?

PLEASE if someone can do this it would be great, are there fixes??? I am going crazy here ... Something is not right, my pool hashrate is now less than half of the power of the gridseeds... I am using Cgminer I have win 8 64 bit I have 2 powered hubs when I was using 1 powered hub it all seemed fine but when I chucked another powere hub into the mix All went down hill It is VERY dissapointing.

I do not know how to compile a windows version i dont understand why its not compiled it for windows at the time of fininshing

EDIT: wait a minute how do we know this is the latest version, why does it show the files on there as 2 months ago?

gtraah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 03:58:46 AM
 #1204

Someone read the article about removing the thermal pad and put the paste in order to have better overclock?  It's this one: http://gridseed-blog.com/gridseed-overclocking-1000-mhz-without-voltmod/

Well, I suggest to avoid it because as I've thought the 5 chips and some others component aren't perfectly on the same plane, so the result is that one or more chips will not be even in contact with the thermal paste...WATCH OUT!

You can cleary see from this photo:


I've evenly tightened the screws more that one time but still there is a gap on most of the chips, in this case the U20 6pin chip is the culprit, it's a bit more high than other components so the heatsink surface touch only that chip.

I knew the pasty mod of Zig's was totally unworkable! There in your picture, is the proof!
Use the factory pads. They work fine! Simply torque all 4 screws evenly and snugly.
My miners all have factory pads on them and they all work perfectly!

Wasn't Zigs mod the R46 Pads, I thought Many people said to use thermal paste not sure it was just zig
gtraah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 04:12:44 AM
 #1205


And yes, as maxzilla pointed out, it doesn't go back to check the previous pool if the current pool is working.

I dont know why people have not developed On top of Cgminer? I mean it already has the awesome interface, It has the perfect failover system, it has easy access and use and much clearer view than cpu miner... It has individual local hash rates as well as Getwork Failure, HW errors Total and for each miner....

All it needs is someone to make it so you can have interactive startup so you can have all your miners plugged in and when you start cgminer thet all start, not important but better, and you can add the autotune feauture, I mean plenty of the Cgminer forks already have this for the GPU version.
Mr. Jinx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 07:20:06 AM
 #1206

I dont know why people have not developed On top of Cgminer?
What do you mean? There are plenty forks of cgminer that support gridseed.
However, cgminer is not running very stable for most people (correct me if I'm wrong here).

The most popular cgminer forks are from dtbartle (https://github.com/dtbartle/cgminer-gc3355) and girnyau (https://github.com/girnyau/cgminer-gc3355).
If you search you will also find Windows binaries for these.


Mr. Jinx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 07:27:55 AM
 #1207

Someone read the article about removing the thermal pad and put the paste in order to have better overclock?  It's this one: http://gridseed-blog.com/gridseed-overclocking-1000-mhz-without-voltmod/
Shocked They didn't say you should remove the pads. Just use thermal paste on the chips to get EXTRA contact with the thermal pads.
By removing them you would shorten some components.

ps: Opening a pod / device is not good for the thermal pads. The pads will be damaged a little after opening, which is not good for heat transfer. Best thing would be to use new thermal pads + paste, but then again, is it really necessary for 10W?
gtraah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:36:16 AM
 #1208

Someone read the article about removing the thermal pad and put the paste in order to have better overclock?  It's this one: http://gridseed-blog.com/gridseed-overclocking-1000-mhz-without-voltmod/
Shocked They didn't say you should remove the pads. Just use thermal paste on the chips to get EXTRA contact with the thermal pads.
By removing them you would shorten some components.

ps: Opening a pod / device is not good for the thermal pads. The pads will be damaged a little after opening, which is not good for heat transfer. Best thing would be to use new thermal pads + paste, but then again, is it really necessary for 10W?

Exactly right it is not necessary... Only if you are volt modding
maxzilla
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:53:40 AM
 #1209

Someone read the article about removing the thermal pad and put the paste in order to have better overclock?  It's this one: http://gridseed-blog.com/gridseed-overclocking-1000-mhz-without-voltmod/
Shocked They didn't say you should remove the pads. Just use thermal paste on the chips to get EXTRA contact with the thermal pads.
By removing them you would shorten some components.

ps: Opening a pod / device is not good for the thermal pads. The pads will be damaged a little after opening, which is not good for heat transfer. Best thing would be to use new thermal pads + paste, but then again, is it really necessary for 10W?

Exactly right it is not necessary... Only if you are volt modding

If you like cgminer, then try BFGMiner instead (made by the same devs and looks and can be configured exactly the same way), there is a windows build 3.99.0, which runs good

http://cryptomining-blog.com/1883-download-the-latest-bfgminer-3-99-0-for-windows-with-gridseed-asic-support/
Kergekoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:59:25 AM
 #1210

I need some help please.

I have 80 5 chip miners. Going to run them on powered hubs and a single PC.
Whats the best OS and miner? Need to be able to remote control over internet (either web control panel or RDP)
Theres lots of guides in forums but i failed to find any guide which has all the info needed. All guides are incomplete in that sense.

******  NB! The links below are affiliate - friend type links, which bring additional benefits both, to you and me  ******
Binance - Best Crypto Trading Platform          CoinBase - Fastest way from FIAT to Crypto
Windscribe - The quickest and easyest way to secure and anonymize your internet traffic
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 3688


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 01:50:31 PM
 #1211

I need some help please.

I have 80 5 chip miners. Going to run them on powered hubs and a single PC.
Whats the best OS and miner? Need to be able to remote control over internet (either web control panel or RDP)
Theres lots of guides in forums but i failed to find any guide which has all the info needed. All guides are incomplete in that sense.

With that number of miners I would strongly suggest Linux and girnyau cgminer. I did a little roundup a while ago, it is a bit outdated now (newer versions of software have been released) but most of it still stands:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5976681#msg5976681

RowanX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:11:49 PM
Last edit: April 25, 2014, 07:53:13 PM by RowanX
 #1212

Trouble switching from CGminer to CPUminer?

I think I figured it out.. thanks to some advice from Pete @ Zadig.

Problem: After running Zadig to get CGMiner working... I couldn't get my Virtual COM ports back to a "virgin state", i.e. to appear under "Ports" section in Device Manager, show a COM number, and allow changing COM number and disabling FIFO buffers etc....

Removing the COM ports from Device Manager and even ticking "delete driver software" when doing so wasn't having the desired effect.

Solution: If like me you'd had the gridseeds (via USB hub or not) plugged into more than 1 USB port at any one time.. then you need to uninstall the STM32 driver (Add/Remove Programs), then plug the gridseed back into every USB port of your PC you ever used them in, systematically, and go to Device Manager each time to uninstall the COM ports that appear (usually under "USB Devices", if you had used Zadig to set WinUSB as the driver). After you've done them all, plug the gridseed(s) back in (I think they still appear under USB devices at this point..) then install the STM32 driver... and voila... back to normal, and CPUminer works.

p.s. with both CGminer and CPUminer I find that I sometimes have to unplug other USB devices from my system (mouse and keyboard lol) before they will find the gridseeds and start mining. Only sometimes however. I can plug them back in after mining starts, without problems.

p.p.s. it would be really great if CPUminer could be improved to show stats at the top like CGMiner does. Also.. as it takes ages to fine tune the chips.. is there any way to store that info or does it have to restart the whole tuning process every time you restart the software? Sandor?
sandor111
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 09:17:58 PM
 #1213

Support for individual chip frequency is added. It’s possible to run regular USB miners and G-Blades on a single instance, because the number of chips is now auto detected.
Binaries (Win, Rpi) have been updated.
I'm still working on a summary like cgminer, almost done, but it feels like I'm reinventing the wheel.

jamieb81
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:20:28 PM
 #1214

Support for individual chip frequency is added. It’s possible to run regular USB miners and G-Blades on a single instance, because the number of chips is now auto detected.
Binaries (Win, Rpi) have been updated.
I'm still working on a summary like cgminer, almost done, but it feels like I'm reinventing the wheel.

Nice work Sandor, when I have some spare BTC I'll send you some to take a beer or two Wink
sandor111
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 09:31:51 PM
 #1215

I haven't tested it with a G-Blade yet, but it should work if the firmware version is the same for all.

Kergekoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:33:35 PM
 #1216

I need some help please.

I have 80 5 chip miners. Going to run them on powered hubs and a single PC.
Whats the best OS and miner? Need to be able to remote control over internet (either web control panel or RDP)
Theres lots of guides in forums but i failed to find any guide which has all the info needed. All guides are incomplete in that sense.

With that number of miners I would strongly suggest Linux and girnyau cgminer. I did a little roundup a while ago, it is a bit outdated now (newer versions of software have been released) but most of it still stands:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5976681#msg5976681


I have never used linux from terminal, so this is way too complicated for me without guide. All guides i have seen are old and aged.
Somehow i got cgminer from gridseed git compiled but im clueless what to do next.

******  NB! The links below are affiliate - friend type links, which bring additional benefits both, to you and me  ******
Binance - Best Crypto Trading Platform          CoinBase - Fastest way from FIAT to Crypto
Windscribe - The quickest and easyest way to secure and anonymize your internet traffic
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 09:39:38 PM
Last edit: April 25, 2014, 10:28:27 PM by wolfey2014
 #1217

Support for individual chip frequency is added. It’s possible to run regular USB miners and G-Blades on a single instance, because the number of chips is now auto detected.
Binaries (Win, Rpi) have been updated.
I'm still working on a summary like cgminer, almost done, but it feels like I'm reinventing the wheel.

Yo Sandor!
Your latest cpuminer single pane version (pun intended) / auto freq', is working great!
I finally figured out the cryptic explanation you sent me re: what everything on the green line means which is cool. But based on the order the pods have been assigned their comm port number, it's hard to tell right off the bat which pods are working and which ones aren't. Not without squinting and scrolling a bit.
Could you add a line at the top that shows, 'in order' installed, the pod number that is working in green and the ones that aren't in red ... A line like pod 1-2-3-5-8-6-7-9-0-4... In real time of course Wink
Looking forward to further cpuminer updates and improvements!
Thanks pal!
Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
csmflynt3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:40:09 PM
 #1218

Awesome cannot wait to try this out


BTC:1PRRFbgyBCDwg11HQvUnc2jV6QyYQdymrc
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 3688


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 09:46:54 PM
 #1219

I need some help please.

I have 80 5 chip miners. Going to run them on powered hubs and a single PC.
Whats the best OS and miner? Need to be able to remote control over internet (either web control panel or RDP)
Theres lots of guides in forums but i failed to find any guide which has all the info needed. All guides are incomplete in that sense.

With that number of miners I would strongly suggest Linux and girnyau cgminer. I did a little roundup a while ago, it is a bit outdated now (newer versions of software have been released) but most of it still stands:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5976681#msg5976681


I have never used linux from terminal, so this is way too complicated for me without guide. All guides i have seen are old and aged.
Somehow i got cgminer from gridseed git compiled but im clueless what to do next.

If you have it compiled then I think you're 80% there. You need to start it:

Code:
~/cgminer-gc3355/cgminer your-usual-cgminer-params-go-here

I'd suggest to use a config file, i.e. cgminer -c config_file_name

If your cgminer is not in the cgminer-gc3355 folder obviously you'll need to adjust the command above. For gridseeds you'll need at least:


Code:
{
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://poolname.com:3333",
                "user" : "workername",
                "pass" : "workerpassword"
        }
]
,
"gridseed-options" : "baud=115200,freq=800",
"hotplug" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "30",
"scrypt" : true
}

Adjust frequency to your liking. Once you get that running, try:

Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /your_path_to_cgminer/cgminer -c /your_path_to_config_file/config_file_name

This will run cgminer in the background. Use the following to look at it:

Code:
/usr/bin/screen -x cgminer

Ctrl+A, Ctrl+d to disconnect

Then if it's all working add the startup command to /etc/rc.local to start it on boot.

I think that's it. If you run into any issues - ask.

CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1257
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 10:20:06 PM
Last edit: April 25, 2014, 11:25:26 PM by CartmanSPC
 #1220

I dont know why people have not developed On top of Cgminer?
What do you mean? There are plenty forks of cgminer that support gridseed.
However, cgminer is not running very stable for most people (correct me if I'm wrong here).

The most popular cgminer forks are from dtbartle (https://github.com/dtbartle/cgminer-gc3355) and girnyau (https://github.com/girnyau/cgminer-gc3355).
If you search you will also find Windows binaries for these.

cgminer works great with gridseeds on Linux! It's the way it handles USB on Windows that is the problem. I switched from Windows because of this. Resisted for years but am glad I did. The learning curve is medium to high though.

cgminer was forked from cpuminer. It has advanced quite a bit and I too feel sandor should be building off the latest version of cgminer with scrypt added back in. He's not kidding when he said he feels like he is reinventing the wheel Smiley

That being said I have been using sandors cpuminer for the last day with great results so far!

Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!