Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:39:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: delete  (Read 7988 times)
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 06:08:38 AM
 #21

GTX470 is now at ~170Khash/s and it didn't crash for 3 hours Smiley
Stales are still 15-20% but he'll be working on that.
Will test on my 9800GTX but got to get some sleep now first.

I only received a few PM's from people with an GTX5xx series card. Seems logic, all ATI fanboys over here Tongue

1 person with 2 GTX580 cards received our Alpha and if he gets it up and running (he has to set up Ubuntu first) we hope to get some nice results Smiley

edit:

Please people, stop asking for the CUDA-miner on PM, we won't release it yet, and no, not for 10BTC also.
There will be a public release in about a week, maybe a bit longer (it's all done in spare-time of programmer) but now it's still "work in progress".
I suck in coding so all the kudo's go to him (well, I did a bit of Basic programming in the 80's and 90's Tongue)

Source-code will be released so it can be reviewed or compiled by the ones who don't like it precompiled.
I don't know how to compile it myself but I'm sure some smart guys figure that out.

We still need a name! PM your suggestions Smiley

Is the SC2 algorithm more GPU-friendly than Scrypt? Do you also plan to release a Scrypt version so I can play around with mining Litecoins on a GPU?

It's not profitable to create a scrypt miner, as far as my knowledge goes. But I'm sure other people are working on that too.
1481164742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164742
Reply with quote  #2

1481164742
Report to moderator
1481164742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164742
Reply with quote  #2

1481164742
Report to moderator
1481164742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164742
Reply with quote  #2

1481164742
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 06:10:17 AM
 #22

Right, but that puts SC mining back into the same state as BTC mining.  I (genuinely) thought CH's goal was to be different in those regards.

If one could mine the same as or better on a CPU but have an option to mine GPU as well even if the efficiency in not ideal.... is that not different?

I suspect that is more for.... educational masturbation, just to see what could be done and open up the options that are out there.  Ideally, it is likely a proof that indeed CPU's are better at mining this than GPU's.... at least for the time being.


@Coinhunter


Since I know you are watching this forum. The only reason you are mentioning GPU mining now is that I said THIS about you having GPU mining and you know people are disassembling your code. Funny I post that and just a few hours later, you're "Looking" for an OpenCL miner. LOL

Anyway Magnet, Send me what you have and I will have a couple of Cuda/Open CL experts look at it. I jus PM'd you and yes as you can see it is from an apple.com email address.  Grin

 I am especially interested in the CUDA as I think it will be poetic justice that a "Geoforce Army" take out SC by essentially turning it into a BTC type of difficulty rather quickly.

GPU mining will effectively end CPU mining in Solidcoin and you KNOW IT, even if only one person drops a decent rig on it. A single decent GPU rig will totally over power the entire SC network.

But I highly suspect there has been one person GPU mining all alone.

~BCX~

Thanks! Yeah, the first mail from Apple I ever got Grin
I sent you all the relevant info I have.
Thanks already for the suggestions you made, this is very promising!
I wish I could code like that.  Sad

No prob, but realize it's not my coding! A really cool guy that just seems to be able to just bang stuff out that works did it!

We're still getting crashes due to loops of some kind. Working on it, will keep all posted.

~BCX~

Sent you the latest version. Does Amazon have a CUDA farm?
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 07:19:07 AM
 #23

Quote
Sent you the latest version. Does Amazon have a CUDA farm?

uh that would be no...

But don't sweat it, it's not that hard to put together a small pool of 15-20 for testing.
Aren't their GPU instances CUDA compatible?
Yes they are. Currently 0.68$/per hour spot instances for 2xM2050 GPUs and, I might add, 2 x X5570 Xeons. Two birds in one shot.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
saethan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 07:31:09 AM
 #24

Quote
Cluster GPU Quadruple Extra Large Instance

22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)
API name: cg1.4xlarge

- the M2050 is the same GPU as the GTX470, not sure about the differences in the memory layout of a Tesla though
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 04:25:50 PM
 #25

pm me the latest version, I have 4x gtx570, i'll give it a try if you want

edit: give me the source code, I'm on linux amd64

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 08:02:15 PM
 #26

Quote
Sent you the latest version. Does Amazon have a CUDA farm?

uh that would be no...

But don't sweat it, it's not that hard to put together a small pool of 15-20 for testing.
Aren't their GPU instances CUDA compatible?

I am not familiar at all with CUDA anything, never used it.

The Tesla Fermi has CUDA support. Would be big if we could rent a farm.
I don't have the money to do it though. Once miner is Beta, could you do an attempt?
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 08:08:16 PM
 #27

Quote
Sent you the latest version. Does Amazon have a CUDA farm?

uh that would be no...

But don't sweat it, it's not that hard to put together a small pool of 15-20 for testing.
Aren't their GPU instances CUDA compatible?

I am not familiar at all with CUDA anything, never used it.

The Tesla Fermi has CUDA support. Would be big if we could rent a farm.
I don't have the money to do it though. Once miner is Beta, could you do an attempt?

We availability to use as much EC2 as we want that pertains to us, I will see what I can to. I was just informed that it maybe possible, If I get it cost will be ZERO.

That's cheap  Grin

Alpha 0.1.4 cuda_miner is now stable but he had to do some coding again. Gained a bit on efficienty, ~140Khash/s per thread now for the GTX470 (running 2 threads @ 1 GPU).
You got the update?

Funny part is: the GTX470 is only consuming ~120Watts with one thread and ~165Watts running 2 threads. That's a lot lower than I got when running SETI@home so I guess we are not on the limits of the card yet.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 08:12:36 PM
 #28

Funny part is: the GTX470 is only consuming ~120Watts with one thread and ~165Watts running 2 threads. That's a lot lower than I got when running SETI@home so I guess we are not on the limits of the card yet.

Proper coding for CUDA requires knowing both CUDA and the nVidia architecture well.  It's very easy to code for it inefficiently if you are not very familiar with it.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 08:17:10 PM
 #29

Funny part is: the GTX470 is only consuming ~120Watts with one thread and ~165Watts running 2 threads. That's a lot lower than I got when running SETI@home so I guess we are not on the limits of the card yet.

Proper coding for CUDA requires knowing both CUDA and the nVidia architecture well.  It's very easy to code for it inefficiently if you are not very familiar with it.

He did some Boinc / Seti@home improvements for one of the forked crunchers so I think he knows what he's doing. But he says this is something else.
Reversengineering the SC2 client was lots of work and only thursday he could start on the miner. He had some friends who helped him, he had to admit.

I should have asked BCX earlier, Apple knows a lot of steeling and reversengineering software Wink

I'm a total coding noob, so can't give you much of the details.
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 08:50:09 PM
 #30

Can anyone tell me anything about the SC2 algorithm? I'm guessing it's something recursive?

I know people who work on transferring C functions to CUDA devices using Kahn process networks. It's works very nicely for some applications. I can't afford their rates but I might get some free advice.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 20, 2011, 12:07:28 AM
 #31

Also, you should post the algorithm here.  If it does rely on recursion, there is likely an iterative form of the algorithm which would not be hard to make and while would performs orders of magnitude faster than the recursive algorithm (honestly, if this is what coinhunter did it's incredibly stupid).

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 12:25:54 AM
 #32

Sent you the latest version. Does Amazon have a CUDA farm?


Yes.  They have instances w/ a pair of Tesla M2050s.

Quote
Cluster GPU Instances

http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/instance-types/

Instances of this family provide general-purpose graphics processing units (GPUs) with proportionally high CPU and increased network performance for applications benefitting from highly parallelized processing, including HPC, rendering and media processing applications. While Cluster Compute Instances provide the ability to create clusters of instances connected by a low latency, high throughput network, Cluster GPU Instances provide an additional option for applications that can benefit from the efficiency gains of the parallel computing power of GPUs over what can be achieved with traditional processors. Learn more about use of this instance type for HPC applications.

Cluster GPU Quadruple Extra Large Instance

22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)
API name: cg1.4xlarge
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 04:34:57 AM
 #33

Just shy of 2kh/w, that's insane compared to the CPU version.

I bet you could run a few more threads, too!

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2011, 07:41:18 PM
 #34

We got a nice offer in SC if we stopped this project and never release source, so we decided to stop.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 07:43:05 PM
 #35

Oh awesome.  Another win for ScamCoin.  Got to love closed source code (ScamCoin not CUDA Miner).
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 08:00:10 PM
 #36

We got a nice offer in SC if we stopped this project and never release source, so we decided to stop.


Dammit Magnet.
johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 08:03:08 PM
 #37

Take the SC, cash out in BTC, 'accidentally' leak the code Wink

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2011, 08:04:47 PM
 #38

We got a nice offer in SC if we stopped this project and never release source, so we decided to stop.


Dammit Magnet.

Hmm, I understand how you and some others might feel but I hope you can all forgive me for this.
I have bills to pay, just like you...
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 08:06:20 PM
 #39

Nope, sorry.
Can't forgive it.

Last time I heard you were dedicated to SC2's downfall, and now you're supporting it.
I'm disappointed in you.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
Ten98
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201



View Profile
October 24, 2011, 08:07:31 PM
 #40

We got a nice offer in SC if we stopped this project and never release source, so we decided to stop.


Lol, from who? Show the transaction in blockexplorer?

I think what happened is Reaper was released which beat you to the bounty.

Reaper is already in it's 7th version, mtrlt is working hard on it and adding cool features every day:

http://zerosignalgame.com/reaper0.07src.zip
http://zerosignalgame.com/reaper0.07.zip (Win32 Binary)

We still need a Win64 version as well as binaries for Linux, so any compiling whizzkids out there please have a go...

Bring your geforce2mx's to the party  Grin
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!