Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 02:58:23 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: On-board auto reboot with Antminer S9 (daily reboots)  (Read 196 times)
psp4804
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 7


View Profile
July 22, 2018, 01:16:04 AM
Merited by frodocooper (5), BitMaxz (2)
 #1

I've struggled a long time with Antminers that work for a few days and then eventually need a reboot. Since I keep my miners away from home, this has been a hassle. Additionally, the environment I keep them in doesn't have much in terms of remote access or other running machines on the network that I can schedule reboots on.

Articles like https://blockoperations.com/make-antminer-s9-reboot-every-30-minutes/ detail consistent reboot schedules, utilizing separate computers to run cron jobs on. For an onboard solution, I've been doing this though:

Code:
#ssh onto the device
> ssh root@xx.xx.xx.xx
#modify the bmminer’s daemon file to include a reboot
>vi /etc/init.d/bmminer.sh #(@ line 44)

killall -9 bmminer || true
/sbin/shutdown -r -f +1440 “daily reboot” & #add this line in -- 1440 is 1440 min per reboot (1day)
/usr/bin/bmminer –fixed-freq –no-pre-heat –version-file /usr/bin/compile_time –api-listen –default-config /config/bmminer.conf &

#save file w/ escape + wq

at next reboot, the miner will automatically schedule a reboot after 1440 minutes before it begins to mine.
i’ve just started doing this on my miners and see no ill effects on S9s running firmware from 2017050318838 (Antminer-S9-all-201705031838-650M-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz)

i might be way off base about how to properly do this, but i couldn't find anything about a decent on-board solution until I hacked this together myself. from my experience, this doesn't work on some of the other miners (like d3, l3) since they wipe files every reboot, but this works fine on s9 for me.
1539961103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539961103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539961103
Reply with quote  #2

1539961103
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539961103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539961103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539961103
Reply with quote  #2

1539961103
Report to moderator
1539961103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539961103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539961103
Reply with quote  #2

1539961103
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2018, 04:18:43 PM
 #2

Never heard if there is a way to make s9 miner to setup it on daily reboot on-board but I think you can use awesome miner to schedule s9 to reboot it daily.

Here is their official thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=676942.0

I also found this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0
And it has also feature to schedule auto reboot or restart your miner.

PassThePopcorn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204
Merit: 103


View Profile
July 22, 2018, 09:28:40 PM
 #3

If you just want to restart the mining process, I haven't checked on the S9 but I know older units have a cron tab, this command was used to restart cgminer every 12 hours.

Code:
0 */12  *   *   *     /etc/init.d/cgminer restart

A few edits would be to change cgminer to bmminer as they now go on bmminer instead of cgminer, and to change /12 to /24.

Code:
0 */24  *   *   *     /etc/init.d/bmminer restart

I'm not entirely sure if the command is correct for every 24 hours but I do know the 12 hour one worked. If there is no crontab in the ui, their is a cron file somewhere on the system, add the line to that and it should work.
psp4804
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 7


View Profile
July 23, 2018, 02:11:48 AM
 #4

[...]

This isn't functional on the S9 at least without some additional setup, hence the process I went through. (i.e., running crontab itself threw an error and i was too lazy to diagnose it)

Never heard if there is a way to make s9 miner to setup it on daily reboot on-board but I think you can use awesome miner to schedule s9 to reboot it daily.

This defeats the purpose of doing it without having any external software / computers running, although is certainly a valid solution for many.
Ameador1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 2

Do it right the first time!


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2018, 11:49:38 AM
 #5

Are you running the most current firmware for your miners?

I have an S9 that I bought back last November (I think) and was having trouble with it needing a reboot every day or two, but after upgrading to the latest firmware earlier this year - that has stopped. It still seems like I need to reboot them every couple of weeks now, but much better than before.

I know this isn't the solution you are asking for, but could you put in a RaspberryPi in the network there to run these scheduled reboots - not a full-scale desktop/laptop system - small and cheap. Just a thought if the firmware is not a viable solution.

"Money is the material shape of the principle that men who wish to deal with one another must deal by trade and give value for value." - Ayn Rand
PassThePopcorn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204
Merit: 103


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 12:36:39 AM
 #6

This isn't functional on the S9 at least without some additional setup, hence the process I went through. (i.e., running crontab itself threw an error and i was too lazy to diagnose it)

Yeah you're right. I did some checking and did locate a cron file that the S9 uses to sync the time, but I wasn't able to get it working with the reboots.
fanatic26_
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 30


View Profile
August 15, 2018, 03:28:23 PM
 #7

Another option is to run a raspberry Pi and use scripting to do it. Ansible works great for something like this, you can just pass raw SSH commands directly to each unit to reboot it
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!