Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2018, 08:13:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocked Antminer S1... lots of x's under ASIC Status  (Read 2069 times)
kodiak1120
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:21:59 PM
 #1

Hi,

I bought an Antminer S1 that I didn't know was overclocked when I bought it (I'm assuming it's overclocked because it's operating at 400 mhz according to web interface).  It's been hashing fine at around 200 gh/s (usually 205 gh/s), but I just logged in today and I noticed a lot x's under ASIC Status.  Is this bad?  Could it be due to overclocking?  Should I revert back to 350 mhz?  If so, how do I do that?  Thanks,

Kevin

Edit:  When I first checked, all but seven were x's (a total of 57, I think).  I just checked about 30 minutes later and now there are only 22 x's. 

Edit2: Now we're down to 8 x's. 
1527365587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527365587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527365587
Reply with quote  #2

1527365587
Report to moderator
1527365587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527365587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527365587
Reply with quote  #2

1527365587
Report to moderator
1527365587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527365587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527365587
Reply with quote  #2

1527365587
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
acidfox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:33:09 PM
 #2

restart your miner and observ it. if the Xs come again change the it to 350 or 375 MHz.

kodiak1120
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:33:57 PM
 #3

And now at 0 x's...  any idea why I would be seeing so many x's just a half an hour ago and now none?  
kodiak1120
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:35:34 PM
 #4

restart your miner and observ it. if the Xs come again change the it to 350 or 375 MHz.


Thanks...  it seems they are gone now.  I didn't restart, but they just dropped on their own.  Is this bad for the hardware?  I rarely log in to check these things, so I have no idea if it's happened in the past and if it happens again, I probably won't notice it. 
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 03, 2014, 10:43:53 PM
 #5

Its a display bug in the firmware.  If the hashrate is correct on miner and at pool then leave it go.  Else cycle power a couple times and it will go away.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!