Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2019, 03:10:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [HOWTO] flash your jalapeno to 8+ ghs  (Read 84852 times)
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 06:09:46 PM
 #361

Speaking of which, I have two jalapenos running at 28gh now with more chips. Both need extra cooling; you can take a stock cooling system up to five chips without anything, six chips with small copper heat sinks on the FETs, and seven chips requires either water cooling or a big heat pipe.

I wonder about 8 chips :-)

C
1550761839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550761839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550761839
Reply with quote  #2

1550761839
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550761839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550761839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550761839
Reply with quote  #2

1550761839
Report to moderator
monkeynutts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 08:34:14 PM
 #362

Thanks for the advice.


 1/2     25.0C |  7.78/ 7.22/ 6.82Gh/s | A:99 R:0+0(none) HW:20/4.1%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 BFL 0a: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0b: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0c: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0d: 29.0C |  3.95/ 3.73/ 3.29Gh/s | A:54 R:0+0(none) HW: 3/1.3%
 BFL 0e: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0f: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0g: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0h: 29.0C |  3.83/ 3.60/ 3.63Gh/s | A:46 R:0+0(none) HW:18/6.7%


so im guessing only 2 chips Smiley

i had been running it under cgminer and that was reporting a steady 8.2gh/s after running for a couple of hours. this is bfgminer output after 4 mins.

i presume then these boards can take 8 chips in total? assuming cooling and power could be dealt with.

how easy is it to see what firmware revision im currently running ?



thanks again for the advice

monkey


and again after another 5 mins or so

 ST:4  F:0  NB:3  AS:0  BW:[ 56/ 52 B/s]  E:32.25  I:  109uBTC/hr  BS:9.45k
 1/2     26.0C |  7.69/ 7.60/ 7.42Gh/s | A:390 R:2+0(.49%) HW:78/4.4%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 BFL 0a: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0b: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0c: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0d: 29.0C |  3.99/ 3.89/ 3.90Gh/s | A:217 R:1+0(.43%) HW: 7/.79%
 BFL 0e: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0f: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0g: 29.0C |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:  0 R:0+0(none) HW: 0/none
 BFL 0h: 29.0C |  3.77/ 3.76/ 3.58Gh/s | A:178 R:1+0(.53%) HW:71/8.0%
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 08:55:30 PM
 #363

Interesting. Can you go back to cgminer and see if the speed goes back? I'm wondering about that a little bit.

C
monkeynutts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:12:11 PM
 #364


cgminer version 3.9.0 - Started: [2014-01-07 21:03:15]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):7.795G (avg):7.734Gh/s | A:752  R:0  HW:43  WU:102.9/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 894  GF: 0  RF: 0


but its only been up for a little while, after running it for the first time i came back to it several hours later, the next morning. Ill see if its gone up more and report back !

anyone out there in the UK that can mod these things ?


both cgminer and bfgminer are latest versions, from git as of a couple days ago and running on a pi
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:21:42 PM
 #365

To be honest, it's probably not worth a flash, however there is a guy who can do it remotely if you have the programmer. You have replaced the POS power supply with a locally compiant one, right?

C
monkeynutts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 10:10:24 PM
 #366

Yea didnt like the look of the psu the moment I set eyes on it !

I was thinking more of adding chips to the board, if anyone in the uk would be able to do that, I have everything in place to flash the unit, from my pi, but as i was seeing such good numbers ( as im writing this its running at 7.7 avg ) I started to think twice, hence my posts here.

Miners for me are more a hobby than a profit maker Smiley Im willing to take the risk to boost this little pup, I have been inspired by your efforts but sadly i lack the ability to do it myself.

Hell mabye ill splash out and get whats required.
WynX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:03:38 AM
 #367

I have everything in place to flash the unit, from my pi, but as i was seeing such good numbers ( as im writing this its running at 7.7 avg ) I started to think twice, hence my posts here.

7.7 GH/s avg for 2 chips is nice (on stock? interesting to see what firmware you got??)
You might think you can flash it via USB, but you need an JTAG programmer such as the Atmel AVR DRAGON afaik...you have that?
monkeynutts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 09:56:55 AM
 #368


I never said I could flash it via usb. I have a PI and a home made cable as outlined earlier in this thread, AVR dragon not required.

Unit is on "stock" firmware, that is to say I haven't flashed it so I dont actually know what version its running sorry. Any easy way to tell or will i need to hook up the pi ?
hyphymikey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 14, 2014, 09:45:38 AM
 #369


I never said I could flash it via usb. I have a PI and a home made cable as outlined earlier in this thread, AVR dragon not required.

Unit is on "stock" firmware, that is to say I haven't flashed it so I dont actually know what version its running sorry. Any easy way to tell or will i need to hook up the pi ?


Most BFL products have a sticker inside the unit, sometimes on the base plate, with the version number and production details.
monkeynutts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 10:21:17 AM
 #370

Thanks ill take a look this evening.
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Hodl!


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 07:49:09 PM
 #371

At the risk of playing Captain Obvious, I'd start with a lower JTAG clock speed and work up if that connects okay.

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 08:37:17 PM
 #372

Speaking of which, I have two jalapenos running at 28gh now with more chips. Both need extra cooling; you can take a stock cooling system up to five chips without anything, six chips with small copper heat sinks on the FETs, and seven chips requires either water cooling or a big heat pipe.

I wonder about 8 chips :-)

C

Update: Wondering over. Can do 32gh. With 8 chips you need a water cooling block and a big power supply, but it is fun!

C
otsaku
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 04:56:41 PM
 #373

I flashed two jalapenos yesterday with the 1.2.9 firmware.

Got some strange results on both:

These two shipped together in one box, I bought them used. I'm guessig they are fairl early as the heatsink leaves room for the jtag cable.

they have 1256 chips not 1128.


The first one I flashed without making any changes in the firmware and it hashed at a steady 3740...

So I went back into the files and changed it from a single to jalapeno in the std_defs.h.

It hashed at 6745, 7740 and 8812 cycling between the three exact rates.

I went back in and altered to a little single and nothing changed.

So I went back in again and altered it to a Jalapeno and the frequency from 33  to 64.

Tested it and it now cycles between 7891 8898 and 10126.

Used the exact same build on number two and it cycles between 6665 7490 8812.

Wondering what is going on and what I did wrong?

Hardware errors on both after 24 hours are low 76 on the first one and 188 on the second.

They are not in the cases and have a 120 mm case fan on top of the heatsink. Before flashing they ran at 33 degrees and after they are running 41.

lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 05:21:22 PM
 #374

The first one I flashed without making any changes in the firmware and it hashed at a steady 3740...

I'm amazed it worked, need to do little_single or jalapeno.


Quote
Tested it and it now cycles between 7891 8898 and 10126.

That's really weird, how many chips are reported in bfgminer (use D, then M to show the chips)

C
otsaku
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 05:33:09 PM
Last edit: January 21, 2014, 06:02:36 PM by otsaku
 #375

bfgminer can't find either. I'm using cgminer instead.


little update, after trying to start bfgminer and then returning to cgminer the first one is swinging between 8.5 and 10.7 and the average is showing 9.1.


I maybe should have mentioned that I bought these as 5ghs and one has run rock steady at 6ghs and the other at 6.5ghs with some amazing spikes on start up, up to 43ghs.

Avr dragon shows number one 3.3v

and number 2 3.2v.

Breeze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 07:38:48 PM
Last edit: March 25, 2014, 08:42:00 PM by Breeze
 #376

Nice thread =) So i had to flash my jalapeno too =) But do i get too much HW errors?

HW / (A+R+HW) =
1359/(12342+117+1359)=0,0983 = 9%
That's after 2 hours of mining.

GetInfo.....................
DEVICE: BitFORCE SC
FIRMWARE: 1.2.5ck
IAR Executed: NO
CHIP PARALLELIZATION: YES @ 2
QUEUE DEPTH:40
PROCESSOR 3: 15 engines @ 279 MHz -- MAP: FFFE
PROCESSOR 7: 15 engines @ 266 MHz -- MAP: FFFE
THEORETICAL MAX: 8175 MH/s
ENGINES: 30
FREQUENCY: 274 MHz
XLINK MODE: MASTER
CRITICAL TEMPERATURE: 0
XLINK PRESENT: NO
OK
0x00

Core0 Nonces=0,
Core1 Nonces=0,
Core2 Nonces=0,
Core3 Nonces=6343,
Core4 Nonces=0,
Core5 Nonces=0,
Core6 Nonces=0,
Core7 Nonces=6236,
Core8 Nonces=0,
Core9 Nonces=0,
Core10 Nonces=0,
Core11 Nonces=0,
Core12 Nonces=0,
Core13 Nonces=0,
Core14 Nonces=0,
Core15 Nonces=0,
Core0 HW Errors=0,
Core1 HW Errors=0,
Core2 HW Errors=0,
Core3 HW Errors=466,
Core4 HW Errors=0,
Core5 HW Errors=0,
Core6 HW Errors=0,
Core7 HW Errors=901,
Core8 HW Errors=0,
Core9 HW Errors=0,
Core10 HW Errors=0,
Core11 HW Errors=0,
Core12 HW Errors=0,
Core13 HW Errors=0,
Core14 HW Errors=0,
Core15 HW Errors=0,

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6hg3oj9wo62l2gi/1.2.5ck2h.JPG

Should i go back to BFL original 1.2.5?

Cheers for the nice work from everybody =)
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 02:52:20 AM
 #377

Eh, as long as it's hashing I would stay with it, especially with two chips.

When you have 8 chips on a Jally, you want to tune it down a bit for no errors. Reason being that errors cause heat, and heat will drive you bats with an 8 chip unit.

Mine as much as you can. And good job boosting it.
Breeze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 03:17:32 PM
 #378

Eh, as long as it's hashing I would stay with it, especially with two chips.

When you have 8 chips on a Jally, you want to tune it down a bit for no errors. Reason being that errors cause heat, and heat will drive you bats with an 8 chip unit.

Mine as much as you can. And good job boosting it.

So it's not better with 7.2GH/s with 1.2% HW errors instead?
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1058


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 31, 2014, 12:43:02 AM
 #379

I tried to flash my faulty jalapeno with an AVR DRAGON, the good news, the mining software detect it but the bad the hash rate = 0 ghs.

I tried different firmware, would it be possible for somebody to share with me a right firmware for model 1256 model please?



Anybody can help me on this?
Just what did you flash? A stock jalapeno should be flashed with the 1.2.9 code compiled either for AVR 128 or 256 (to be honest if you compile 128 it will work on both types of chips), and make sure you set the device type to "LITTLE_SINGLE" and not "SINGLE" in std_defs.h.

If you're totally sunk send it over and I'll fix it for you.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!