Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 06:35:54 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What`s the deal with the testnet?  (Read 173 times)
rosul
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 31, 2018, 10:40:45 AM
Merited by DarkStar_ (2)
 #1

I have started testing stuff on the testnet for a week now and I have this question:

Wtf is bloating up the blocks? I see most blocks being full, up to 1mb, and bloated up by a chain of txs that are spent in the same block: as soon as one output is created it is spent in the next tx and so one in a long chain of txs. What is this?

Also what advice would you guys give to a newcomer when working with the testnet? (i have worked with ethereum extensively before and i know how btc works but i haven`t touched the tools much before; atm i am experimenting with bitcoind and bitcoinjs-lib)
1537554954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554954
Reply with quote  #2

1537554954
Report to moderator
1537554954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554954
Reply with quote  #2

1537554954
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537554954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537554954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537554954
Reply with quote  #2

1537554954
Report to moderator
timmy333
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 5


View Profile
September 06, 2018, 08:51:29 PM
Merited by suchmoon (4), rosul (1)
 #2

Testnet3 is being flooded by 1 or a handful of individuals, probably not even for malicious purposes but to stress test the network. somebody with a few thousand coins can tie up testnet for a long time. its been happening for about a month, a lot of testnet services shut down, primarily the faucets.

looks like it will end eventually, or a new testnet will be released. in the mean time, use high fees and WAIT. ive been having a hell of a time finding coins and being able to get transactions to be accepted in a block, but not much anybody can do aside from using super high tx fees so you can get accepted in a block .
rosul
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
September 10, 2018, 04:13:27 PM
 #3

Thanks, man! I realized something was fishy and I do manage to get txs through if i set the fee high enough.

I would have though that if this was a legitimate stress test or some kind of experiment the people behind it would have made some announcement. you said that this has been going on for a month, i suspect that this is some kind of spam attack. on the other hand, for testing purposes i could also use regtest net.

I also noticed a lot of outputs that are created are spent inside the same block (this is probably part of the attack logic). But i didn`t know this is possible (seeing those tx it clearly is). Can you confirm this?

Testnet3 is being flooded by 1 or a handful of individuals, probably not even for malicious purposes but to stress test the network. somebody with a few thousand coins can tie up testnet for a long time. its been happening for about a month, a lot of testnet services shut down, primarily the faucets.

looks like it will end eventually, or a new testnet will be released. in the mean time, use high fees and WAIT. ive been having a hell of a time finding coins and being able to get transactions to be accepted in a block, but not much anybody can do aside from using super high tx fees so you can get accepted in a block .
einax_oliver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2018, 07:52:45 AM
 #4


I also noticed a lot of outputs that are created are spent inside the same block (this is probably part of the attack logic). But i didn`t know this is possible (seeing those tx it clearly is). Can you confirm this?


Yes, it is possible to spend output in the same block it has been originated. This is actually quite normal.
mrdemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 11, 2018, 03:40:16 PM
 #5

Has anyone notice this? Today one miner has been mined almost all blocks on testnet. And he has not including any segwit transactions in the blocks! My test transactions have not been confirmed since 6 hours ago!
https://live.blockcypher.com/btc-testnet/tx/b80f9a8aa0e3a636c517072597b945cee4d878d9f645d19a8666dc6f6ca91d31/

I am a bit worry of this type of attack could deal a great damage to Bitcoin Mainnet!
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1638


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2018, 04:14:02 PM
 #6

Has anyone notice this? Today one miner has been mined almost all blocks on testnet. And he has not including any segwit transactions in the blocks! My test transactions have not been confirmed since 6 hours ago!
https://live.blockcypher.com/btc-testnet/tx/b80f9a8aa0e3a636c517072597b945cee4d878d9f645d19a8666dc6f6ca91d31/

I am a bit worry of this type of attack could deal a great damage to Bitcoin Mainnet!
It can't do anything to mainnet since testnet is a completely separate network with almost 0 hashrate. The only reason this can happen on testnet is because someone has the majority hashrate.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!