Bitcoin Forum
February 20, 2019, 10:50:15 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining Bitcoin Interest - new progpow algorithm  (Read 1746 times)
igotek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 555


Online Security & Investment Corporation


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2018, 08:40:48 PM
 #1


I m trying to mine BCI but the miner only use onboard graphic card and give 0.52 MH/s
How could I use my AMD GPUs ?

AMD Miner: https://www.bitcoininterest.io/downloads/progpowminer-amd-windows.zip

My BAT file:
Code:
setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
@echo off
REM # Edit the line below to be
REM # progpowminer-amd.exe -G -P stratum+tcp://<YOURBCIADDRESS>@<YOURPOOL>:<PORT>
REM # Example:
progpowminer-amd.exe -G -P stratum+tcp://igotek.A01:x@bci.suprnova.cc:9166
pause

İnternet Cafeler İçin Satılık NVIDIA Ekran Kartları
I cannot live, I cannot die, trapped in myself.
Hold my breath as I wish for death. Oh please god, help me !
1550703015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703015
Reply with quote  #2

1550703015
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550703015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703015
Reply with quote  #2

1550703015
Report to moderator
1550703015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703015
Reply with quote  #2

1550703015
Report to moderator
1550703015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703015
Reply with quote  #2

1550703015
Report to moderator
CjMapope
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1026



View Profile
September 18, 2018, 10:17:13 PM
 #2

add:
--opencl-platform 1
to your command Wink

like sgminer Tongue


~Open Source is just another buzzword if you cant read the code~
~Got this girl in my bed, a roof over my head, i mine a couple coins a week, and thats how i make bread~
~reach me on Discord if you wanna chat, i dont come on here much anymore the BCT Mafia is outta control : / ~
hagbase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398
Merit: 251



View Profile
September 19, 2018, 06:30:17 AM
 #3

And your AMD GPUs are?

Anyway remove any overclocking and raise or remove powerlimits, use undervolting only.  If you're running a VBios mod with heavy modifications flash default VBios.


 
chup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 262


Me, Myself & I


View Profile
September 19, 2018, 06:42:26 AM
 #4

Anywhere to find reliable benchmark list for different AMD/Nvidia GPUs on ProgPOW algo?

dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 532



View Profile
September 19, 2018, 09:52:52 AM
Last edit: September 19, 2018, 10:29:31 AM by dragonmike
 #5

Anywhere to find reliable benchmark list for different AMD/Nvidia GPUs on ProgPOW algo?
From my own experience:

RX 570 4GB: 7.5 MH/s (-10% PL)
Vega 56 (flashed to 64): 15 MH/s (at -30% PL - higher clocks can be achieved if you've got money to burn)


░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░██████████████████████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████░░░░
░░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░██████░
░░░░░░░██████░░░░░█░░░░░████████░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░░███░░░████░░███░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░██░██░████░░███░░█████░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░██░░█░███░░███░░██████░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░██░█░█░░░███░░██████░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░███░░░███░░░█████░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░██░░████░░░░░░██░░░██████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░████░░░░░██████░░░█████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
▂▂ ▃▃ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ TeraWATT █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃▃ ▂▂
Global LED Adoption Through Blockchain Technology
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒『ICO IS LIVE』≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
WEBSITE』『WHITEPAPER
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
TWITTER』『TELEGRAM
hagbase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398
Merit: 251



View Profile
September 19, 2018, 10:08:07 AM
 #6

Anywhere to find reliable benchmark list for different AMD/Nvidia GPUs on ProgPOW algo?

My own settings/quick tests:

RX580 4GB
Core: 1240 MHz
Mem: 1750 MHz
Vcore: 900mV
MCore 900mV
pwr: 150W

10,7 mh/s

Core: 1150 MHz
Mem: 1750 MHz
Vcore: 880 mV
MCore: 900 mV
pwr: 130W

9,4 mh/s

RX570 4GB
Core: 1150 MHz
Mem: 1750 MHz
Vcore: 880 mV
MCore: 900 mV
pwr: 150W

8,7 mh/s

RX570 4GB
Core: 1150 MHz
Mem: 1750 MHz
Vcore: 880 mV
MCore: 900 mV
pwr: 130W

7,4 mh/s
igotek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 555


Online Security & Investment Corporation


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2018, 05:05:51 PM
 #7

is it profitable ?

I think ETH or cryptonight is more profitable than progpow

İnternet Cafeler İçin Satılık NVIDIA Ekran Kartları
I cannot live, I cannot die, trapped in myself.
Hold my breath as I wish for death. Oh please god, help me !
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1543


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 20, 2018, 03:51:51 PM
 #8

is it profitable ?

I think ETH or cryptonight is more profitable than progpow

you could be right.

I mine them but I will push on bci for a few months.  I would like to get 1000 coins and stake them.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
igotek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 555


Online Security & Investment Corporation


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2018, 10:44:49 AM
 #9

is it profitable ?

I think ETH or cryptonight is more profitable than progpow

you could be right.

I mine them but I will push on bci for a few months.  I would like to get 1000 coins and stake them.

Yep, i saw you re mining BCI on another topic.
Acording to calculators, it s nonsense to mine BCI.
I prefer to mine BBR on wildkeccak. I can buy BCI after selling them. Then stake
I know you have solar energy and dont pay the bill. But you must calculate the profit.

İnternet Cafeler İçin Satılık NVIDIA Ekran Kartları
I cannot live, I cannot die, trapped in myself.
Hold my breath as I wish for death. Oh please god, help me !
sxemini
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 1


View Profile
September 21, 2018, 11:52:35 AM
 #10

is it profitable ?

I think ETH or cryptonight is more profitable than progpow

I don´t think so. I test Progpow on 2x 1050ti. ETH and BCI is nearly the same.
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 532



View Profile
September 26, 2018, 09:18:31 AM
 #11

Everyone seems to rave about ProgPow as being great against ASIC proliferation and all... All hail ProgPow! Woohoo!...

...ignoring the fact it's a very power hungry algo. So in these days of low profitability hardly anyone will reap any benefits from BCI mining. That, unfortunately, is a double-edged sword which promotes efficiency of ASICs vs GPUs.

We used to have lyra2z as "power saving" algo. Unfortunately devs chose the route of optimising it by allowing for more power to be thrown at it to gain hash. Now it's just as hungry as everything else out there.

The challenge would be to design an efficient algo, that embeds decent ASIC resistance and doesn't scale much by just adding more power.


Maybe I just described CryptonightV2... Tongue


░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░██████████████████████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████░░░░
░░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░██████░
░░░░░░░██████░░░░░█░░░░░████████░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░░███░░░████░░███░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░██░██░████░░███░░█████░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░██░░█░███░░███░░██████░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░██░█░█░░░███░░██████░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░███░░░███░░░█████░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░██░░████░░░░░░██░░░██████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░████░░░░░██████░░░█████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
▂▂ ▃▃ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ TeraWATT █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃▃ ▂▂
Global LED Adoption Through Blockchain Technology
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒『ICO IS LIVE』≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
WEBSITE』『WHITEPAPER
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
TWITTER』『TELEGRAM
nitrobg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 410
Merit: 16


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 11:41:51 AM
 #12

...ignoring the fact it's a very power hungry algo.

You know that the power depends on the voltage, right? Lower the power limit to 50% on nvidia or lower the voltage/core clock on amd and it'll draw less than ethereum. Nobody is forcing you to run at max power level, especially when the efficiency of hash/watt decreases with the power draw.
Lyra2z can still be mined at the original power level. You can simply lift the limit up and it'll hash more.

ProgPow and most other core-based algorithms scale perfectly well with core count and doesn't have these weird discrepancies where a weak card (RX 570) hashes as much as a twice more expensive one (GTX 1070). That way you can get 2x more performance from 2x more expensive card, so it just balances it out. RX 570 and 580 will be as powerful as GTX 1060 3 and 6GB. Vega 56/64 will be as powerful as GTX 1070/1070Ti.

Yes, there are algorithms where AMD or NVIDIA are still better, but right now we're focusing on ProgPow.
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 532



View Profile
September 26, 2018, 12:06:25 PM
 #13

...ignoring the fact it's a very power hungry algo.

You know that the power depends on the voltage, right? Lower the power limit to 50% on nvidia or lower the voltage/core clock on amd and it'll draw less than ethereum. Nobody is forcing you to run at max power level, especially when the efficiency of hash/watt decreases with the power draw.
Lyra2z can still be mined at the original power level. You can simply lift the limit up and it'll hash more.

ProgPow and most other core-based algorithms scale perfectly well with core count and doesn't have these weird discrepancies where a weak card (RX 570) hashes as much as a twice more expensive one (GTX 1070). That way you can get 2x more performance from 2x more expensive card, so it just balances it out. RX 570 and 580 will be as powerful as GTX 1060 3 and 6GB. Vega 56/64 will be as powerful as GTX 1070/1070Ti.

Yes, there are algorithms where AMD or NVIDIA are still better, but right now we're focusing on ProgPow.
I think you missed the point.
Of course you can lower the power limit on ProgPow. I'm doing just that with my Vega cards for example. I need to drop it by 30% to keep a rig of six Vega64's under 1400W... Which unfortunately it has a large impact on the hashrate. So it might improve your efficiency (slightly) but not enough to make it remarkably more profitable. On RX 570's dropping PL by only 10% radically lowers hashrate and it worsens as you go lower.


░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░██████████████████████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████░░░░
░░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░░
░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████░██████░
░░░░░░░██████░░░░░█░░░░░████████░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░░███░░░████░░███░██████░
░░░░░░░███████░░██░██░████░░███░░█████░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░██░░█░███░░███░░██████░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░██░█░█░░░███░░██████░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░███░░░███░░░█████░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░██░░████░░░░░░██░░░██████░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░████░░░░░██████░░░█████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░███░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
▂▂ ▃▃ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ TeraWATT █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃▃ ▂▂
Global LED Adoption Through Blockchain Technology
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒『ICO IS LIVE』≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
WEBSITE』『WHITEPAPER
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
TWITTER』『TELEGRAM
sxemini
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 1


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 12:28:35 PM
 #14

Why you reduce the PL Limit on RX570? This is stupid. Lower Voltage and not the PL  Roll Eyes
Every RX570 can run 1250 on gpu core with 0,9 vgpu.
Marvell2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 119


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 04:08:49 PM
 #15

...ignoring the fact it's a very power hungry algo.

You know that the power depends on the voltage, right? Lower the power limit to 50% on nvidia or lower the voltage/core clock on amd and it'll draw less than ethereum. Nobody is forcing you to run at max power level, especially when the efficiency of hash/watt decreases with the power draw.
Lyra2z can still be mined at the original power level. You can simply lift the limit up and it'll hash more.

ProgPow and most other core-based algorithms scale perfectly well with core count and doesn't have these weird discrepancies where a weak card (RX 570) hashes as much as a twice more expensive one (GTX 1070). That way you can get 2x more performance from 2x more expensive card, so it just balances it out. RX 570 and 580 will be as powerful as GTX 1060 3 and 6GB. Vega 56/64 will be as powerful as GTX 1070/1070Ti.

Yes, there are algorithms where AMD or NVIDIA are still better, but right now we're focusing on ProgPow.
I think you missed the point.
Of course you can lower the power limit on ProgPow. I'm doing just that with my Vega cards for example. I need to drop it by 30% to keep a rig of six Vega64's under 1400W... Which unfortunately it has a large impact on the hashrate. So it might improve your efficiency (slightly) but not enough to make it remarkably more profitable. On RX 570's dropping PL by only 10% radically lowers hashrate and it worsens as you go lower.
@dragonmike ? are your vegas modded with power play tables etc ?

I have 8 vegas and they are all modded voltages are like 850 to 800 for thr core and they pull no more than 160 to 180 watts even on x16 , progpow and like 140 watts on cn forks .

vegas must be power play modded with that spreadsheet unless you have refernce card which has a power play mod floating around.

I never even touch the power limit on any of my amd cards, it’s overdriven tool for my rx cards and powerplay plus overdriven for the vegas.

My vegas are my best mining cards hash/watt.

btw why is there no power play mod for rx cards?

private pool discord
https://discord.gg/7VRe2aW
Marvell2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 119


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 04:11:47 PM
 #16

Why you reduce the PL Limit on RX570? This is stupid. Lower Voltage and not the PL  Roll Eyes
Every RX570 can run 1250 on gpu core with 0,9 vgpu.

what do you mean by 0,9?

most of my rx are moddes to like 1130 core ,850mv 1875 mem , 925mv

they are great at cn 7 and eth, but horrible at progpow.  I max at like 8mhs and unstable as hell

I have mem straps modded too

private pool discord
https://discord.gg/7VRe2aW
hagbase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398
Merit: 251



View Profile
September 26, 2018, 05:30:57 PM
 #17

0,9V = 900mV

My settings for progpow

RX580 @ 10,3 mh/s
Core: 1240
Mem: 1750
Vcore: 890mV
vddci: 900mV
dpm: 5
pwr: 160W (@144W)

RX570 @ 8,5 mh/s
Core: 1150
Mem: 1750
VCore: 890mV
vddci : 900mV
dpm: 5
pwr: 150W(@133W)

Modded straps for all cards.
gsrcrxsi314
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 343
Merit: 29


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 06:18:12 PM
 #18

0,9V = 900mV

My settings for progpow

RX580 @ 10,3 mh/s
Core: 1240
Mem: 1750
Vcore: 890mV
vddci: 900mV
dpm: 5
pwr: 160W (@144W)

RX570 @ 8,5 mh/s
Core: 1150
Mem: 1750
VCore: 890mV
vddci : 900mV
dpm: 5
pwr: 150W(@133W)

Modded straps for all cards.

do the modded memory straps do anything for progpow? has anyone tested it side by side with a card before and after memory straps bios mod? or is everyone just assuming it helps?

from what i'm reading, it sounds like progpow is totally core speed dependent and doesnt really care about the gpu memory. is that correct?
hagbase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398
Merit: 251



View Profile
September 26, 2018, 06:55:58 PM
 #19


do the modded memory straps do anything for progpow? has anyone tested it side by side with a card before and after memory straps bios mod? or is everyone just assuming it helps?

from what i'm reading, it sounds like progpow is totally core speed dependent and doesnt really care about the gpu memory. is that correct?

Yes seems so, powerlimit has also an impact.   Just didn't flash my GPUs to default VBios cause i'm using ethOS in multirig config, so i can switch miners any time.
gsrcrxsi314
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 343
Merit: 29


View Profile
September 26, 2018, 07:18:26 PM
 #20

if i recall, ethos power setting is a straight power value in watts, not a power limit in percent. right?
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!