Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2019, 03:07:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Intake fan slow on S9 ? Which is fan 6 and fan 3 ?? Tried new PSU...  (Read 172 times)
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 12:12:56 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:08:57 PM by frodocooper
 #1

Hi All

Been reading through a LOT of posts on here but still no joy.

My intake fan is barely turning. I have tried a new fan, a 100% working fan from another S9 but still the same.

I have also tried flashing FW and fixed FW, still the same.

I am presuming that the intake fan is FAN 6 (around 6000RPM) and the Outtake fan in FAN 3 (around 4000RPM)

I have about 960-1000 RPM on FAN 6 and 6000 RPM on fan 3 ?

This also switches over on the Miner Status page if i swap the fan connections...

So i presume  the actual miner software is telling the intake fan to run slow  ?

Is there a way to make it run at full speed ?

I am even considering custom FW from Ebay !!!

I have also tried new and proved working PSU's with the same outcome??

Anyone help ?

Thanks
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
1561518448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561518448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561518448
Reply with quote  #2

1561518448
Report to moderator
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1367


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2018, 12:26:12 PM
 #2

You can check the fan connector name by having a close look at the control board.

See the markings (FAN1, FAN2, FAN3, FAN4, FAN5, FAN6).

https://mega.nz/#!l5d0RSzY!dnV4eP0eNJds_p0y7ezmLMiHZRR50kYZJH_oTLcPNIA


I guess there might be something wrong with you cooling fan that is connected to the connector FAN6.

Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 12:37:04 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:09:21 PM by frodocooper
 #3

Yes Fan 6 my intake fan is running to slow ?

They are marked on the board as FAN 6 and FAN 5...

Yet on ALL my S9's the 'overview screen' shows them as Fan 3 and Fan 6 ?? Think this has always been the case for some stupid reason ??

On the faulty one i have a fan3, fan5 and a fan 6 ?

Fan 3 -4500RPM and fan 5 and 6 -950rpm ??

Not sure what to try next ??

Cheers
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1367


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2018, 12:45:42 PM
 #4

Do you have a spare fan?

You could try changing the fan.

Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 01:18:22 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:09:44 PM by frodocooper
 #5

Do you have a spare fan?

You could try changing the fan.

Trying a 4th fan now, what i have noticed is that the intakes are 2.7a and outakes 1.6a ?? No wattage on them but 32.4W on intake, 19.2W on outake...

I tried a 1.6a on the intake, i've had these spare fans for years from before you could just search Antminer fan on Ebay...They are server fans.

Fan is running MUCH faster visually now with a 2.7a on the intake, temps still hitting 101, 97, 97 though and thats at 550RPM fixed freq !! Boards/heatsinks are spotless ?

It is also now showing NOT showing a fan5 speed, as normal with only a fan 3 @ 3720 and fan 6 @ 3960.

Weird..

Ebay is a minefield with them, all differing amperage, differing CFM, differing speeds ??
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1760


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 01:22:05 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:10:03 PM by frodocooper
 #6

sounds like you have weak fans.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 01:24:27 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:10:26 PM by frodocooper
 #7

I have so many fans it's unreal, some from S2 to S7's, plus some weak ones from very old LKETC miners...

Seems like its a 1.6 for outake and 2.7 for intake ?

Ebay is a minefield with them, all differing amperage, differing CFM, differing speeds ??

Anyone confirm this ??
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1760


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 01:37:42 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:10:54 PM by frodocooper
 #8

yeah  you want the 200cfm and above number

along with  over 5000 rpm

maybe this one would work

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIACJR8216565&cm_re=delta_120mm_fan-_-1YF-002Z-00035-_-Product

model qfr1212ghe

https://www.elecok.com/delta-qfr1212ghe-12v-2-7a-21-6w-cooling-fan.html?admatchtype=p&addevice=c&adcampaignid=309344972&adgourpid=1141293442196868&ad_targetid=kwd-71331187757476:loc-190&adnetwork=o&addevicemodel=%7Bdevicemodel%7D&adkeyword=qfr1212ghe&adplacement=%7Bplacement%7D&adposition=%7Badposition%7D

https://www.amazon.com/Cooling-Antminer-Bitmain-Connector-120x120x3-8mm/dp/B07FBS7835/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1539783607&sr=8-4&keywords=qfr1212ghe&dpID=51CQ-3Pn6gL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

the ones above are the full power ones

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 02:24:58 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:11:40 PM by frodocooper
 #9

Cheers philipma1957 Those Delta 2.7a ones are ones i alreaday have (had them years ago) and is the one i fitted to the miner in this thread, i do not think the 1.6a are powerful enough for the intake imo, i'm pretty sure ALL the latest S9's have smaller power outtake fans, surely someone could confirm this ? All mine are older models so have same fan on intake and outtake.
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 62


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 02:34:37 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:11:58 PM by frodocooper
 #10

Hi , i have ONE solution in hardware but easy to take !

the fan are 4 pin

- Black   =  - 12V
- Red     = + 12V
- Yellow =  Signal Speed
- Blue    = Signal PWM

If you try to disconnect ONLY the blue wire (PWM) the fan is forced to 100% ...

Try it to unlock your miner Wink
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 02:38:58 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:12:16 PM by frodocooper
 #11

Hi , i have ONE solution in hardware but easy to take !

the fan are 4 pin

- Black   =  - 12V
- Red     = + 12V
- Yellow =  Signal Speed
- Blue    = Signal PWM

If you try to disconnect ONLY the blue wire (PWM) the fan is forced to 100% ...

Try it to unlock your miner Wink

I came across this before i posted, the miner shuts downs after a few mins as it's not getting any signal back from the fan...Which made NO sense to me as the PWM is the output to the fan and the Signal is the input to the miner?

I also read the fan speeds can be set via pUTTY and altering the miner FW directly..There is also a video on youtube of this but it's not the best tbh.
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 62


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 03:19:21 PM
 #12

So, no problem, same S9 are switched connector (blue and yellow),

Try to reconnect the fan to normal mode, and remove ONLY the Yellow wire ! Wink
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 03:36:59 PM
 #13

So, no problem, same S9 are switched connector (blue and yellow),

Try to reconnect the fan to normal mode, and remove ONLY the Yellow wire ! Wink

I know exactly what you mean mate, its running fine now on with PWM, i might have a play in the future...lol

Plis if you just 'push' the pin down on the 4 pin connector it just 'pops' out, no need to be snipping anything.

Cheers
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 62


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 03:57:44 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:13:07 PM by frodocooper
Merited by BitMaxz (1)
 #14

Yes I know lol, I know this kind of trick, I fix the hashboard so it's to say: p smile!

So this has solved your problem artificially so ... the fan turns to the bottom without taking into account the instruction of the minor now ..

With pleasure Wink



PS:

I have a trick to adjust the fan if you are not comfortable with the code under putty ...

1 - make a backup of your minor
2 - open the archive
3 - open Bmminer.conf with WordPad
4 - add these 2 lines:

"bitmain-fan-ctrl": true,
"bitmain-fan-pwm": "95",

5 - Save, make sure that the file Bmminer.conf save in the archive is to modify, then restore your backup ... modified the 95 which is a value in% at your need ...

Otherwise you also have the hidden menu technique ... with the code of the page ...
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 101


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 05:04:21 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:13:45 PM by frodocooper
 #15

So both fans would run at 95% at all times ? Where would you add the extra lines ??

I would need a more detailed instructions mate...Cheers though
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 62


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 05:10:24 PM
 #16

Yes, two fan at 95% FIXED speed
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1194


Beware on fake trezor website from google ads.


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2018, 11:14:25 PM
 #17

So both fans would run at 95% at all times ? Where would you add the extra lines ??

I would need a more detailed instructions mate...Cheers though

You can modify the fan speed by accessing the miner through SSH(Putty).
You can check this sample guide from here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4425212.0

As he said only edit the line "bitmain-fan-ctrl": true," and "bitmain-fan-pwm": "95",

or you can modify the fan speed from the dashboard you can check this guide https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2690140.0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!