Bitcoin Forum
November 13, 2019, 11:49:48 AM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 38912 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
76grantorino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 02, 2019, 10:38:06 PM
Last edit: October 03, 2019, 02:08:56 AM by frodocooper
 #1201

I am a noob and not very familiar with computers so I apologize in advance but we all have to start somewhere. I'm currently reading every page of this thread and am half way done. I'm currently running 2 newpacs on a brovss usbh hub 10 port on windows 10(OptiPlex 7010). I have 3 sticks on the way and from my math I should be able to get 10.8w per stick but will run them at a lower wattage. Here are some questions I have and would love if someone could help school me up.
-When I put --gekko-newpac-boost at the end of my syntax(I believe this is what its called) and start cgminer. It says this is unrecognized. how do I fix this? I use slush pool so this is assuming that slush supports AB. google hasn't helped me determine if slushpool is compatible with AB. here is a copy and past of what I'm running.

Code:
@echo off

mode con: cols=120 lines=75
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://stratum.slushpool.com:3333 -u okfjgsrewofj.kldfjewio -p x --gekko-newpac-freq 325 --gekko-newpac-boost

echo. & pause
title Command Prompt

-what is sudo for the syntax? and why are people needing this?
- Where does diff come into play? now that i over clocked it its all over the place. Does this hold any significance i should be paying attention to? my bat file does not have--suggest-diff 128 in it either. Also, what's best share mean?
-I believe the VCORE is the screw to the bottom right. when should I be adjusting this? can the newpac be up and running while its adjusted or does it have to be shut down? What's the benefit of adjusting it?  I imagine there is a sweet spot of watts used vs hashrate? If this correct and if so what's the sweet spot? On page 5 it reads (200-250MHz, 830-860mV.) Does anyone have a photo of where the leads need to touch on the stick so I can see how much power its drawing?
-I read that you want to zdag all sticks. Whats that mean and do I really need to do this? if so how do you zdag new stick to your farm??
- when someone is saying they are running --usb :1. What's this mean?
-if the miners shut down midway through a block? do you still get paid for the portion of work you did? I mine at slushpool
-I see a lot of people have issues with degradation of performance and a lot of people are just rebooting them every 6-24 hrs. How do I write that code for my bat file for windows 10?
-I'm having an issue where I can not overclock  effectively past 300MHz(One is hashing at 68.4 and the other is 68.2).I purchased these from amazon from a guy who had them over clocked to 600MHz with a printout to verify. This leads me to believe the issues is me. not the sticks. I made a small adjustment to the screw counter clockwise and I can now go to 350MHZ but not for long. Is there a way to ramp in MHZ wile the cgminber is running or do you have to shut it down and go into the bat file and change it that way every time? What could be some of the common problems of this?
-What is the flat of the pot? Is this the heat sink? the Miner that shts off seems to get hot on the bottom left of the heat sink.
-Where is the restart script and where does it go in the bat file?
-how much fluctuation is considered unstable and what numbers are you watching for?
1573645788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573645788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573645788
Reply with quote  #2

1573645788
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1573645788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573645788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573645788
Reply with quote  #2

1573645788
Report to moderator
1573645788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573645788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573645788
Reply with quote  #2

1573645788
Report to moderator
1573645788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573645788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573645788
Reply with quote  #2

1573645788
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 03, 2019, 12:05:04 AM
Last edit: October 03, 2019, 02:09:31 AM by frodocooper
 #1202

-When I put --gekko-newpac-boost at the end of my syntax(I believe this is what its called) and start cgminer. It says this is unrecognized. how do I fix this?

ASIC Boost is on by default.  There is only a command to disable it for pools that have an incompatible implementation.  You should see a + after the number of chips recognized which denotes AB is enabled.  Read the top post.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
76grantorino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2019, 12:24:01 AM
 #1203

I do not have the + after is says 2 chip(s) found.
I'm reading the entire thread. Its teaching me how much I do not know. lol pg 20 and 40 more to go
WilcoWi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 40


View Profile
October 03, 2019, 12:34:10 AM
Last edit: October 03, 2019, 02:10:33 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #1204

I just started getting "found 0 chip(s)" error in CGMiner 4.11.1 and the r606 turning into a zombie; it has been mining steadily since august.  i tried to restart cgminer, changed the power connector and the usb cable, but the same error persists.  I am using Ubuntu 18.04.3LTS.

Got same with 10 newpac's on windows 10. Now i am resetting cgminer every 3h and my average has gone up from 0,95 TH to 1.01 TH.
I did start with resetting CGminer every 24h and ended @ every 3h giving me a good result.
The windows script is a few pages back.

In linux you can also make scripts, they already exist, just google it.
Maybe this solution i found out can work for you too.



-I read that you want to zdag all sticks. Whats that mean and do I really need to do this? if so how do you zdag new stick to your farm??

-I see a lot of people have issues with degradation of performance and a lot of people are just rebooting them every 6-24 hrs. How do I write that code for my bat file for windows 10?

-I'm having an issue where I can not overclock  effectively past 300MHz(One is hashing at 68.4 and the other is 68.2).I purchased these from amazon from a guy who had them over clocked to 600MHz with a printout to verify. This leads me to believe the issues is me. not the sticks. I made a small adjustment to the screw counter clockwise and I can now go to 350MHZ but not for long. Is there a way to ramp in MHZ wile the cgminber is running or do you have to shut it down and go into the bat file and change it that way every time? What could be some of the common problems of this?

Its zadig-2.4 you need it to replace drivers in windows to be able to run newpac on windows. These drivers are standard within Linux

Look @ page 54, i did post an windows script to reboot every x-seconds (3600 seconds is an hour).

On turning the srew and freq maybe Sidehack can answer correctly (i did also ask some questions about it @ around page 20-30).
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 03, 2019, 12:47:13 AM
 #1205

I do not have the + after is says 2 chip(s) found.
I'm reading the entire thread. Its teaching me how much I do not know. lol pg 20 and 40 more to go

Take the hub out of the mix for now, if that doesn't help with AB then try a test run on solo.ckpool.org as we know that supports AB correctly.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kalus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 262

let's make a deal.


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 02:07:41 AM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #1206

I just started getting "found 0 chip(s)" error in CGMiner 4.11.1 and the r606 turning into a zombie; it has been mining steadily since august.  i tried to restart cgminer, changed the power connector and the usb cable, but the same error persists.  I am using Ubuntu 18.04.3LTS.

update - i am running two r606, but just one is borked. The other one is running well at 800mhz since it was turned on.

i downclocked my settings to 700mhz/860mV, and after a few days of "resting" and a few false starts ("0 chip"/zombie errors), the miner started hashing again.

Not sure what happened but i will try to play with my clock speeds some more later.  it is running again so w00t

DC2ngEGbd1ZUKyj8aSzrP1W5TXs5WmPuiR wow need noms
Cohenpol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 12:50:51 PM
Last edit: October 07, 2019, 01:52:32 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (4)
 #1207

Hi All

So after approximately 17hrs of stable running with no frequency plateau's or missing nonces, I'm looking like this below:

x1 R606 V7 750/750/750 1.017T WU100% Diff 10K R0 HW1807

x4 NewPac's 2.23A 500/500/500 450G WU100% Diff 2.5K R2500 HW261

x1 2Pac 2.05A 262/262/262 28G WU100% Diff 512 R0 HW0

All plumbed into one Pi4B-4GB, x1 GS hub for the sticks, Lindy gold/shielded USB cables, x3 instances (--usb 1:1,1:2 etc --widescreen --quiet) and a DPS 1200FB-1A PSU.

Questions:

1. Is this looking okay, have I missed anything and are there any tweaks to be made?

2. Do the HW faults matter with BM1387 chips as I've tuned the Newpac's to optimum Vcore vs freq? I'm averaging 3.8HW faults per hour per Newpac and 106HW per hour for the R606.

3. With ref to difficulty set in the command line, what should it be once you have established stable figures?  I've read x5 the total hashrate per device, start at 1, start at 32, leave blank and also a formula which I can't locate anymore.  What exactly is the diff, how does it effect me within solo.ckpool...any tips?

4. I plan to install everything above and more into a Hydra III server case with x3 120mm bequiet silent wings 3 or ac infinity fans drawing in and x4 80mm bequiet silent wings 2 or ac infinity fans pulling out.  The R606' will be set to accept this inward flow direction and I was wondering if removing the integral R606 fan would cause a heat issue?  The arctic fan it comes with is slightly louder than I would like so planning that the case fans would have the CFM to do it.  Has anyone installed their kit into a server case or modded the integral fan?  A portable case has got to be better than what my testing area looks like at present!

5. Is there a link to the older 4.10.0 version anywhere via linux?

6. From the README file..."SOLO MINING. Solo mining can be done efficiently as a single pool entry or a backup to any other pooled mining and it is recommended everyone have solo mining set up as their final backup in case all their other pools are DDoSed/down for the security of the network. To enable solo mining, one must be running a local bitcoind/bitcoin-qt or have one they have rpc access to. To do this, edit your bitcoind configuration file (bitcoin.conf) with the following extra lines, using your choice of username and password: rpcuser=username rpcpassword=password Restart bitcoind, then start cgminer, pointing to the bitcoind and choose a btc address with the following options, altering to suit their setup: cgminer -o http://localhost:8332 -u username -p password --btc-address 15qSxP1SQcUX3o4nhkfdbgyoWEFMomJ4rZ Note the http:// is mandatory for solo mining."  Does this mean my command line has this and the btc address twice but the second time without the worker?

Code:
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp//de.ckpool.org:3333 -u btc_address.worker -p x --btc-address btc_address --usb 1:6 --gekko-r606-freq 750 --widescreen --quiet

Thanks for the advice and patience, I think I'm pretty much there and am ready to expand.
Swagboss2016
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 01:10:38 PM
Last edit: October 05, 2019, 01:22:49 PM by Swagboss2016
 #1208

hey so I just got a new pack USB minner and it been mining for about 24 hours now and I am not getting a consistent hash rate is there any way I can get some help? image attached below of my hash rate chart

https://ibb.co/WW957JS
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 02:12:17 PM
Last edit: October 07, 2019, 01:54:18 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #1209

[...]

Your R606 numbers look good and inline with what I get at power level 5 on my batch 2 unit.

2.  ASIC's have always gotten Hardware faults, that is pretty much a characteristic of ASIC's.  I don't even look at them anymore as long as my hashrate is decent, and yours is.

3.  You shouldn't need to worry about setting a minimum difficulty for any decent pool.  That setting is just so that an ASIC doesn't flood a pool with diff 1 shares before the pool adjusts to a reasonable value.  Most good pools start at a high value and adjust to a reasonable value that produces around 18 shares per minute. So don't worry about it and let the pool adjust it as the pool will do the adjustment regardless of what you set anyway.

5.  With Gekko gear you need to se VH's versions of CGMiner "."

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Cohenpol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 02:30:15 PM
 #1210

Thanks very much for the info.  I've added a question 6 to my previous post...what do you think to adding the --btc-address xyz for soloing as per the readme?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 05, 2019, 02:38:10 PM
 #1211

Thanks very much for the info.  I've added a question 6 to my previous post...what do you think to adding the --btc-address xyz for soloing as per the readme?

"--btc-address" is required for solo mining to your local Bitcoin client.  If you are solo mining to a solo pool like solo.ckpool.org it is not required since that is a pool and not your local bitcoin client.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
margotcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 17


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 05:42:44 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2019, 02:29:30 AM by frodocooper
 #1212

Hi all !

So Christmas came early for me today .. https://imgur.com/MOICfnT

But somehow playing with cgminer in the last month and nothing connected to it wasn't enough to get everything up and running.

I don't have a fan yet for the newpacs so for now I am just trying to run the r606 (btw I thought it'd be bigger)

Anyhow, I am running cgminer 4.3.3 on a mac (downloaded it from spaceman) but the interface doesn't see the usb.

I bought the power brick but then read that it's more efficient connecting the power to a PSU (so I did), the usb cable goes to a 2.0 usb on the motherboard (also tried 3.0 with no luck)

I connect to the ck solo at de.ckpool.org:3333 then use my btc address for username and x for password

I read about the need? (not sure) to compile Homebrew, is that it for me ? Do I just punch in that code ?

Also running your syntax doesn't seem to work, not sure if relevant

OS X

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --suggest-diff 128

That's why I just hit enter at the precompiled version of cgminer and only then I type in the url, user and password in the terminal, not sure what else to do, any suggestions please ?
kalus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 262

let's make a deal.


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 08:20:59 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2019, 02:38:30 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #1213

vh created an r606 branch to the cgminer compile.  perhaps try testing this branch. See this post for compiling instructions:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg51597960#msg51597960

1. which mac are you on?  >About This Mac>System Report>Model Identifier  (e.g. MacPro5,1)

2. Do you get some sort of error message?

3. When the r606 is plugged into the mac, in the System Information app, does it show up as a device under Hardware>USB>USB Device Tree ?

DC2ngEGbd1ZUKyj8aSzrP1W5TXs5WmPuiR wow need noms
margotcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 17


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 10:23:52 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2019, 02:37:40 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #1214

1. which mac are you on?  >About This Mac>System Report>Model Identifier  (e.g. MacPro5,1)

well, it's actually a hackintosh I put together, the identifier was installed as a iMac late 2012 running 10.12.6, I wanna say 13,1 but could also be 13,2 (21 vs 27 inch imac)
it's a gygabyte Z170-HD3 motherboard with a intel 3.7 GHz Intel Core i3 and a crucial PSU, no video card, I am using the machine as a home server so I only access it remotely

2. Do you get some sort of error message?

not that I can tell, here is what I get when starting cgminer, I would say no error beside the no device found

Code:
[2019-10-07 14:48:47] Started cgminer 4.3.3
[2019-10-07 14:48:49] No devices detected!
[2019-10-07 14:48:49] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
[2019-10-07 14:48:49] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:
de.ckpool.org:3333    should I use stratum+tcp://de.ckpool.org:3333 instead ? not even sure what the difference is here ..
Username:
[btc] address
Password:
x

and then it logs in ck pool, I get the authorised and welcome message

Code:
[2019-10-07 15:08:15] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 10000
[2019-10-07 15:08:15] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to solo.ckpool.org
[2019-10-07 15:08:15] Probing for an alive pool
[2019-10-07 15:08:16] Network diff set to 12.8T

problem is no hashrate

3. When the r606 is plugged into the mac, in the System Information app, does it show up as a device under Hardware>USB>USB Device Tree ?

Under USB it shows up as R606 Bitcoin Miner

and below all a bunch of data

Code:
R606 Bitcoin Miner:

  Product ID: 0x6015
  Vendor ID: 0x0403  (Future Technology Devices International Limited)
  Version: 10.00
  Serial Number: GS-100XXXXXX
  Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
  Manufacturer: GekkoScience
  Location ID: 0x14600000 / 1
  Current Available (mA): 500
  Current Required (mA): 90
  Extra Operating Current (mA): 0
  Built-In: Yes

vh created an r606 branch to the cgminer compile.  perhaps try testing this branch. See this post for compiling instructions:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg51597960#msg51597960

You mentioned this branch to cgminer, I am just a little confused.
Should I run the Homebrew code you guys talk about on the first page ?
And then your branch ? Or just run your branch code ?
I am asking because I don't understand the code ..  so not sure how to proceed, thank you!
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 10:36:23 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2019, 02:39:00 AM by frodocooper
 #1215

You need to use the version of CGMiner VH made for the Gekko equipment which is linked on the top post.  Regular CGMiner does not work with the R606 or sticks. Also the version you are trying to use is ancient so it probably doesn't work with anything current.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
margotcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 17


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 11:09:41 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2019, 02:39:25 AM by frodocooper
 #1216

All I can see in the top post about macs is this line of code I don't understand. Should I just run it or am I missing something ?

Mac OSX Compiling with Homebrew (NewPac Only / R606 support on the way)

    El Capitan (10.11.6)

Code:
/usr/bin/ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"
brew doctor
brew tap vthoang/cgminer
brew install cgminer
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 11:21:42 PM
 #1217

Those look like instructions for building CGMiner.  But I don't know anything about Mac stuff.  Search through the thread, I think somebody got it to work on a Mac but I don't know how successful they were.

You would probably be better off using Ubuntu or a Pi 4.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
bluudz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 186
Merit: 100

Why so serious?


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2019, 01:57:47 AM
 #1218

Any idea where can I buy few more GekkoScience NewPacs with delivery options to New Zealand?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1499

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
October 08, 2019, 04:15:48 AM
 #1219

Eyeboot ships from Hong Kong which is sorta in that corner of the globe. MineFarmBuy and 419mining both will ship international from USA. ASICPuppy might also but I don't know for sure.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
kalus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 262

let's make a deal.


View Profile
October 08, 2019, 06:48:22 PM
Last edit: October 09, 2019, 02:23:08 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), margotcoins (1)
 #1220

not that I can tell, here is what I get when starting cgminer, I would say no error beside the no device found...

Based on what you're telling me, The miner appears to be detected MacOS. take a look at this procedure to remove the VPS modem driver:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50638400#msg50638400

You mentioned this branch to cgminer, I am just a little confused.
Should I run the Homebrew code you guys talk about on the first page ?
And then your branch ? Or just run your branch code ?
I am asking because I don't understand the code ..  so not sure how to proceed, thank you!

please read the above link again - it has the exact command you need to compile the r606 branch of the mining software.

well, it's actually a hackintosh I put together, the identifier was installed as a iMac late 2012 running 10.12.6, I wanna say 13,1 but could also be 13,2 (21 vs 27 inch imac)...

When you mentioned swapping from USB2 and USB3 i figured; imo if you have the technical expertise to setup a Hackintosh, I would recommend you dual boot into Ubuntu on a separate drive.  it will be far less PITA to troubleshoot on your exact, same hardware. Even the Identifier (e.g. imac13,1 imac13,2 imac14,2) you picked in Clover can make a huge difference as to how ports are addressed, and is typically hardware-specific to your motherboard and chipsets. I can help out with mining on MacOS, but troubleshooting hackintoshes is out of my wheelhouse.

DC2ngEGbd1ZUKyj8aSzrP1W5TXs5WmPuiR wow need noms
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!