Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2019, 05:02:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 ... 68 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 40597 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2018, 05:13:41 AM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 12:30:15 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #161

thingiverse 3d model uploaded,

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3270261

it is a work in progress. bear that in mind.

I also have the 70mm fans, I'll post those to our website tomorrow. nice little USB connector for power (see previous post)

I've looking at cheap tablet stand to support the fan above but this might be interesting to play with. I'm using two 140mm fan now. one above and one from the side.

my desktop is modular with bays. I've been thinking of trying to set a hub inside a bay with two fans from and back since the newpacs for me have have close to zero issues or "zombies". Sidehacks hub has a six pin and might try to find a way to use a sata cable if that possible. Or maybe just a pipe dream.

1) I can model out a hold for 140mm if you like, the design is very modular
2) that would be a cool idea, check out the power cables from GPU miner risers, they are a sata to 6pin conversion cable but a direct draw from the power supply over 6 a PCIe power cable would be preferable.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
1576342940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576342940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576342940
Reply with quote  #2

1576342940
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1576342940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576342940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576342940
Reply with quote  #2

1576342940
Report to moderator
House Xylander
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 5


View Profile
December 09, 2018, 05:25:10 AM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 12:30:41 AM by frodocooper
 #162

thingiverse 3d model uploaded,

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3270261

it is a work in progress. bear that in mind.

I also have the 70mm fans, I'll post those to our website tomorrow. nice little USB connector for power (see previous post)

[...]

looking good, now i just need to get a 3d printer.
gcanelson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 44


View Profile
December 09, 2018, 05:30:42 AM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 12:31:15 AM by frodocooper
 #163

Summary from a Saturday of rearranging the system...

After much mucking about, the end result is pretty good:
The 9 NewPacs are rock solid - no `missing nonces' and such. 6 @ 550 MHz and 3 @ 475 MHz in a `3 by 3' set of cgminer instances... I pulled the 2Pacs out of the Eyeboot USB3.0 Hub... they can have a rest until the new 2.0 hubs arrive... well, all but one 2Pac which is quietly running at 200 MHz in its own cgminer instance... the Terminus is also running happy at 250 MHz, also in its own cgminer instance...each type of GS `flavor' is on its own controller and hub... Lots of fans everywhere...All miners, including the one suspect of the six new arrivals from yesterday are running at or within 1/2 percent of expected hashrate...solid, solid and solid... I'm not the least bit panicked about heat and the 9 NewPacs have been running for 14 hours in this configuration... still show as GSH 0, 1 and 2 on each cgminer - with no restarts. If I haven't said so before, these NewPacs are fantastic...

There's no point in calling them impossible or unbelievable. They clearly have happened!

The block, an obstacle in the path of the weak, became a stepping-stone in the path of the strong.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 09, 2018, 08:44:21 PM
 #164

Anyway to apply a specific freq to each stick on the same hub?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 171


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2018, 08:52:34 PM
 #165

Anyway to apply a specific freq to each stick on the same hub?

Have to run multiple batch files with "--usb :1" in the line along with the change in freq. I think there's a way to target specific ports but I don't recall how to do that.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 171


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2018, 08:54:16 PM
 #166

Summmary from a Saturday of rearranging the system...

After much mucking about, the end result is pretty good:
The 9 NewPacs are rock solid - no `missing nonces' and such. 6 @ 550 MHz and 3 @ 475 MHz in a `3 by 3' set of cgminer instances... I pulled the 2Pacs out of the Eyeboot USB3.0 Hub... they can have a rest until the new 2.0 hubs arrive... well, all but one 2Pac which is quietly running at 200 MHz in its own cgminer instance... the Terminus is also running happy at 250 MHz, also in its own cgminer instance...each type of GS `flavor' is on its own controller and hub... Lots of fans everywhere...All miners, including the one suspect of the six new arrivals from yesterday are running at or within 1/2 percent of expected hashrate...solid, solid and solid... I'm not the least bit panicked about heat and the 9 NewPacs have been running for 14 hours in this configuration... still show as GSH 0, 1 and 2 on each cgminer - with no restarts. If I haven't said so before, these NewPacs are fantastic...

There's no point in calling them impossible or unbelievable. They clearly have happened!

Nice, glad everything is humming a long. Any shots of the set up?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 09, 2018, 09:10:19 PM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 12:31:48 AM by frodocooper
 #167

Have to run multiple batch files with "--usb :1" in the line along with the change in freq. I think there's a way to target specific ports but I don't recall how to do that.

Thanks for the help. Got two instances running one stick will do no more than 300mhz and the other no more than 350mhz. Any high and they drop out. Can’t figure out how you guys are running them so high.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2018, 10:55:37 PM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 12:32:03 AM by frodocooper
 #168

looking good, now i just need to get a 3d printer.

check out the Creality3D Ender 3, its what I run, its got a good size build platform and the price was very reasonable.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
House Xylander
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 5


View Profile
December 10, 2018, 01:06:06 AM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 02:09:15 AM by frodocooper
 #169

check out the Creality3D Ender 3, its what I run, its got a good size build platform and the price was very reasonable.

will do, thank you
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 171


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2018, 05:47:31 AM
Last edit: December 10, 2018, 10:02:23 AM by frodocooper
 #170

Thanks for the help. Got two instances running one stick will do no more than 300mhz and the other no more than 350mhz. Any high and they drop out. Can’t figure out how you guys are running them so high.

Nice, I'm sitting at 350 myself. Waiting to figure out better cooling. Think that's your issue? they get to hot and throw nonce? I'll might try to hit 375 an 400 this week if I get the chance to sit around tinker.

3D printing I wonder what we have access to? I think makerbot? They any good 419?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 10, 2018, 01:38:44 PM
Last edit: December 11, 2018, 12:03:22 AM by frodocooper
 #171

Nice, I'm sitting at 350 myself. Waiting to figure out better cooling. Think that's your issue? they get to hot and throw nonce? I'll might try to hit 375 an 400 this week if I get the chance to sit around tinker.

3D printing I wonder what we have access to? I think makerbot? They any good 419?

I think that may well have been my issue. Put a 120x38 delta fan on them through a duct and they seem to be homding at 55ghs each at 350m now.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1510

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 10, 2018, 02:33:04 PM
 #172

That's pretty bad. 350MHz should get you 80GH each. If it takes that much fan to cool them and the hashrate is still that bad at speed, your voltage is probably way the heck too high. If the flat of the pot is anywhere on the left side it's too high.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 10, 2018, 02:55:48 PM
 #173

And theres me thinking it wasnt high enough. Ill be turning them down when I get home then lol. Where abouts should it be sidehack? Its been a while since I dabbled with the compacs.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2018, 03:20:20 PM
Last edit: December 11, 2018, 12:04:02 AM by frodocooper
 #174

3D printing I wonder what we have access to? I think makerbot? They any good 419?

Makerbots are good, just not cheap. I wouldnt buy one, but if you have access to one through a school, take advantage of that.

If enough people need it, I can print them (for a small fee, maybe $3 + shipping?) and mail them out.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 10, 2018, 03:43:34 PM
Last edit: December 11, 2018, 12:04:24 AM by frodocooper
 #175

Makerbots are good, just not cheap. I wouldnt buy one, but if you have access to one through a school, take advantage of that.

If enough people need it, I can print them (for a small fee, maybe $3 + shipping?) and mail them out.

Definitely another venture for the site. If you do 3D printing. I was on talks with a guy a few months ago to design a duct for the HP server psus so you could have a stronger fan blowing through from the back but he never got back to me. A fan mount for usb sticks on the ther hand is always a winner.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
cjsummers82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 29


View Profile
December 11, 2018, 02:12:01 AM
Last edit: December 11, 2018, 04:32:48 AM by cjsummers82
 #176

A new build is available (9d66fd3):

Windows binary: cgminer-4.11.1-windows-gekko-9d66fd3.7z

  - Fixed datetime display.

  - Closed gaps in data transmission to reduce line power fluxations.
    - Spin off dedicated work tx thread.
    - Switch from blocking get_work to get_queued.
    - Send null work to keep asic busy during network glitches and when pool is reacting to block events.

Reminder best practice update process: keep old working (or favorite) build readily available.
  • move the existing "cgminer" folder to "cgminer.yyyymmdd"
  • clone repository to create a new cgminer folder as noted from first post instructions.

vh:
Thanks for the update!  I noticed that the hardware error percentage rate has been removed/omitted from this version...was that intentional?
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
December 11, 2018, 05:12:37 AM
Last edit: December 12, 2018, 01:46:59 AM by frodocooper
 #177

vh:
Thanks for the update!  I noticed that the hardware error percentage rate has been removed/omitted from this version...was that intentional?

I don't recall explicitly adjusting anything related to hardware error percentages.
Try attaching a screen shot of what you notice was omitted in this build.

Not much has changed recently on the display side.

Jan 2017 (about two years ago)



Dec 2018 (this build)



If you are comparing pre 4.10, I wouldn't be able to answer.  

There would probably be some notes in GitHub.

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 529


View Profile
December 11, 2018, 10:26:09 AM
 #178

Well after turning down the pot to the 6oclock position and setting it to 400freq im still only getting 55ghs each. Can anyone help out? I cant figure ot why they wont break the 55ghs mark.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
December 11, 2018, 02:24:51 PM
Last edit: December 12, 2018, 01:47:45 AM by frodocooper
 #179

Return the stick to it's factory vcore to ease power draw at high frequency.  



Test them one at a time to see if you can push past 55GHs.

Start at 300MHz, unless you get 68GHs (0.228 x 300) don't go higher .

Try with and without the hub - single stick.  

I find my dell's usb port does pretty well with a single stick, fan, no powered hub.

Once you get 68GHs, bump the freq up by no more than 25-50MHz at a time, test for 24hrs...

One at a time first and you should be able to find where the bottleneck is.

henrik80
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2018, 03:03:49 PM
Last edit: December 12, 2018, 01:50:22 AM by frodocooper
 #180

I just got my Newpac today. Seeing a lot of HW errors even at 100MHz. Could this be due to a dodgy hub?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 ... 68 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!