Bitcoin Forum
September 15, 2019, 11:13:57 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 34344 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
Fruitman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2019, 05:33:57 PM
Last edit: June 30, 2019, 04:11:41 AM by frodocooper
 #881

Why is the Voltage Factory setting at 830mV ?
The Table at bitshopper says 1,26V is the lowest Voltage -  Huh

And at 250MHz 1,4V is the lowest - so should i set it to 1,4V when i Run it at 250Mhz?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568589237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568589237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568589237
Reply with quote  #2

1568589237
Report to moderator
1568589237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568589237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568589237
Reply with quote  #2

1568589237
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 29, 2019, 05:36:06 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #882

Because you're looking at 2Pac tables. If the NewPac were capable of being set at 1.26V it would pretty much immediately burst into flames.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Fruitman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2019, 07:03:11 PM
 #883

Because you're looking at 2Pac tables. If the NewPac were capable of being set at 1.26V it would pretty much immediately burst into flames.

ok thats wired... The Table is listed under Newpac setup: https://www.bitshopper.de/support/instructions/newpac/newpac-setup-linux-raspberry-pi/?lang=en
so maybe someone have the right table ?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 29, 2019, 07:30:22 PM
 #884

The title says NewPac, but everything below it references 2Pacs and BM1384 ASICs and all the performance data is 2Pac info.

Check the first post of this thread for NewPac-specific data.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
mstrozier
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 110


View Profile
June 30, 2019, 01:11:34 AM
Last edit: July 01, 2019, 11:12:51 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #885

Also if you are looking for detailed Raspberry Pi instructions I have a set on this page of this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875.

I may do a video at some point.  Since the Raspberry Pi 4 has now been released, I'm curious if the newer enhancements resolved some of the issues some of us ran into when running R606's on them.    Also I haven't updated those instructions yet, but if you wanted to run both newpac and R606 on the Pi, the Future Technology Devices International that you will see in my instructions for the newpacs are the same for the R606.  The only difference is when you do the lsusb command, the newpacs will always be on Bus 1 the R606 for me have been on Bus 4.  So for the --usb in the actual script you would then add the R606's as 4:1. 4:2 (or whatever the device # is for them)  etc.  And if running together then add --gekko-r606-freq 550  (or whatever freq you are running at).

** Edit**

The raspberry pi instructions has now been updated.   And of course today since I haven't tested the 3 b+ since the last few updates from vh, decided to try today.  And potential record a vid on it to help others.  And this happens:

Code:
mstrozier@raspberrypi:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 013: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 010: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 009: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 1a40:0201 Terminus Technology Inc. FE 2.1 7-port Hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 0424:7800 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:2514 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
mstrozier@raspberrypi:~ $

The pi has to prove me wrong about the Bus #'s   Grin  So if this happens, basically good luck figuring out which is newpac and which is the r606 lol.  Will have to test them one at a time with a script to determine what's what.



Ok, retested the Raspberry Pi 3 b+ with all latest software and updates on the Pi.   It runs stable, not locking up as I ran into before.  However the r606's just will not run at 700+ Mhz on the pi.  Maybe the new Pi 4 but at least on the 3 b+ and prior models I don't see it happening.

I have a screen shot here: https://ibb.co/wdHtTbq

I had them set to 725Mhz and it detuned down to 588Mhz running stable.  Hashing an average of 745Gh/s per unit.  Which is not bad and if you are going to run these at near stock freq / speeds then the Pi would be ideal.  However from my experience if you are wanting to take full advantage of overclocking and running at higher speeds then putting this on a dedicated Linux box will be far better.  Or another small board computer but with a better processor and at least DDR 3 or better memory, 2GB or better.  My pi unit only has 1gb of ram and is DDR 2 memory.

And the newpacs, run perfectly on the pi.  They achieved their overclock of 425 and hold stable.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 31


View Profile
June 30, 2019, 06:44:57 PM
 #886

Also if you are looking for detailed Raspberry Pi instructions I have a set on this page of this thread  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

Worked like a charm on a new Pi3 I got for Father's day, gave merit to mstrozier and my thank you from a very happy "4 Newpack solo lotto" miner.
hersh9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 30, 2019, 07:51:25 PM
Last edit: July 01, 2019, 11:13:39 AM by frodocooper
 #887

Thanks for the update! I did buy a Pi 3 to use as a controller -guess I'll just let it sit on the shelf. As a n00b, I have found that the controller is the most difficult (important) part of my R606 journey.

I tried a new windows 10 laptop and an old windows 7 laptop and could not get the R606 up to speed. Forget using my iMac -I failed misurably trying to make that happen. Thankfully, I had two other laptops, one with windows 7 and the other with windows 10 -I spent several hours tweaking both for mining. (killing the bloat on the 10 was a must to get it going) Now, I have my 2 R606 both averaging 900+ GH/s at 700 Mhz (ish) on 2 seperate controllers!

Lastly, the freakout the other day about data -yes, true story, I used over 1,000 GB of data in a few days -I still have no clue how that is even possible. I discovered it was the new windows 10 machine I originnaly purchased as a controller -I wiped it clean and now it sits collecting dust.

Thanks for the great R606's and all the info here! Now I'm looking forward to learning what I'm actually doing -still no clue, but it's fun!

https://ibb.co/xCPLRSL
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 12


View Profile
July 01, 2019, 07:04:04 PM
 #888

Sounds like the text UI library is not installed by default in Ubuntu 18.

Code:
sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev

clone and build again afterwards.

I'll update the first post accordingly.



Linux update?

Yes, linux only.
Windows support has recently been discontinued upstream.   
I'll continue to post a link to the binary so long as it's still build-able.

Was using Raspian.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 31


View Profile
July 02, 2019, 09:56:02 PM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #889

7 Newpacks running fine @ freq. 200, 320-355 GH/s. Using Raspbian, Pi3 B+

Just added the other 3 thanks to outstanding customer service from GekkoScience and minefarmbuy, in the time it took me to figure out the Raspberry Pi they replaced the 3  "faulty" miners!

I had 4 running well @150 for a day and a bit, then went to freq 200 for another day, when the warrantied 3 Newpacks arrived I just added them and started all 7 straight at 200, no issues so far after a day+

Oh, I run 2 USB fans pointed at them and the Heatsink temps run from 36 to 40C; What temp should this run at?

This weekend I add the R-606 to the Rasp and see if I can have my ultimate "BTC Solo/Lotto" self sufficient machine!

Thanks again Sidehack
Macca911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 3


View Profile
July 03, 2019, 10:16:02 PM
Last edit: July 04, 2019, 10:49:02 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #890

For anyone who's interested, threw this NewPac rig together last night on a laptop cooling pad.
  • 1 x Raspberry Pi 3b+
  • 1 x 7-Port Hub with 60W Power Adapter
  • 4 x NewPacs @ 318.75MHz  - Averaging a stable 71.80Gh/s each
  • 4 x 'Extra Power' USB Splitters
  • 1 x 2TB HDD

Solid little setup, not the most rock-solid active cooling solution, however the heat seems to be dispersed rather evenly.
Special Thanks to 419Mining for sorting out terrible USPS service.

Picture below:
https://i.ibb.co/HV2wpWN/thumbnail-image1.jpg
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 62

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2019, 12:51:59 AM
 #891

Very nice looking professional setup you have there!

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Gems41
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 11:12:45 AM
Last edit: July 04, 2019, 12:10:03 PM by Gems41
 #892

Hi there,

Does anyone know what the optimal thread-concurrency setting is for the Newpac and 2pac? and how to change the thread-concurrency setting on a Raspberry Pi running Raspien?

Cheers  Smiley
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 02:59:06 PM
Last edit: July 06, 2019, 04:14:02 AM by frodocooper
 #893

Noob question:

If I solo mine my R606 to solo.ckpool.org, I generally get around 900Gh/s.

If I solo mine to my own bitcoind node (http://localhost:8332) I only get around 730 Gh/s.

Does anyone know why?  Is the code in cgminer that optimizes R606 only working when used with a pool or something?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2744
Merit: 1018


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 03:24:02 PM
Last edit: July 06, 2019, 04:14:16 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #894

The pool is optimized for mining in code, server hardware and internet connection.  The default bitcoind is not.  Also the Bitcoin client doesn't support ASIC Boost where that pool does.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 03:42:44 PM
 #895

Thanks os2sam. 
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 04:00:08 PM
 #896

ASICBoost is probably the biggest factor in that. It's basically impossible to push past 800GH on a single pod without it due to USB packet limitations.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 04:50:53 PM
Last edit: July 06, 2019, 04:15:07 AM by frodocooper
 #897

Regarding ASIC Boost, when I run cgminer, I always specify "lowboost" anyway (cause I use Windows), even when going through a pool, so are you positive that's the biggest factor?  I should probably test it with no-boost.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
July 04, 2019, 05:27:51 PM
Last edit: July 06, 2019, 04:15:19 AM by frodocooper
 #898

Solo mine it to solo.ckpool

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Gems41
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 05, 2019, 10:19:34 AM
 #899

Hey guys,

So I keep getting HW errors on my Newpac, and every few hours cgminer reads: missing nonces, Toggling ASIC nRST to reset.

My Newpac then resets, however I've noticed this is effecting my hashrate.

This issue is exclusive to my Newpac, I'm running two 2pacs on the same usb hub and they are performing very well with no issues. (I've been running the  Newpac at 300MHz the last few days, and last night I  lowered it to 275MHz but its still producing HW errors.) (The 2Pacs are both running at 150MHz)

Can anyone help me out with this? I have no idea how to get rid of these HW errors.

Has anyone else had this issue with their Newpac?

Cheers
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 521


View Profile
July 05, 2019, 11:37:49 AM
 #900

What revision of cgminer are you using? What hub are you using? What type of pc is it connected to? HW errors themselves arent a big issue, the missing nonces is an irritation when it affects hashrate though.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!