Bitcoin Forum
January 28, 2020, 10:21:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory won't accept my rootkey on my paper backup  (Read 145 times)
jfab925
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 16, 2018, 06:56:39 PM
 #1

I'm trying to recover my wallet and I have a paper back up but every time I put my rootkey in the two lines EXACTLY how my paper backup has it written, Armory gives me an "Error in Line #1" alert. Ive tried and tried. Can anyone shed some light on this issue please? I'd very much appreciate it!
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1580206917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580206917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580206917
Reply with quote  #2

1580206917
Report to moderator
1580206917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580206917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580206917
Reply with quote  #2

1580206917
Report to moderator
1580206917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580206917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580206917
Reply with quote  #2

1580206917
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1316


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2018, 07:06:19 PM
 #2

Check the first line from the rootkey maybe something missing, it might be one letter or more and it should be 38 letters per line.

Honestly, I don't have much experience with this wallet but I found a video guide if how to restore the armory wallet.

You can follow the guide from this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=81&v=5et2BfLzEHs


HeRetiK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1203


the forkings will continue until morale improves


View Profile
November 16, 2018, 09:07:44 PM
 #3

Have you tried upgrading Armory? Here's a thread from earlier this year describing pretty much the error that you received:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2672316.0

Pmalek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1222



View Profile
November 16, 2018, 10:39:31 PM
 #4

It might seem silly but check if you are not misspelling the letter O instead of the number 0 or vice verse.

████████████████████████████
████████▀▀ █▀ █▀ ▀██████████
█████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
██████████▀     ▀  ▀████████
███████▀ ▀  ▄█▀▀▀█▀▀████████
██████▄      █▄  ▀▀  ▀██████
██████         ▄▄█▄ ▄ ▀█████
█████ ▄         ▀▀ ▄ ▀ █████
██████▌          █▀█▀ ▐█████
███████  ▄▌         ▄ ██████
████████▄█         ▄████████
█████████▀     ▄▄ ▄█████████
████████████████████████████
.JACKMATE'S...........
.
MAJESTIC..
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
.
..WIN 1 BITCOIN ON EVERY PREMIER LEAGUE MATCHDAY..
████████████████████████████████
████████████▀█▀ ▀█▀█▀███████████
███████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
█████████▀▄ ██▀▄▄▄ ▀ ▄▀█████████
███████▀ ▀█████▄▄▄█▄▄▄██████████
███████▀▄████████▀  ▀█ █▐███████
███████ ▀█████████▄█▀▀██ ███████
████████ ███▀██████ ▄ ██ ███████
████████▌▐▀▄ ██████████ ▄███████
█████████▄██▌▐█████▀██ █████████
████████████▄▀▀▀▀▀▄ ▀▄██████████
████████████████████████████████
.
.JOIN US - IT'S FREE! .
jfab925
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 19, 2018, 01:25:53 AM
Merited by LoyceV (1)
 #5

Ok so the problem appears to be that I don't have enough letters in my rootkey, I seem to only have lines of 32 letters in my root key. It must've been cut off when I printed it. I do have the QR cod on there though. How could I go about restoring it from the QR code?
pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 2277


Remember tonight for it's the beginning of forever


View Profile
November 19, 2018, 04:45:06 AM
Merited by LoyceV (1)
 #6

How could I go about restoring it from the QR code?

if you have a smart phone, install a QR reader application on it (i use Barcode Scanner which is a good app IMO) then scan the QR code, copy the string it gives you and transfer it back to your PC.
there are QR readers for PC too but i have not used any to suggest them. be careful what you download and install though.

LoyceV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1736
Merit: 5638


Most of loyce.club works again


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2018, 07:13:23 AM
 #7

be careful what you download and install though.
I wouldn't trust just any QR-app on a phone, but if that's your last resort:
1. Install the app
2. Take the phone offline (Wifi and data)
3. Scan the QR-code
4. Recover your Bitcoins (and Forkcoins)
5. Never use the same wallet again (but keep the backup anyway)
6. After moving your funds to safety, you can connect your phone to the world again.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!