Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:51:58 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: overvolting an asus 5870 in linux  (Read 2167 times)
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
March 28, 2011, 06:08:17 PM
 #1

I can currently volt up to 1.2125 which puts me stable at about 940 core clock. I'd really like to be able to overvolt to 1.35v like I can in windows using MSI Afterburner or Asus SmartDoctor.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121374 is my card for reference. I can definitely reach 1000 core clock easily by upping the voltage in windows, but I can't get past what seems to be a hardcoded bios limit of 1.2125 in linux.

I've tried using the Radeon Bios Editor, but when I get to the clocks page I get the following:

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/8150/screenshotuhq.png

the gpu / voltage registers are grayed out and when I try to manually set my voltage to 1.35v for Clock Info 03, aticonfig won't recognize the card in linux anymore even when I reinstall the drivers. RBE forums say this is because you have to change the voltage in the registers, but they are blanked out for me.

Does anyone have a working bios for my card that allows the voltage up to 1.35v OR a tool in linux that will let me volt as high as Asus Smartdoctor? Thank you.
1480758718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758718
Reply with quote  #2

1480758718
Report to moderator
1480758718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758718
Reply with quote  #2

1480758718
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758718
Reply with quote  #2

1480758718
Report to moderator
1480758718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758718
Reply with quote  #2

1480758718
Report to moderator
1480758718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758718
Reply with quote  #2

1480758718
Report to moderator
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 28, 2011, 06:22:16 PM
 #2

Actually 5870 should work fine @ 940 MHz with stock voltage.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
March 28, 2011, 07:17:45 PM
 #3

I'm looking more to enter the 1000 range.

edit: in my post I meant I can do 940 perfectly stable at my stock voltage, but I'd really like to go higher for faster clock speeds like I can in windows.
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
March 29, 2011, 06:46:25 PM
 #4

still looking for something. the only research I've found so far is a bunch of people doing it on older versions of the 5870 and their 5850's using RBE, but it doesn't seem to work for me.
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:21:06 PM
 #5

read newegg reviews, one said - it's bios locked

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:24:23 PM
 #6

do you know of a 5870 that isn't bios locked?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!