Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 10:16:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: overvolting an asus 5870 in linux  (Read 2289 times)
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 28, 2011, 06:08:17 PM
 #1

I can currently volt up to 1.2125 which puts me stable at about 940 core clock. I'd really like to be able to overvolt to 1.35v like I can in windows using MSI Afterburner or Asus SmartDoctor.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121374 is my card for reference. I can definitely reach 1000 core clock easily by upping the voltage in windows, but I can't get past what seems to be a hardcoded bios limit of 1.2125 in linux.

I've tried using the Radeon Bios Editor, but when I get to the clocks page I get the following:

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/8150/screenshotuhq.png

the gpu / voltage registers are grayed out and when I try to manually set my voltage to 1.35v for Clock Info 03, aticonfig won't recognize the card in linux anymore even when I reinstall the drivers. RBE forums say this is because you have to change the voltage in the registers, but they are blanked out for me.

Does anyone have a working bios for my card that allows the voltage up to 1.35v OR a tool in linux that will let me volt as high as Asus Smartdoctor? Thank you.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513030567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030567
Reply with quote  #2

1513030567
Report to moderator
1513030567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030567
Reply with quote  #2

1513030567
Report to moderator
1513030567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030567
Reply with quote  #2

1513030567
Report to moderator
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 28, 2011, 06:22:16 PM
 #2

Actually 5870 should work fine @ 940 MHz with stock voltage.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 28, 2011, 07:17:45 PM
 #3

I'm looking more to enter the 1000 range.

edit: in my post I meant I can do 940 perfectly stable at my stock voltage, but I'd really like to go higher for faster clock speeds like I can in windows.
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 29, 2011, 06:46:25 PM
 #4

still looking for something. the only research I've found so far is a bunch of people doing it on older versions of the 5870 and their 5850's using RBE, but it doesn't seem to work for me.
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:21:06 PM
 #5

read newegg reviews, one said - it's bios locked

Bleutrade
2400 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:24:23 PM
 #6

do you know of a 5870 that isn't bios locked?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!