Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:37:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] 5830 vreg component values?  (Read 1928 times)
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 04, 2011, 12:49:36 PM
 #1

Hello!

I recently bought a Sapphire HD5830. It overclocked fairly well with stock voltage, but being an idiot, I decided to overvolt it. :/

So I managed to break a few components.. I'm determined to fix it, but I don't know the values of some components. Could someone please do me a favor and measure these two components in the green rectangle? Smiley

1481229453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229453
Reply with quote  #2

1481229453
Report to moderator
1481229453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229453
Reply with quote  #2

1481229453
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229453
Reply with quote  #2

1481229453
Report to moderator
1481229453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229453
Reply with quote  #2

1481229453
Report to moderator
1481229453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229453
Reply with quote  #2

1481229453
Report to moderator
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2011, 06:25:57 AM
 #2

need to know the resistance while the card is off or the voltage while it's on ?
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 05, 2011, 11:28:01 PM
 #3

resistance/other values when the card is off.

i managed to break and lose the two components

EDIT: Whoops, I just noticed this thread is not in the hardware subcategory. Could it be moved please?
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
November 07, 2011, 03:37:43 AM
 #4

say I have this card and a multimeter what do you want me to do ?
avoid3d
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 07, 2011, 06:54:10 AM
 #5

He would like you to seat it to resistance mode ( Ω ) and measure the resistance of the two components in the green block.

Make sure the card is not connected to anything, then put one probe on the one side of the resistor, and the other probe on the other side, and record, and repeat Smiley

avoid3d - Pierre Hugo
1avoid9FDvP15aKNyPGgJPcxfzMFM4Af6
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
November 08, 2011, 02:53:16 AM
 #6

He would like you to seat it to resistance mode ( Ω ) and measure the resistance of the two components in the green block.

Make sure the card is not connected to anything, then put one probe on the one side of the resistor, and the other probe on the other side, and record, and repeat Smiley

You won't be measuring the resistance of the component, but of the whole circuit between these two points. Good luck.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
avoid3d
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 07:51:09 PM
 #7

so smarty pants have you looked at the cuircut then Tongue

I havn't but maybe it is between two components of negligible conductivity

avoid3d - Pierre Hugo
1avoid9FDvP15aKNyPGgJPcxfzMFM4Af6
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 10, 2011, 06:05:11 PM
 #8

Whatever value measured will be fine. I can calculate the real value of those components if I only get the reading with components on place.

So if it's not too much of a trouble, I'd be very happy if you measured the values for me Smiley

avoid3d told the correct method. The upped component may not be a resistor though..
avoid3d
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 11, 2011, 10:19:30 PM
 #9

Haha people are douchenozzles Smiley you still need the reading, I have a friend with this card and I can organise tomorrow. consider it an attempt to become more involved in this community.

avoid3d - Pierre Hugo
1avoid9FDvP15aKNyPGgJPcxfzMFM4Af6
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 12:27:21 PM
 #10

Bump.

I'm still hoping to fix it Smiley
dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 10:38:16 AM
 #11

Whatever value measured will be fine. I can calculate the real value of those components if I only get the reading with components on place.

So if it's not too much of a trouble, I'd be very happy if you measured the values for me Smiley

avoid3d told the correct method. The upped component may not be a resistor though..

Not to be a dick but...

No, no you can't.  

A)  You don't even know what type of device you're measuring.  Is it a diode? Is it a resistor? Is it a transistor?

B)  You need to remove the device from the board to properly test it.

C)  You can't calculate shit if you don't know what the rest of the circuit looks like. or have equivalent values for the surrounding circuit.

D)  You need a fairly decent quality multi-meter to accurately read anything other than a resistor.

Your best bet is to see if there are silk screen markings indicating what they are, or see if you can read any numbers off of the other devices next to the ones you're missing with a magnifying glass.
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
February 09, 2012, 12:04:41 PM
 #12

Whatever value measured will be fine. I can calculate the real value of those components if I only get the reading with components on place.

So if it's not too much of a trouble, I'd be very happy if you measured the values for me Smiley

avoid3d told the correct method. The upped component may not be a resistor though..

Not to be a dick but...

No, no you can't.  

A)  You don't even know what type of device you're measuring.  Is it a diode? Is it a resistor? Is it a transistor?

B)  You need to remove the device from the board to properly test it.

C)  You can't calculate shit if you don't know what the rest of the circuit looks like. or have equivalent values for the surrounding circuit.

D)  You need a fairly decent quality multi-meter to accurately read anything other than a resistor.

Your best bet is to see if there are silk screen markings indicating what they are, or see if you can read any numbers off of the other devices next to the ones you're missing with a magnifying glass.

Your points are valid, yes. I don't know what component the white one is. Indeed, removing the components would be the best and only way to get accurate readings.. But maybe it is too much to ask for someone to break their graphics cards just to help me repair mine? The black one is a resistor and any value measured would be helpful for figuring out the real resistance of it. I can find out enough of the circuit to "calculate shit". Thank you for your advice but there doesn't appear to be any markings on the components.

Whatever way, I'd still be glad if someone attempted to take the readings. Perfection is not what I demand for my 5830 is a 100$ paperweight at the moment. Any value measured would give hint to the right direction. Thank you.
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 08:52:29 PM
 #13

Gosh I'm stupid. It was a zero resistor! Grin Miracles do happen. My HD5830 runs again!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!