Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2024, 04:55:27 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 274455 times)
2586
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 13


View Profile
July 13, 2014, 06:30:04 PM
 #1661

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

Should work in theory. You just have to come up with a mapping from dice results to electrum's word list. Once you've got a set of 12 words, try putting it into the restore wallet dialog and see if it works.
1711688127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711688127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711688127
Reply with quote  #2

1711688127
Report to moderator
1711688127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711688127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711688127
Reply with quote  #2

1711688127
Report to moderator
1711688127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711688127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711688127
Reply with quote  #2

1711688127
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1711688127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711688127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711688127
Reply with quote  #2

1711688127
Report to moderator
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3584
Merit: 1560



View Profile
July 14, 2014, 08:21:34 AM
 #1662

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

An electrum seed consists of 32 hexadecimal digits. So just follow this guide to generate them:

http://world.std.com/~reinhold/dicewarefaq.html#hexadecimal

Then use the restore wallet function and paste in the hex. After the wallet has been created you can click on the seed icon on the bottom right to see the mnemonic.
dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252


View Profile
July 14, 2014, 11:18:52 AM
 #1663

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

All you need is a 6 sided die. Then do the below.

Be careful though. Electrum console records every command input to it. So to prevent it writing the command to your hard disk (effectively writing your seed to the hard disk unencrypted)

Find /gui/qt/console.py file in your electrum install folder. Then go to line # 147

Code:
def addToHistory(self, command):
    if command.find("importprivkey") > -1 or True:   # <<<< add " or True" to this line (This is line 147)
        return
    
    if command and (not self.history or self.history[-1] != command):
        self.history.append(command)
    self.history_index = len(self.history)

That will disable Electrum writing to Hard Disk all the commands.

Then here is how you generate your own seed.

Code:
Roll dice 53 times, write down each result (writing "0" for every 6 rolled) as a 53 digit long number
with only the digits 0-5. Then input the following lines of code in the electrum console:

>> from electrum import mnemonic
>> ' '.join(mnemonic.mn_encode(("%032X" % (int('01234501234501234501234501234501234501234501234501234',6)%(2**128)))))

(replace the 012345012345 etc with your actual dice rolls)
(note you need to input "from electrum import mnemonic" first then hit enter. After that do the second line I wrote)

Edit: I borrowed the text of the second part from a reddit post based off of something I said in IRC.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2akdl5/howto_use_your_own_dice_rolls_to_generate_an/

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
inaltoasinistra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 104


View Profile
September 05, 2014, 12:41:38 PM
 #1664

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2014, 11:28:44 AM
 #1665

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Is it better to dump private keys and then import it than importing directly from wallet.dat? I don't think it is needed.

  ~~MZ~~

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2014, 11:45:07 AM
 #1666

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 05:05:20 PM
 #1667

Hello,

do you think that the feature of import private keys from wallet.dat would be appreciated by users? Export keys from Bitcoin Core  is not noob-proof

Bitcoin Core wallet.dat has hundreds of hidden addresses in a "pool" of addresses.

Importing the entire wallet would take a long time, and could swamp your Electrum wallet with keys that are not able to be backed up by your seed phrase.

This is why it is better for the user to send their bitcoins to a newly created Electrum wallet.

A "noob" type person would probably think that "oh, ok, now I have imported my wallet.dat, I can just remember this 12 word phrase and delete my wallet, right? *deletes*"

No one wants something like that to happen, so just send.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
RustyNomad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 24, 2014, 03:43:22 PM
 #1668

Feature request....

I know the new version is on its way so it might be too late to incorporate this but maybe for a future update - Please make it possible to sort the contacts section by clicking on the column headers. Currently all contacts are stored as they are entered and when dealing with a large number of contacts it can become a real pain to find the right one if they are not alphabetical and or sorted by their keys.
slacker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2014, 06:58:53 PM
Last edit: September 26, 2014, 09:44:53 PM by slacker
 #1669

Can we Diceware the Electrum word list? I mean I prefer to use real dices to the computer's random number generator to give me my words.

This script is using random numbers from dice, hashed random strings and computer generated random numbers. All random numbers are mixed using bitwise XOR.

* * *

Here is "Diceware" for Electrum 1.x. The disadvantage is you should "throw away" most of the random numbers (because there are 1625 words but all possible random numbers made with 5 dice rolls are 7776).

If you have 5 dice, you should roll them about 5 times for every random word you need (you roll them until you get valid senary number - the probability of getting the valid senary number is 20%). This is the price you pay for not using computer.

This works only with Electrum 1.x because 2.x is using checksums.
wosch76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 942
Merit: 1026



View Profile
October 22, 2014, 11:49:09 AM
 #1670

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
tempestb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 729
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 22, 2014, 03:09:42 PM
 #1671

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

1D7JwRnoungL1YQy7sJMsqmA8BHkPcKGDJ
We mine as we dream...  Alone
pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3402
Merit: 10434



View Profile
October 23, 2014, 07:49:06 AM
 #1672

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

you currently CAN do this:
1. while Electrum is open right click on its icon in the toolbar (i mean round blue electrum icon near your clock)
2. click show/hide to minimize it to toolbar and remove from taskbar

..JAMBLER.io..Create Your Bitcoin Mixing
Business Now for   F R E E 
▄█████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
████▀████████████████████
███▀█████▄█▀███▀▀▀██████
██▀█████▄█▄██████████████
██▄▄████▀▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄██████
█████▄▄▄██████████▀▄████
█████▀▄█▄██████▀█▄█████
███████▀▄█▀█▄██▀█▄███████
█████████▄█▀▄█▀▄█████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
      OUR      
PARTNERS

.
█████████████████████████████████████████████████
████▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
████▀
▄█████████████████████████████
████████▀▀█████▀▀████████
█████▀█████████████▀█████
████████████████████████
███████████████▄█████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████▀█████████
████████████████████████
█████▄█████████████▄█████
████████▄▄█████▄▄████████
▀█████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
   INVEST   
BITCOIN

.
█████████████████████████████████████████████████
████▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
████▀
tempestb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 729
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 23, 2014, 01:55:35 PM
 #1673

Small feature request for the Windows client.  It would be nice if I could reduce the window, and have it appear in the tools area and not the taskbar.  QT has that option.  I like keeping it hidden on the work PC in the corner, rather than in plain view on the taskbar.

Thanks!

you currently CAN do this:
1. while Electrum is open right click on its icon in the toolbar (i mean round blue electrum icon near your clock)
2. click show/hide to minimize it to toolbar and remove from taskbar

Ah, very cool.  Thanks for the info!

1D7JwRnoungL1YQy7sJMsqmA8BHkPcKGDJ
We mine as we dream...  Alone
wosch76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 942
Merit: 1026



View Profile
November 28, 2014, 01:40:29 PM
 #1674

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2014, 02:08:31 PM
 #1675

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

Already done. Just install python and then download zip from github. Run electrum

   ~~MZ~~

wosch76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 942
Merit: 1026



View Profile
December 01, 2014, 04:25:26 PM
 #1676

When is next update? Will there be guide on using BTCChip with Electrum?

  ~~MZ~~

I'm also interested in this.

any ETA for next version  Huh

Already done. Just install python and then download zip from github. Run electrum

   ~~MZ~~
Ok. maybe I'll try.
but what I meant is:
when will there be the stable release with windows-installer for noobs like me  Wink

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
ONLYfree
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 03, 2014, 12:10:40 PM
 #1677

Peoples, do you have any problem with electrum wallet? For my is very slow working also nearly every transaction I sending I get like frozen not responding and after maybe 5 sec back to normal. And its every time. Also time to time balance is not showing.

-2: -1 / +0
Warning: Trade with extreme caution!
EricKennedy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360
Merit: 250

CEO, Ledger


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 10:22:39 PM
 #1678

I have seen that Electrum dropped the BIP39 compatibility (seed mnemonic).
Any reason why?

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/commit/f8fbce12431cde3fb40ce01908ce9b8d96a6c913

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 506


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2014, 03:05:07 PM
 #1679

How can I decrypt message?




   ~~MZ~~

dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 03:50:52 PM
 #1680

I have seen that Electrum dropped the BIP39 compatibility (seed mnemonic).
Any reason why?

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/commit/f8fbce12431cde3fb40ce01908ce9b8d96a6c913


They were never BIP39 compliant to begin with. The first commit with BIP39(ish) implemented generated 13 words instead of 12, and when accepting phrases, it would treat 12 word phrases as legacy Electrum phrases and 13 word phrases as BIP39... so it basically could not work with existing BIP39 phrases.

The commit you mention is just because he decided to do away with any semblance of BIP39 generation and changed the way it works completely. Only thing common is the wordlists now.

Reason why? idk

Doesn't bother me much.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!