Bitcoin Forum
January 26, 2020, 06:41:31 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: please help a NOOB ... how to use Cmake to set Build file ? Mac OS / ETHMINER  (Read 58 times)
destrocci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2019, 05:58:47 AM
 #1

Sorry guys, I am new to mining and I don't know much of programming
I have a Mac and successfully manage to mine Equihash with an external eGpu (gtx1070)

but having a 1070 it would be great to start mining some eth!

So, I download ETHMINER from Github, extract the package ,create a Build directory and next I should CREAT A BUILD FILE
AND HOW DO I DO THAT?
I installed CMAKE on my Mac but I know nothing of programming...
If inside the folder I type "make .."
CMake Error: The source directory "/Users/destrocci/bin" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt

on
https://github.com/ethereum-mining/ethminer/blob/master/docs/BUILD.md#macos
there is no info

Anyone can help me please?
Thank you guys

1580064091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580064091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580064091
Reply with quote  #2

1580064091
Report to moderator
1580064091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580064091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580064091
Reply with quote  #2

1580064091
Report to moderator
1580064091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580064091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580064091
Reply with quote  #2

1580064091
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1580064091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580064091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580064091
Reply with quote  #2

1580064091
Report to moderator
dagarair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 350



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2019, 01:09:28 PM
 #2

here let me help you.  Don't mine on a mac.  You gonna mess that card up then you have a crappy mac.

buy a crappy mb and ps and 1 card if you are really hard up to mine.

4MW Data Center - I BUILT Tongue  - Full story below:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4789787.msg43227027#msg43227027
bitkube
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2019, 01:24:28 PM
 #3

Download source code from git repository
Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/ethereum-mining/ethminer.git

Go to the source code directory
Code:
$ cd ethminer

Create a build directory
Code:
$ mkdir build; cd build

Configure the project with CMake
Code:
$ cmake ..

If you have NVidia GPU(s), you need to add more options
Code:
$ cmake .. -DETHASHCUDA=ON

Build the project using CMake Build Tool Mode
Code:
$ cmake --build .

you are welcome!
dagarair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 350



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2019, 01:49:32 PM
 #4

have fun making .07 eth a month destroying your 3K mac.

4MW Data Center - I BUILT Tongue  - Full story below:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4789787.msg43227027#msg43227027
destrocci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2019, 01:58:57 PM
 #5

Thanks a lot, will try asap !!

(what is that the others don't understand? It's an external eGpu I won't damage my Mac...! )

Download source code from git repository
Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/ethereum-mining/ethminer.git

Go to the source code directory
Code:
$ cd ethminer

Create a build directory
Code:
$ mkdir build; cd build

Configure the project with CMake
Code:
$ cmake ..

If you have NVidia GPU(s), you need to add more options
Code:
$ cmake .. -DETHASHCUDA=ON

Build the project using CMake Build Tool Mode
Code:
$ cmake --build .

you are welcome!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!