Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2019, 08:34:55 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak - Read/modify mem timings on the fly - [Vega Friendly] [Win/Linux]  (Read 21839 times)
pbfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 284
Merit: 20


View Profile
April 02, 2019, 10:32:40 PM
Last edit: April 03, 2019, 06:00:20 AM by pbfarmer
 #121

dear sir, can u share your ppt settings at win with cnr algo? I have some questions ①is it necessary to flash 56 to 64 bios? hynix memory can flash to 64?②what driver are u use?  

my vega can not get below 863mv under my setting, stock bios, see the picture i upload, what should i do to lower it's power consume, thanks

I'm using linux, so my ppts are different from windows.  

No, it's not necessary to flash your 56, and I wouldn't recommend it for cn/r.  Some algos make better use of high bandwidth (high clocks), but cn/r is not really one of them - CN in general likes low latency, so the stock 56 bios is fine (and will save you some power.)

I'm guessing you're using 19.3.x drivers?  If so, I'm betting your problem is that you have the stock 900mv set in your mem p2 state, which if that's the case, means regardless of your other settings, you will always run @ minimum 900mv (minus droop) unless you disable the state (for example, in overdriventool), or use a PPT which lowers the setting.
1558816495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558816495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558816495
Reply with quote  #2

1558816495
Report to moderator
1558816495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558816495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558816495
Reply with quote  #2

1558816495
Report to moderator
GET 25 FREE SPINS AT REGISTRATION
GET 100% BONUS ON FIRST DEPOSIT
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558816495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558816495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558816495
Reply with quote  #2

1558816495
Report to moderator
percy_tc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 102


View Profile
April 03, 2019, 03:10:50 PM
 #122

Has anyone tried it on Radeon VII?

DeepOnion    ▬▬  Anonymous and Untraceable  ▬▬    ENJOY YOUR PRIVACY  •  JOIN DEEPONION
▐▐▐▐▐▐▐▐   ANN  Whitepaper  Facebook  Twitter  Telegram  Discord    ▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌
Get $ONION  (✔Cryptopia  ✔KuCoin)  |  VoteCentral  Register NOW!  |  Download DeepOnion
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 102


View Profile
April 03, 2019, 04:56:18 PM
 #123

@eliovp, thank you for this tool.
Do you or anybody else know if there is a tool available in Linux to count GPU memory errors?  Much like HWiNFO64 in Windows?

Mining Hobbyist
kamisama233
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 04, 2019, 11:02:50 AM
 #124

dear sir, can u share your ppt settings at win with cnr algo? I have some questions ①is it necessary to flash 56 to 64 bios? hynix memory can flash to 64?②what driver are u use?  

my vega can not get below 863mv under my setting, stock bios, see the picture i upload, what should i do to lower it's power consume, thanks

I'm using linux, so my ppts are different from windows.  

No, it's not necessary to flash your 56, and I wouldn't recommend it for cn/r.  Some algos make better use of high bandwidth (high clocks), but cn/r is not really one of them - CN in general likes low latency, so the stock 56 bios is fine (and will save you some power.)

I'm guessing you're using 19.3.x drivers?  If so, I'm betting your problem is that you have the stock 900mv set in your mem p2 state, which if that's the case, means regardless of your other settings, you will always run @ minimum 900mv (minus droop) unless you disable the state (for example, in overdriventool), or use a PPT which lowers the setting.

Thanks, it works
NefariousFool
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
April 05, 2019, 07:30:45 PM
 #125

>>Posted by: dragonmike

>> Has nobody ported this to Windows yet?

>> I'd be happy to do all testing myself and share my findings in this and other threads... But I'm not going to install Ubuntu and all that shizzle for that sole purpose. I suck at Linux unfortunately...
________

I've been trying to but my plate is pretty over topped at the moment but it is something I have been working on. Sadly not having luck finding somebody to help so its all on when i can get time.
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1295

Miners developer


View Profile
April 05, 2019, 09:56:55 PM
 #126

Changing memory timings on the fly is a very good idea!
It's possible to access GPU MMIO registers in Windows too.
It's a bit tricky to implement it properly even if you have good skills and that's the main problem.
Registers offsets can be found in ROCm sources and typedefs in OhGodADecode utility or in ROCm again (though it contains only bitmasks so it would take some time to convert them).
Anyway, this tool gave me an idea of new feature, thanks, also it was funny to play with registers and see some BSODs Smiley
I donated 0.25BTC to the address in first post.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
April 05, 2019, 11:49:33 PM
Merited by QuirkSilver (1)
 #127

@eliovp, thank you for this tool.
Do you or anybody else know if there is a tool available in Linux to count GPU memory errors?  Much like HWiNFO64 in Windows?

Hey Bobben2,

Yeah, it's not as obvious as on windows, that's a fact, try to check dmesg log, this gives you a lot of info as well.


>>Posted by: dragonmike

>> Has nobody ported this to Windows yet?

>> I'd be happy to do all testing myself and share my findings in this and other threads... But I'm not going to install Ubuntu and all that shizzle for that sole purpose. I suck at Linux unfortunately...
________

I've been trying to but my plate is pretty over topped at the moment but it is something I have been working on. Sadly not having luck finding somebody to help so its all on when i can get time.

No worries, i hoped it would be a nice incentive for people to get the *nix vibes Smiley

Who knows, maybe a windows version will pop up one of these days  Cheesy Wink

Changing memory timings on the fly is a very good idea!
It's possible to access GPU MMIO registers in Windows too.
It's a bit tricky to implement it properly even if you have good skills and that's the main problem.
Registers offsets can be found in ROCm sources and typedefs in OhGodADecode utility or in ROCm again (though it contains only bitmasks so it would take some time to convert them).
Anyway, this tool gave me an idea of new feature, thanks, also it was funny to play with registers and see some BSODs Smiley
I donated 0.25BTC to the address in first post.

Quote
It's possible to access GPU MMIO registers in Windows too.
It's a bit tricky to implement it properly even if you have good skills and that's the main problem.
Yeah, i'm very much aware that it's possible, it's the tricky part that's tricky :p

Thank you for your donation. It's very much appreciated!

I also noticed i've been getting some hash from someone.
I would like to thank that person as well!

Also, would again like to point out that i kind of hoped that i would see some more test results (with screenshots) here.
It doesn't hurt to help eachother out...

Cheers!

QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 13


View Profile
April 06, 2019, 01:37:06 AM
 #128

Hi Eliovp, i was following you since late 2017, finally something new in this lovely mining atmosphere. Thanks a lot for all the info you shared around , many others were doing nothing or even destructive like the minah gurl gpu accelerators scam (scammed on a CLE101).
Now i mine CN heavy variants, can do moderate timings edits of my own for ~1200 h/s polaris 8gig (only rx 500 mining), now i'm not that good with linux or to be honest never ran distros for mining, still using retarded windows 10. So i can't get what the tool is like? i understand it recognizes memory vendor /model and applies slight or aggressive compute timings? which algo are they biased towards? is there going to be any windows version? afair last on the fly timing tool was zawawas and he stopped altogether early. how is this different.
again thanks for the knowledge sharing!
Just to add, i can install hive but, haaving the patched rig sustained running is very hard....most 580s/8gb are 1250/2150  clocks with core voltage of 950-962  one rx 470 8gb (the only samsung i have) is wierd and sometimes will ignore undervolting and resets entirley or keeps forcibly running max fan/throttling even though its 64 c!!! thats on windows 18.6.1 so linux controls would be an epic story to handle, do they kernel panic /reset undervoltage too ?
QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 13


View Profile
April 06, 2019, 01:49:55 AM
 #129

Changing memory timings on the fly is a very good idea!
It's possible to access GPU MMIO registers in Windows too.
It's a bit tricky to implement it properly even if you have good skills and that's the main problem.
Registers offsets can be found in ROCm sources and typedefs in OhGodADecode utility or in ROCm again (though it contains only bitmasks so it would take some time to convert them).
Anyway, this tool gave me an idea of new feature, thanks, also it was funny to play with registers and see some BSODs Smiley
I donated 0.25BTC to the address in first post.

probably gonna install an on the fly in his newest quadra milking (closed source) miner.... at least someone is rich after these massacres.
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 328
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 06, 2019, 07:47:03 AM
 #130

Yeah, i figured Claymore would sonner or later go private.
A man with knowledge like that can be a very valuable asset, same as some other individuals in this post  Grin
I can imagine how much time and effort someone has to put in to get to the belly of the beast like Claymore has.

The community has gained a lot from him, and hes sure not to blame for his decisions, especially in a dirty bussines like this ( code stealing etc. ).
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 328
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 06, 2019, 07:49:22 AM
 #131

probably gonna install an on the fly in his newest quadra milking (closed source) miner.... at least someone is rich after these massacres.

You are forgeting the thousands of people that got rich beside him on account of his miners.
I'd bet you'd do the same if you had the knowledge  Grin
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 102


View Profile
April 06, 2019, 12:55:45 PM
 #132

@eliovp, thank you for this tool.
Do you or anybody else know if there is a tool available in Linux to count GPU memory errors?  Much like HWiNFO64 in Windows?

Hey Bobben2,

Yeah, it's not as obvious as on windows, that's a fact, try to check dmesg log, this gives you a lot of info as well.


Because if available, it in theory would be possible to build an auto-tune type of tool to find the tightest timings that produce no memory error,
for some mining algos (CN/R and ETHash for example or for Raven's X16R that might benefit from changing timings on the fly depending on which of the 16 algos currently running).  Maybe such a tool could be available to miner developers as a 3rd party library that could be linked into their application...


Mining Hobbyist
Beave162
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 782
Merit: 501



View Profile
April 07, 2019, 10:22:21 PM
 #133

Also, would again like to point out that i kind of hoped that i would see some more test results (with screenshots) here.
It doesn't hurt to help eachother out...

I'm extremely surprised by this as well. I'll certainly provide results on 560s at least when I have the time and assuming I can see some improvements.

YaCoin: YL5kf54wPPXKsXd5T18xCaNkyUsS1DgY7z 
BitCoin: 14PFbLyUdTyxZg3V8hnvj5VXkx3dhthmDj
Docice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 08, 2019, 07:44:25 PM
 #134

Tell me pls, who managed to achieve some better results for rx570-580 using this tweak? Are there concrete examples of what needs to be changed and where, I personally did not understand, read all the help, but in order to specifically change something I did not dare Undecided.
Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 08, 2019, 10:22:33 PM
 #135

Tell me pls, who managed to achieve some better results for rx570-580 using this tweak? Are there concrete examples of what needs to be changed and where, I personally did not understand, read all the help, but in order to specifically change something I did not dare Undecided.

It's already been said that you won't see any benefits with this tool for cards that have public optimized timings like all the RX 4xx/5xx (micron/elpida/hynix/samsung).
Of course if you want to further optimize timings this tool comes handy, but you need background knowledge.
Anthony42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 09, 2019, 02:49:06 AM
 #136

Tell me pls, who managed to achieve some better results for rx570-580 using this tweak? Are there concrete examples of what needs to be changed and where, I personally did not understand, read all the help, but in order to specifically change something I did not dare Undecided.

It's already been said that you won't see any benefits with this tool for cards that have public optimized timings like all the RX 4xx/5xx (micron/elpida/hynix/samsung).
Of course if you want to further optimize timings this tool comes handy, but you need background knowledge.

on cnr managed to achieve 2.5 kh/s ? Smiley
yobigd20
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 161
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 09, 2019, 12:57:37 PM
 #137

I am trying to use this tool on RX480s and it is not working.  (yes I know I can technically just keep the modded bios on there, etc, I am simply just "testing" the tool to see if it works on rx480s with stock bios). 

On windows with the Ubermix 3.1 strap I can get 30MH on these cards.   On linux (hiveos) using stock bios I get 25MH.   On linux using stock bios but first using this tool to set custom timings, I still get 25MH.  It's as if the tool doesnt work at all.

First, I flashed the original bios' back onto the gpus.  Then moved 5x AMD RX480 Reference cards over to the linux box from a windows machine.   These amd cards all have the same memory on them, K4G80325FB 8GB samsung. 

I pulled this tool built it, and then executed the following command './amdmemtweak --current' to examine the timings of the original bios.  Then I decoded the original 2000 timing memory strap and the UberMix 3.1 memory strap and got all the values from comparing the decoded the original bios strap and compared to the timings in the Ubermix 3.1 strap.  Then used amdmemtweak to set the same timings used in the ubermix 3.1 strap and confirmed that they are set correctly using './amdmemtweak --current'.    Then I restarted the miner but I still get the same 25MH as I would with the stock bios strap timings.   What gives???  Tool seems broken...

fyi the command that I am using is:
./amdmemtweak  -i 0,1,2,3,4,5 --RC 65 --RRD 5 --RCDRA 24 --RCDR 24 --RCDWA 13 --RCDW 13 --CL 21 --W2R 14 --CCDS 5 --CCLD 4 --R2W 28 --RFC 136 --TRP 27 --RP_RDA 24 --RP_WRA 46 --T32AW 0 --FAW 0 --RASMACTRD 47 --RASMACTWR 63 --ACTWR 18 --ACTRD 16 --BUS_TURN 25 --WRPLUSRP 64 --RP 53 --RAS2RAS 186


also fyi at least one of the argument's is "wrong" in the --help.  I believe it was 'RASMACTWR'.  In the --help it has 'RASMACWTR' but that doesn't do anything, it has to be 'RASMACTWR'.  (the W and T are backwards).  I think its just a typo in your --help output code.  One of the other parameters was like this too, though I dont remember which one that was. 

this is what the tool shows after setting the values and starting the miner:

GPU 4:  Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X] pci:0000:05:00.0
CAS
  CL: 21          W2R: 14         CCDS: 5         CCLD: 4         R2W: 28         NOPR: 0         NOPW: 0
RAS
  RC: 65          RRD: 5          RCDRA: 24       RCDR: 24        RCDWA: 13       RCDW: 13
MISC
  RFC: 136        TRP: 27         RP_RDA: 24      RP_WRA: 46
MISC2
  WDATATR: 0      T32AW: 0        CRCWL: 25       CRCRL: 3        FAW: 0          PA2WDATA: 0     PA2RDATA: 0
DRAM1
  RASMACTWR: 63   RASMACTRD: 47   ACTWR: 18       ACTRD: 16
DRAM2
  RAS2RAS: 186    RP: 53          WRPLUSRP: 64    BUS_TURN: 25

while these completely match the same timings as the UberMix 3.1 strap, the mining hashrate does not increase above the same 25MH value as stock...


Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 09, 2019, 07:00:12 PM
 #138

Quote from: Anthony42
on cnr managed to achieve 2.5 kh/s ? Smiley
on polaris? Doubt it...


@yobigd20
Don't you forget what's said in the readme.
Set the timings during load for cards that has different timings in different memory powerstates.
I assume you set the timings in idle state.
Anthony42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2019, 03:35:27 AM
 #139

Quote from: Anthony42
on cnr managed to achieve 2.5 kh/s ? Smiley
on polaris? Doubt it...


@yobigd20
Don't you forget what's said in the readme.
Set the timings during load for cards that has different timings in different memory powerstates.
I assume you set the timings in idle state.
I'm talking about vega 56/64.
nordmann666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 262
Merit: 12


View Profile
April 10, 2019, 07:14:41 AM
 #140

first steps with hiveos...any hints where i can find the tool or how to set it in hiveos?!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!